We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money but beware.....”

Chongqing Zoo (Chongqing Dongwuyuan)
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$105.00*
and up
Half-Day Chongqing Tour of Giant Panda and Eling Park
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
552 reviews
231 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Good value for money but beware.....”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

If you want to spend a couple of hours away from the city this is not a bad place to come, subway line 2 and you are there. The entry fee is only 30rmb so it won't break the bank, the place itself is large and incorporates a reasonable funfair too. However most of the exhibits are very dated and some are in a very poor state of repair. The netted bird enclosure could have been so much nicer if the nets didn't have huge holes so visitors could have walked among birds other than peafowl and emus. Most of the aviaries were very old and the rusty old mesh made it awkward to see or photograph anything. The animals however despite poor housing looked to be healthy. I liked the idea of paying an extra 20rmb to feed the hippos. Good but with a little imagination and investment could be so much better.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MattwalesNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    137
    47
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not worth the visit unless you really want to see some Pandas”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This zoo could be very nice but it's not kept up well, and the animal pens are small and very dirty. The grounds are also not kept up well, and the water ponds and small rivers are very dirty. The only way this place would be worth visiting is if you really need to see pandas (including the red pandas). But the rest of the place is not worth visiting. It's only 20CNY to enter so at least it was not really expensive.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Zoo”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I had to remember that zoo's in China are different then back home, once dealt with that enjoyed myself, pandas out and about eating, some lions and tigers wandering around.
First impression as you walk in is excellent, bit slipperly when its raining, as they have used a lot of smooth tiles on the ground.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nichole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lion cubs were the best part, otherwise disappointing”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The pandas werent there when we first went in which was why we went there, but there was 2 when we left. The best part was actually the lion cubs there at the moment - 5 of them. So cute!!

There were no hippos or elephants out even though there were enclosures for the animals

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teee555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Shame on the public”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The zoo in general is OK. The only thing that stands out in comparison with other Zoos is indeed the Pandas. Having said that, one thing really annoyed me and my wife, which motivated me to write this review. For god sake, if one cannot educate people to behave properly, the management of the Zoo should AT LEAST put enough staff to monitor the public. During all time we were there, feeding the animals with snacks, shouting at the animals and tapping on the glasses seemed to be standard procedure by the public. In one example, at the monkeys cage, despite the glass separating the monkeys from the public, a man managed to trow a bag of cheetos on the top of the cage, which was fenced... of course the monkeys managed to get the bag and started feeding on the Cheetos. But the highlight was when one monkey made a hole on the bag, put his head on the hole and dressed the bag as a shirt... the public went crazy with laugher and applauses. In the bear cage, a women was very engaged in feeding the bear with cheetos... but not very successfully, since she was trowing snacks faster than the bear could take it.. at one point the bear gave up and walked away, with the fur on his back all covered with cheetos!! I'm sorry to say, but most of the time I felt like I was the one inside the cage.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank Hattivatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chongqing Zoo (Chongqing Dongwuyuan) also viewed

Chongqing, Chongqing Region
 
Chongqing, Chongqing Region
Chongqing, Chongqing Region
 

Been to Chongqing Zoo (Chongqing Dongwuyuan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing