We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Location, Service and Attention to Detail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Chongqing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Chongqing
Ranked #8 of 3,106 Hotels in Chongqing
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Location, Service and Attention to Detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I travel a lot through work. I joined the IGH loyalty programme and so glad I did. Room upgrade, General Manager, Sharon, introduced herself, room superb, serviced it seemed like every time I left the room! Towels in the bathrooms, the largest and heaviest I've felt!
Didn't get time to swim or use the gym.
Best location in Chongqing!
Right in the centre of the city!

All staff were wonderful! Rock Zuo, Mary Chen, Roy Tan and Annie Chen to mention a couple!
Sharon (GM) down to earth, attention to detail, fantastic!
Definitely going back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neville M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICChongqing, General Manager at InterContinental Chongqing, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Neville

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Intercontinental Chongqing and for your very kind comments and praise of my team (and myself). It was very kind of you and we are just so happy you had such a great stay.

Thank you again and hope we can welcome you back again soon

Kind Regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    306
    55
    5
    5
See reviews for
16
33
16
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

The hotel is very centrally located in the city.

All staff is friendly.

I booked a deluxe river view room. The room was large and the view very good. Booking this category will get you club lounge access if you have Intercontinental Gold Ambassador card. Good breakfast available at the club lounge as well as small dishes in the evening.

Room was nice and clean and quiet.

Room service prices okay.

Metered taxis were always available at the hotel. No taxi driver speaks a word of English.

I had no complaints during my stay and would stay there again considering the reasonable room price.

Room Tip: Deluxe river view rooms have a good room over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICChongqing, General Manager at InterContinental Chongqing, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Kauris
Many thanks for your kind review of Intercontinental Chongqing and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and many thanks for the great reviews about many things but especially about our staff being so friendly, they do try very hard.

Intercontinental Ambassador members are also very important to us and its great you were able to enjoy our Intercontinental Club Lounge, a very nice environment enjoyed by our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
208 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent 7 nights at this very centrally located and welcoming hotel in the facinating and polluted city of Chongqing. The air was so bad that we actually spent more time inside the hotel than we otherwise would have done.

The hotel is good value for money. Not quite up-to-date, but with all the conveniences a traveller needs. Clean, spacious, practical. All of the people we met working at the hotel were very helpful and friendly, and they all could speak fairly good English. - When we arrived we found out that we couldn't connect our I-Pad in our room, and 5 minutes later a router was installed, and our connection was perfect for the rest of our stay.

The breakfast buffet was good with a fair selection of Asian and European dishes. Especially the bread and pastry were excellent (for China).


With its fantastic location we would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelourinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICChongqing, General Manager at InterContinental Chongqing, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Pelourinho

Many thanks for the kind review of your experience at the Intercontinental Chongqing, its great to know you enjoyed it so much and I really appreciate the kind comments about the friendliness and helpfulness of my team, this means a lot. I would like to say sorry for the Smog and that you didn't get to see so much of the city. At this time of year there is also a lot of fog, and we are known often as the "Foggy City" being in the Sichuan Basin. Anyway really pleased you enjoyed your stay and our great location and hope we can welcome you back in summer when the air is usually much better - and Hot!
Thank you again
Kind Regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
172 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

The room is comfortable and is very good value for money. We booked 2 connecting rooms and it took the staff quite a while to find the key to open the connecting door. Staff are friendly. The hotel is centrally located in the old CBD. The breakfast is simple and reasonable.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lau_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

As a more expensive 5-star hotel, our expectations of the Intercontinental were certainly higher and it did generally deliver. The hotel looks quite new. It (and our room) was in excellent condition, clean, and decorated tastefully. The room was large with plenty of space and relaxing areas. The bathroom had a huge shower and large bath. We had a welcome platter of fruit upon arrival. There were all the usual big hotel touches - bed turned down, etc, etc. The staff seemed to go out of their way to be friendly and welcoming. The buffet breakfast had an enormous selection of Western and Chinese food and there were some terrific dishes. Staff served coffee / tea at your table and that could have been a bit more plentiful. The coffee was generally cold and not particularly good. Food could have been topped up better in the serving areas. But overall, something for everyone in the breakfast department. The hotel location is good - few minutes' walk to the Liberation Monument, close to the metro stations. Dining options around the hotel were OK but not great. There was a food court of sorts directly outside but that wasn't too impressive and we didn't find too much else. There was a Carrefour nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antip0de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICChongqing, General Manager at InterContinental Chongqing, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear AnitpOde
Thank you for taking the time to review Intercontinental Chongqing and your very kind comments about the rooms, facilities, my Housekeeping team, touches, plentiful breakfast and great location. I appreciate also your comments about the coffee and have shared this with the Restaurant Manager and team to ensure the coffee is always pipping hot and plentiful, especially in the morning. And thank you for especially mentioning my friendly and and welcoming staff, we always try to make our guests welcome in "our home", a home away from home. I do hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Thank you again
Kind Regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
138 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel could not be more central. Just a few steps away takes you to a large promenade with amazing retails shops and restaurants and also to an historical district.
I was given a room on the higher floors which was like something out of a movie. It had a huge marble foyer, a very large bedroom area and large bathroom.
The only drawback was that I could smell smoke everywhere and there was no getting away from it. I guess I must have been on a smoking floor but in Asia everyone smokes everywhere including in restaurants. Other than that it was all fantastic and breakfast was very nice but not a brilliant setting.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank granddamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICChongqing, General Manager at InterContinental Chongqing, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Granddamme
Thank you very much for your very kind review and comments on our Hotel and great to know you enjoyed your spacious room, our great location and the extensive breakfast selection. I am really sorry to hear about the Smoking smell however I cannot determine from your review where you stayed, if it was a Smoking Floor or not? My team and I are very strict about preferences if you asked for a Non Smoking Room and Floor and we have actually reduced all the Smoking Floors in the Hotel for a few years now and only have 4 Smoking Floors, and all our Public areas including Lobby, Reception, Meeting Rooms and Restaurants have all been Non Smoking now for 3 years. Unfortunately as much as we try to enforce it not everyone respects this and sometimes people smoke in non smoking rooms. We address it immediately if we are aware. Its very frustrating. If you are coming back again please feel free to contact me direct and I will ensure you are in a very nice, fresh non smoking floor and room.

Thanks again for the great comments and for staying with us

Kind Regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel has a very good central location within the CBD. Rooms are of the standard that you would expect from an intercontinental hotel but in room WiFi is only available on rooms above the 30th floor. So if you are on a lower floor you need to connect via a cable (old style) or use internet in the lobby, not particularly satisfactory. The lobby bar is moderate at best, no real atmosphere and the ubiquitous singer drowning out conversation. Health club was sub standard with no many machines and very old style. Those are my negatives, the positives are it is in a super location close to local restaurants and shops, the staff were helpful and friendly though language could be an issue! The breakfast buffet is massive covering most cuisines. I was not blown away by the hotel but would definitely stay again and et a room with WiFi.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with wiFi (above 30th Floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICChongqing, General Manager at InterContinental Chongqing, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Daad B Reviewer

Thank your for staying with us at Intercontinental Chongqing and for your review and feedback which we review as a team. I am delighted to tell you we are in the process of rewiring the complete Hotel so the whole hotel shall we Wireless (Complimentary) from the end of the year. Its obviously a big job and I'm sorry the room you were in last time it had not been completed, but for sure by the New Year it will be done.

I really appreciated the comments about my staff, location and breakfast and hopefully with complete Wifi next time your stay will be better. And its nearly time to change the Band too!

Thanks and I do hope we can welcome you back again soon

Kind Regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
0.1 mi away
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
#2 of 3,106 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
6.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
#1 of 3,106 in Chongqing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Chongqing
Hilton Chongqing
#6 of 3,106 in Chongqing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Chongqing Liberation Square
5.8 mi away
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
#3 of 3,106 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenview ITC Plaza Chongqing
Glenview ITC Plaza Chongqing
#16 of 3,106 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chongqing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chongqing

Property: InterContinental Chongqing
Address: No.101 Minzu Road, Yuzhong District, Chongqing 400010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chongqing
#6 Spa Hotel in Chongqing
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chongqing
#10 Business Hotel in Chongqing
#19 Best Value Hotel in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Chongqing 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chongqing is located right in the heart of bustling and rapidly developing City of Chongqing where the 2 rivers meet, the Jialing and the world famous Yantze. Ideally situated close to all the city landmarks, shopping, restaurants, bars, markets, here you can easily walk everywhere as you are in the centre of town. The Chaotoimen Port is 5 minutes by car for joining or alighting onto the Yangtze River Cruise Boats and or visiting the City's amazing Urban Planning Museum. It is also an easy taxi ride to the Three Gorges Museum and People s Assembly Hall. Other local sights by car are Ciqikou Ancient Town, Tianchi Lake and Hongyan Revolution Memorial Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your InterContinental Chongqing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chongqing Hotel Chongqing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing