We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the visit unless you really want to see some Pandas”

Chongqing Zoo (Chongqing Dongwuyuan)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.00*
and up
Half-Day Chongqing Tour of Giant Panda and Eling Park
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not worth the visit unless you really want to see some Pandas”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This zoo could be very nice but it's not kept up well, and the animal pens are small and very dirty. The grounds are also not kept up well, and the water ponds and small rivers are very dirty. The only way this place would be worth visiting is if you really need to see pandas (including the red pandas). But the rest of the place is not worth visiting. It's only 20CNY to enter so at least it was not really expensive.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    130
    46
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Zoo”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I had to remember that zoo's in China are different then back home, once dealt with that enjoyed myself, pandas out and about eating, some lions and tigers wandering around.
First impression as you walk in is excellent, bit slipperly when its raining, as they have used a lot of smooth tiles on the ground.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nichole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lion cubs were the best part, otherwise disappointing”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The pandas werent there when we first went in which was why we went there, but there was 2 when we left. The best part was actually the lion cubs there at the moment - 5 of them. So cute!!

There were no hippos or elephants out even though there were enclosures for the animals

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teee555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Shame on the public”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The zoo in general is OK. The only thing that stands out in comparison with other Zoos is indeed the Pandas. Having said that, one thing really annoyed me and my wife, which motivated me to write this review. For god sake, if one cannot educate people to behave properly, the management of the Zoo should AT LEAST put enough staff to monitor the public. During all time we were there, feeding the animals with snacks, shouting at the animals and tapping on the glasses seemed to be standard procedure by the public. In one example, at the monkeys cage, despite the glass separating the monkeys from the public, a man managed to trow a bag of cheetos on the top of the cage, which was fenced... of course the monkeys managed to get the bag and started feeding on the Cheetos. But the highlight was when one monkey made a hole on the bag, put his head on the hole and dressed the bag as a shirt... the public went crazy with laugher and applauses. In the bear cage, a women was very engaged in feeding the bear with cheetos... but not very successfully, since she was trowing snacks faster than the bear could take it.. at one point the bear gave up and walked away, with the fur on his back all covered with cheetos!! I'm sorry to say, but most of the time I felt like I was the one inside the cage.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank Hattivatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
294 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“7 November 2013”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

It was incredible. Initially we were a touch disappointed when we got to the panda exhibit as the first exhibit was of an empty pen with a sign saying that this was Ling Ling's pen and he moved in 2003. The second was a similar story but Yum Cha or Dim Sum or something had moved in 2007. The third pen had a panda up a tree. You could get a photo of the white blur of a panda's butt (which we got) up a tree. We decided to see the rest of the zoo and come back later. The rest of the zoo was sensational with a minor issue of pen sizes for some bears (the only blight on an excellent zoo).

There was a tiger that took exception to a bird in his enclosure and was stalking it like prey and pouncing (unsuccessfully). His other 3 mates were in their own enclosures but were much less animated. The lion had a roaring session (not while we were watching but it could be heard throughout the park) that sent Chinese people racing towards the enclosure. The orang-utans were old but were still way cool. And there was a horny pig getting his rocks off in the petting zoo. All of this was in addition to the regular zoo fare of elephants, zebras, camels, ostriches, monkeys, birds etc.

4 hours later and we gave the pandas another crack. The blur had left the tree and was munching on some bamboo but was mostly obstructed. An old couple came past with a guide that they had hired who said that they would get better pictures from the other six upstairs...other six...upstairs...what the...I became a stalker waiting for them to leave so I could follow them to this mythical place that was...upstairs.

I didn't have to wait too long and around a corner we went...then there were stairs to a gift shop...then another corner...and then the mystical stairs of which he spoke. Upon arriving atop the stairs six (count em six) open pens with platforms covered in fresh cut bamboo, each housing seemingly famished great pandas munching away. All in clear plain sight, no camera impediments, no throngs of tourists just happy pandas having a feed. Claudia Naug would have been in utter bliss as we stood for about 30 mins watching, photographing and videoing them.

A final point on the zoo. It costs 30 yuan in peak season and 20 for us as it was off season. So based upon today's exchange rate we got hours of entertainment for $3.46 each. These costs blow out considerably when you add the 4 yuan each, each way on the train. Jill had a 15 yuan ice cream and I had an 8 yuan mystery meat on a stick. All this adds up to the fact that 2 people had a 25km train journey to a zoo, paid entrance, got fed and got home for $13.66.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chongqing Zoo (Chongqing Dongwuyuan) also viewed

Chongqing, Chongqing Region
 
Chongqing, Chongqing Region
Chongqing, Chongqing Region
 

Been to Chongqing Zoo (Chongqing Dongwuyuan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing