We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confortable stay and excellent sevice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wanyou Conifer Hotel
Ranked #115 of 3,212 Hotels in Chongqing
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Wanyou Conifer Hotel is situated on a very busy road but dont let that worry you -- the rooms are soundproof but if you are looking for a room with a view you will not get it here. Food and service were excellent and the rooms clean with the beds being very comfortable. There is a supermarket literally by the side which sell all types of clothing -- care these items can be expensive but are good quality. One word of warning, if spending over £100 you will need your passport. Food is in the basement of the supremarket.

Showers were nice and hot water is virtually immediate.

Would be more than happy to stay again

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coopebbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2010

Wanyou Conifer Hotel was very good. Reception and room services were excellent. Food was excellent and conference rooms were very good. Swimming pool and spa were also excellent. Rooms were excellent. Overall hotel was very good for stay as well as for organizing conferences. We enjoyed our conference as well as our stay at this hotel at Chongqing and we will like to stay again here in future.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shankargarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Great hotel with an incredible staff. Great service and location. Beautiful pool. We felt at home.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonlight62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Agree with Chinese reviewers. Ok for China. I found room adequately clean, but nothing special. Fairly close to subway. Free internet, free breakfast on 3rd floor with usual variety of both Chinese and Western foods, average quality (warning, they don't automatically tell you about the breakfast, and there are not breakfast coupons, just show up). Somewhat older and darker than other hotels. old fashion bedside control panel for lights, which is a little annoying. beds are typical china, very hard, no mattress really, so if this matters to you don't come (I found it fine). Towels are very thick. Old fashion tv, but adequate, gets many english stations (HBO, CNN, etc.) DOES have english speaking staff although as is frequent, quality varies. Shower is ok, good heat, but older showerhead so hard to control. Doors are very thin, so any noise in hallway is in your room, but it was quiet when I was there.
There is a spartan gym and a reasonable pool, but hours are typical china, not ideal (opens after 12n).

Overall, somewhat better than best western in US. For china is definitely ok.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dafdafd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2006

I visit this hotel regularly, almost every week during most of 2005 to eat in one of two restuarants. Staff do speak English, especially the buffet manager on the 3rd floor. While I can't vouch for the rooms the hotel is in no way rundown either inside or out with very clean bathroom facilities avaiable.

This hotel regularly hosts foreigners who are in Chongqing to adopt babies before returning to many different countries of origin and English is the common language spoken. While they have a translater with them they are not there all the time. I have personally heard the concierge staff speaking English and some of them even speak to me while I wait for friends in the Lobby.

Don't write it off if this is where you are offered to stay. While not 'downtown' it is conveniently located between most of the major CBD's of Chongqing

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chinasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2006

In 2005, we took a tour to China and this hotel was the one that we stayed in for one night in Chongqing. Based upon our experience at this hotel, it is our recommendation not to stay at this hotel.

We want to make it very clear that we are seasoned travelers. We have taken bus tours, land tours, railroads tours and cruises before. We have traveled to China, Europe, Canada, Mexico, Bahamas and etc. as well as throughout the United States; therefore, we have stayed at several hotels. In addition, I spend at least 100 nights a year in hotels as I traveled throughout North America on business. Furthermore, we have stayed in several hotels in China on our own on previous trips.

From the outside, the property looks run-down. The inside looks the same…you think that the hotel was from the 30’s.

The staff spoke no English or broken English and communications was an issue. For dinner, we didn’t want to go to the seafood buffet restaurant located on the third floor of the hotel. We asked our tour director if there is another restaurant located in the hotel and he said the fourth floor. We went to the fourth floor and there was no restaurant that you could order from the menu. The hostess tried to sit me with another tour group that was having dinner in a room with tables. We asked a total of four hotel employees and none of them could understand what I was talking about.

We didn’t feel like going out so we ordered room service (two ice cream sundaes…how could they screw this up. After 60 minutes, no sundaes after being told that it will be there in 15 minutes or less after placing our order. We called room service to follow up and no one could speak English.

There are first class hotels in Chongqing such as the Hilton and JW Marriott which we will recommend.

The hotel has A/C but it is tricky. When we went into my room, we noticed an A/C vent but no controls on the wall and etc. We called the front desk and asked about where are the controls for the A/C. We were told in broken English that the A/C was central and off. The temperature in our room was hot…we could have opened up the window but a new apartment complex was being built behind the hotel and we didn’t want to hear the construction sounds (i.e. the banging, the drilling and etc.) for the whole night. In the morning, we discovered that the A/C control was in the bedside control box that controls the TV, radio, lights and etc. Even turning it on, it wasn’t too cool.

The hotel room had very little lighting. The carpet was dirty. There were stains on the furniture. The room had bad cigarette odor. We have a video tape of the room which we wished we could post.

The size of the hotel room was average. The closet was small so you couldn’t put your luggage inside of it.

Again, it is our recommendation not to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ArizonaRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Roberto I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chongqing Jinxiucheng
2.5 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Chongqing
Kempinski Hotel Chongqing
#25 of 3,212 in Chongqing
108 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing
Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing
#37 of 3,212 in Chongqing
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
#7 of 3,212 in Chongqing
327 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Chongqing
Hilton Chongqing
#14 of 3,212 in Chongqing
1,038 reviews
3.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
#2 of 3,212 in Chongqing
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanyou Conifer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanyou Conifer Hotel

Address: No.77 Daping Changjiang Second Road, Yuzhong District, Chongqing 400042, China
Region: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 3,212 Hotels in Chongqing
Price Range: £49 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanyou Conifer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wanyou Conifer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing