We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Chongqing(Chongqing)
US$104
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
59
12
10
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
12
10
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanyan treesvillaresortspringguestschinaamenities
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2017

A friend recommended this place to me, and I wasn't disappointed. I was upgraded to a villa, with my own private hot pool. It was lovely! It would have been much more fun and enjoyable had I had someone with me. The staff bend over backwards to try to help, almost to the point of being obsequious, but after a short while, you can tell that it is made part of the culture of the Banyan Tree.

The meals were, in general, excellent. However, at breakfast, some of the bread and rolls sit out for a while, because they are not eaten by the Chinese guests, in general. So the bread slices in front often go stale. The best bet is the baguette, which you slice yourself. It is a lovely French baguette, crispy on the outside and soft on the inside, as a proper baguette should be. On my last day there, they had grilled duck breast at breakfast. Excellent! The special-order eggs take a while to prepare, because they insist on giving them an extra twist, when in reality, I just wanted two regular poached eggs to put on the toast I had already prepared for the purpose. Sometimes fancy hotel staff forget that less can be more.

I also tried the hotpot one night, and had a meal in the more general style restaurant another night. The third night, I ordered in. All meals were very good to excellent.

All in all, I would go again, but not alone. This is a place for couples.

Room Tip: This is a place for couples, especially the villas.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dcn_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 January 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your nice experience with Banyan Tree Chongqing Beibei. It is our great honor to hear that you are overall very satisfied during the stay. Your kind words will be certainly shared with our colleagues. Chongqing is famous not only for its beautiful natural scenery but also the colorful cultural history. Next time we would not hesitate to recommend you a day trip in the spectacular Jin Yun Mountain, Jia ling River and Jin Gang Bei Town nearby. You kind advice regarding the egg cooking has already been shared with our management team and we will certainly pay more attention on coaching our staffs about the service skills. Once again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you and your dear family back again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We went for a day-trip to Jinyuan mountain (cable-car and forest walk) near Bei Bei, and followed-up by a visit to the Banyan Tree nearby.

The staff is attentive but the poor quality of the Afternoon Tea was disappointing.

The small selection of teas consisted of just a few regular teabags you would find in a grocery store -- not any high-quality teas from the various well-known tea-regions in China, which are normally what you find at top-level hotels or traditional tea-houses.

The food was even worse:

Amongst the savoury items, the salmon/creamcheese roll was frozen and not yet thawed.

Amongst the sweet items, the macarons were hard and stale, and the other pastries were not fresh.

Overall, the tasteless and mediocre desserts were of a level more-expected from a local 4-star city hotel than an international-class 5-star branded resort.

As the Afternoon Tea experience was so poor, we decided not to try the Spa.

On a separate issue, it is surprising that given the remote location of this proprety, that there is no scheduled shuttle service (complimentary or paid) to central Bei Bei.

As such, it is required to order a taxi and pay double for both directions to bring a taxi for pick-up, and the wait-time is about 30 min.

While waiting in the front-desk lobby for the taxi, the staff brought a tray of hot towels with tea and cookies. Ironically, these complimentary fresh cookies were better than the stale desserts in the Afternoon Tea set.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank polarpacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 January 2017

I’m very sorry to learn from your review over your disappointed afternoon tea experience you had several days ago, I can truly understand how you feel.

The specific matters such as the food quality and the amount of tea selections you have pointed out have been discussed with department heads concerned and an execution plan has been carried out immediately. The food preparation and serving will be supervised closely and be recorded in the next few weeks to make sure those unhappy experiences will not repeat on any other guests again. We are also updating our tea menu.

In the meanwhile, hotel offers private car transportation instead of scheduled shuttle service. With advance notice hotel can assure that the car will be ready at your convenient time.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies. We treat this incident seriously and do hope that this isolated experience would not in any way affect your future patronage of our resort. We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit and we assure you that such incident will not happen again.

Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Hotel is surrounded by greenereis with very relaxing place, combined with hot spring with only 70 minutes away from downtown. What really nice is, or surprisingly, the food was fantastic. I have tried Nasi goreng and green curry and it was just amazing for the place that away from easy resources. The villa was just amazing, however need to think about the privacy of the guest when taking in residence spring.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank 982jacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 December 2016

Thank you so much for sharing your nice experience with Banyan Tree Chongqing Beibei on TripAdvisor. It is our great honor to hear that you are overall very satisfied during the stay. Your kind words will be certainly shared with our colleagues. Chongqing is famous not only for its beautiful natural scenery but also the colorful cultural history. Next time we would not hesitate to recommend you a day trip in the spectacular Jin Yun Mountain, Jia ling River and Jin Gang Bei Town nearby. You kind advice has already been shared with our management team and we will certainly try to rectify this issue in the very near future. Once again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you and your dear family back again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

A wonderful stay in Banyan tree Beibei with my husband. We came to Chongqing for a friend's wedding and they recommended this resort.

Service and food are excellent as all the other Banyan trees, no doubt. The room is spacious and the whole place is very peaceful and calm.

The best part is, they have the hot-spring in the room at the balcony! I enjoyed a whole bottle of nice wine with my husband while it was raining outside,very relaxing and romantic!

The hotel is not in downtown Chongqing but is easily accessible and we found is not far away from the airport. i would definitely recommend my friends to experience this resort when they travel here and will not hesitate to come back again in winter time.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sabrina_HY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016

We had great experience here of a two nights short break with our friends and family. We stayed during the weekdays and hotel is not busy but we got a better deal.
The hotel is magnificent, with stunning view and surrounding natural environment. Service quality is overall excellent and rooms are very nice. We were assigned to villa with our own hot-spring. Breakfast is good with great variety, Chinese Restaurant is spectacular and worth trying. Last but not least, spa is wonderful and very relaxing.

Hotel is located not in Chongqing downtown but is easily accessible. We are flying in and hotel is not too far away from airport. I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone for a short break here.

Room Tip: A walk in the garden is amazing and truly refreshing. Don't forget to book spa treatment upon arrival. You can get better deal
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peacemaker2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2016

Thank you so much for choosing Banyan Tree Chongqing Beibei to stay and for sharing your nice experience on TripAdvisor. It is our great honor to hear that you are satisfied with us. Your kind words will be certainly shared with our colleagues. Chongqing is famous not only for its beautiful natural scenery but also the colorful cultural history. Next time we would not hesitate to recommend you a day trip in the spectacular Jin Yun Mountain, Jia ling River and Jin Gang Bei Town nearby. Once again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you and your dear family back again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews