We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chongqing Travelling With Hostel
Ranked #1 of 682 Chongqing B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Initially tricky to find (its opposite the metro exit, up the steep slope, then turn right and its at the end, past the restaurant), this hostel feels more off the beaten path then it really is.

Inside, its a decent hostel, usual facilities and nice clean rooms. Staff super friendly and helpful and very chilled atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
7
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

1) Not so good -
a) Although the hostel is directly opposite a metro station, pedestrian crossings are just for decoration so cross with the locals, keeping them between you and oncoming traffic.
b) The hostel is up several flights of stairs (although most guests will probably be half my age or less). Maybe there should be bang-bang boys on standby?
c) Coffee and cheesecake at the Traveller cafe is about the same price as at Starbucks - Say no more...
d) hot water was available most of the time - but not all
2) Oh so good -
a) The staff (who organised my 2-week holiday during my first evening)
b) Good location - opposite a metro stop, close to 18 ladders, close to the CBD...
c) The staff (who were so friendly and helpful)
d) Relaxed environment
e) The staff (who were polite and good to chat with)
f) Comfortable rooms
g) Did I mention the staff?...
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakTarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The location is convenient to walk around the city. Reception is good , they can speak English that
it's useful for me. I had only big problem because i booked triple room but they were misunderstand. It did not matter, there handled for me. The room was good but tiny. You can buy one day trip from there. Nice hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monster07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Inviting and a great place to meet people with whom you can enjoy a drink, a movie, a game of pool or a chat. The pastry case is chock full of the most wonderful things in the adjacent cafe, so stay a while and enjoy the sweet break from the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have been hostelling for more than two decades, and it is gems like the Greenforest which keep me coming back to hostels (although I find having my own room is sometimes preferable to the dorm experience). Yes, this hostel looks like nothing from the outside (it is in a fairly shabby looking residential tower) and yes, there are four flights of stairs to climb. Once inside, however, the place is a revelation - cool music on the stereo, an inviting communal space with warm polished wood and tiled floor. The staff is just fabulous, helpful, lovely to deal with and charming. There's a useful cafe (I never ate, but had a few coffees) and bar where the beer is actually chilled. I spent three evenings here, and there was nice relaxed vibe.

I took a double room, which was plainly furnished but had a small flatscreen TV, table and a hugely comfortable bed - it was so hard to get out to catch my train this morning.

There is one downside, and that is that the hostel faces a reasonably busy street - I shut the window and never had a problem, but if traffic noise is a concern, avoid the rooms at the front (#1 - 8). Across that road, by the way, there is a metro line and a shopping mall - behind that you have the whole Jiefangbei Pedestrian Street, if that's your bag.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 - 8. face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The overall experience was fine, BUT the wifi is Terrible - never worked very well. The shower put water all over the bathroom floor, the noise all night from outside was super loud and the road outside the hostel was very dangerous and busy without anywhere to cross. Also the cafe the which has an extensive menu was only serving 3 dishes out of the 60+ and there was no drier to use for the laundry.

Nice sized room and great location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teee555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

I chose this hostel as I had a very good experience in the greenforest hostel in Guilin. I was not disappointed. Great people, great place to be at! Also they offer some tours and the food you can get at this place is also awesome.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Shert77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
0.7 mi away
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
#5 of 3,119 in Chongqing
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
#1 of 3,119 in Chongqing
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing
Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing
#33 of 3,119 in Chongqing
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Westin Chongqing Liberation Square
0.3 mi away
Glenview ITC Plaza Chongqing
Glenview ITC Plaza Chongqing
#15 of 3,119 in Chongqing
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Chongqing
InterContinental Chongqing
#11 of 3,119 in Chongqing
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chongqing Travelling With Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chongqing Travelling With Hostel

Property: Chongqing Travelling With Hostel
Address: 4F Yuya Building, No.7 Zhongxing Road, Jiaochangkou, Yuzhong District, Chongqing 400010, China (Formerly Chongqing Greenforest Hostel)
Region: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 682 B&Bs / Inns in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Chongqing Travelling With Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing