We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
103
226
25
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
226
25
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Overall the The Empark Grand Hotel is a very nice hotel. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The windows did a nice job of eliminating the noise from the streets below. The breakfast buffet was a nice mix of western and Asian cuisine with omelettes made to order. For the first few days the Internet connection (wired) was excellent but the connection was spotty the last two days at the hotel. One problem was the weather was very hot and humid and the air conditioner couldn't cool the room down below about 24 - 25 degrees C and was having trouble getting the humidity out of the air in the room. On the other hand I celebrated my birthday while in China and the hotel sent a birthday cake to my room. A great touch!

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor to be away from the street noise.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Stayed at this hotel for several days while completing the adoption of our young daughter along with some other couples and found this hotel to be of 5 star quality (except for the offsite pool). The hotel is in a city of 32 million people!. The rooms were elegant and comfortable, the downstairs restaurant was topnotch but rather pricey considering the close proximity of outside restaurants. We found the staff very friendly and most spoke enough english to serve our needs. The hotel is located directly above a large subterrean shopping mall that had several small restaurants, shops and a supermarket. I spent a considerable amount of time browsing around and drawing loks (and smiles) from the locals. Their is also a park and other shooping opportunities directly outside the hotel too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PhilipSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

The Empark also seems to go by the name Golden Resources Hotel. It is located in the north central part of Chongqing. It is rated as a five-star hotel, but by U.S. standards, I would give it four stars. The rooms are a good size, clean, and attractively furnished in dark wood, but not exceptional. The bathroom contained both a deep tub and a separate shower. The business center on the top (33rd) floor has a wonderful view of the city and has an open-air patio that is worth an elevator ride. The buffet is a high point. It contains a wide variety of tasty Chinese and western food. I paid $62/night, which I think is an excellent value given the high quality of this hotel. The hotel is connected to a medium-sized underground mall, which is fun to browse. The hotel advertises a fitness center, but there is not one.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CyberTalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2008

Stayed here for ten nights on a business trip. Like most everywhere in Chongqing, the staff speak limited english but do try very hard.

My room was a good size, with comfortable bed and pillows. Minibar is reasonably priced, but hotel laundry service is more pricey. Decor is quite attractive.

Breakfast is plentiful, though focussed around the asian market.

Location is excellent, with plenty of shopping and nightlife in the immediate vicinity. Taxi from the airport cost about 45RMB, though the driver attempted to rip us off by not wanting to give change from a hundred.

Only complaints:
Internet is slow - painfully at times
The gym and pool are not free

Then again, at less than $65USD a night for a 5* hotel, these are minor complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Zephyr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2007

I am writing this review from my room at this hotel. Decided to try this five-star hotel given that I never stayed in this part of Chongqing before.

Positives

* Location. This hotel is located in the Jiangbei area adjacent to a very nice park that has fountains replete with water shows and music at various times during the day and night -- many people come to enjoy this park. The park is attached to your typical walking/shopping street itself containing stores and restaurants. Nearby is an upscale shopping mall with all of the creature comforts. Underground is an interesting entertainment mall full of restaurants, net bars, ktv, sauna, etc.

* Hotel common areas are very nice; very comfortable lobby bar nestled in the corner of the lobby area, tea room on the lower level, an elevator bank with glass doors that enables you to enjoy the view on the way up or down.

* Service was good. I found most people to be very helpful; I was very pleased with the service I received at reception and in the hotel lobby bar.

Negatives

For your typical American (or other western country resident), these may be negatives.

* English not so widely spoken as this hotel caters more to Chinese. When speaking Mandarin (albeit my basic/intermediate level), I had no problems getting things done but I think that your average non-Mandarin speaking foreigner may struggle here.

* Rooms more geared towards Chinese-style. Beds were hard by American standards but sometimes I like a hard bed. Things like towels and slippers were sparingly dispensed to the rooms.

* If you are noise sensitive, know that music from the adjacent park starts up around 7:30am and ends about 9pm. If your room faces the park, you will hear this music in your room.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Gilgameshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews