We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located hotel in Chongqing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Chongqing
Ranked #15 of 3,175 Hotels in Chongqing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We chose IHG Chongqing after the Yangtze River cruise mainly because of it's location in Yuzong which is in the centre of business and transportation . Many excellent reviews also helped us to stay in IHG Chongqing and we did enjoy our two night stay. It was a short drive from Chaotianmen Pier where most cruise boats will dock. With pre-arranged transfer by Mr. Wonder Wang of Yangtze Cruise.com ,it was hassle free with luggage and some steep steps to get onto the road . Taxis were waiting at some distance away and one may have to haggle the fare! We arrived at the hotel in Mid morning. We were surprised and happy the front dest staff checked us in with Welcome drink. With brief rest we were on our way to the must visit Ciqikou ( Porcelain Village) which is an ancient village ( Pioneer Village in Wester country) it is packed with tourists most of the time. One can spend a few hours to browse through shops, restaurants, art galleries etc. one can also deviate out of the mail complex into littles lanes where local live and work. From intercontinental Qongqing just walk (15 minutes) to the beginning of line 1 subway which take you to Ciqikou stop and another 10 minutes walk to the main entrance. It is free entry. The hotel itself is hugged by two famous Padestrian shopping streets with huge departmental shopping complexes selling all branded goods along with upcoming Chinese Brands at much lower price.Rooms are well appointed and spacious. Breakfast was excellent with Chinese and English spreads. We were lucky to meet the Lady GM from New Zealand, F&B manager from Singapore and the Executive Chef from Penang. These has made us very homely having been to all these places before. We had Bak Kut Teh and Singapore Chicken rice. It was like having a meal back home. I strongly recommend Chongqing Intercontinental for those who want a wonderful , enjoyable stay in Chongqing. The only negative point is the lobby lounge. There is no clear cut smoking from non- smoking areas. I noticed Locals even smoked in Non- smoking section polluting with smoke and noise. The Latte I had, was substandard with half the glass filled with FOAM with no coffee flavor. But it is the only place to get free wifi!

Room Tip: In China Non smoking room needs inspection before taking up!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chinheong P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICChongqing, General Manager at InterContinental Chongqing, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Chinheong P
Many thanks for your very thoughtful and detailed review when staying at the Intercontinental Chongqing recently. We were truly delighted to receive your feedback and comments and great to know you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and the spicy city of Chongqing. I greatly appreciated your kind comments about my team and the service, it means a lot to us. Unfortunately although we try very hard not everyone observes the smoking rules and as much as we have decreased smoking floors significantly (we only have 4 now) not everyone respects those rules, which is unfair to other guests. However we continue to make headway. Great you meet our great visiting Penang Chef Andy and enjoyed his delicious food. Do hope we can welcome you back again soon, it was really our delight to meet you all and hope we can meet again soon. Maybe in NZ!

Kindest regards and happy travels
Sharon Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Chongqing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

The luxurious InterContinental Hotel is located in the heart of Chongqing, China. It is the perfect choice for those cruising on the Yangtze River but there is also great shopping with a pedestrian street lined with shops just steps from the front door. The staff will arrange sightseeing trips to Tianchi Hot Springs and Ciqikou Ancient Town.
Arriving guests are greeted warmly and enter the beautiful lobby to be ushered to their plush guestroom with King Koil’s luxury bedding, a full size bathroom with rain forest shower, individual controlled air conditioning unit, 2 IDD/dual lines and data ports, high speed internet access and many more amenities.

Whether dressing up for dinner or enjoy a casual drink, the restaurant and bar venues at the InterContinental Chongqing provide a perfect environment for every occasion. In the lounge enjoy tea with one of the hotel-created pastries or in the evening sip your favorite libation while listening to relaxing music. Widely considered the city’s most elegant dining experience, Emerald Sea Chinese Restaurant is an avant-garde restaurant serving authentic Cantonese and Sichuan cuisine. The spread is transformed with Asian, Western and international cuisine at lunch and dinner in Gingers Restaurant specializes in contemporary Asian cuisine. Consider upgrading to Executive Level that includes breakfast, cocktail hour, complimentary internet and other perks. Being a member of InterContinental Rewards Club Program offers more perks and the opportunity to gain points for future stays. We used our yearly free night that comes with out rewards credit card.

Room Tip: Loved Executive Level
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICChongqing, General Manager at InterContinental Chongqing, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Sanscott

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Intercontinental Chongqing. We are all so pleased to know your enjoyed your stay and your visit to this interesting and exciting city. We greatly appreciated the comments about the your room facilities, restaurants and especially the Intercontinental Club Floors which many of our travellers enjoy. We do hope we can welcome you back again soon. Thank you again

Kind Regards and safe travels
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I travel a lot through work. I joined the IGH loyalty programme and so glad I did. Room upgrade, General Manager, Sharon, introduced herself, room superb, serviced it seemed like every time I left the room! Towels in the bathrooms, the largest and heaviest I've felt!
Didn't get time to swim or use the gym.
Best location in Chongqing!
Right in the centre of the city!

All staff were wonderful! Rock Zuo, Mary Chen, Roy Tan and Annie Chen to mention a couple!
Sharon (GM) down to earth, attention to detail, fantastic!
Definitely going back!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neville M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICChongqing, General Manager at InterContinental Chongqing, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Neville

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Intercontinental Chongqing and for your very kind comments and praise of my team (and myself). It was very kind of you and we are just so happy you had such a great stay.

Thank you again and hope we can welcome you back again soon

Kind Regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The hotel is very centrally located in the city.

All staff is friendly.

I booked a deluxe river view room. The room was large and the view very good. Booking this category will get you club lounge access if you have Intercontinental Gold Ambassador card. Good breakfast available at the club lounge as well as small dishes in the evening.

Room was nice and clean and quiet.

Room service prices okay.

Metered taxis were always available at the hotel. No taxi driver speaks a word of English.

I had no complaints during my stay and would stay there again considering the reasonable room price.

Room Tip: Deluxe river view rooms have a good room over the city.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICChongqing, General Manager at InterContinental Chongqing, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Kauris
Many thanks for your kind review of Intercontinental Chongqing and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and many thanks for the great reviews about many things but especially about our staff being so friendly, they do try very hard.

Intercontinental Ambassador members are also very important to us and its great you were able to enjoy our Intercontinental Club Lounge, a very nice environment enjoyed by our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent 7 nights at this very centrally located and welcoming hotel in the facinating and polluted city of Chongqing. The air was so bad that we actually spent more time inside the hotel than we otherwise would have done.

The hotel is good value for money. Not quite up-to-date, but with all the conveniences a traveller needs. Clean, spacious, practical. All of the people we met working at the hotel were very helpful and friendly, and they all could speak fairly good English. - When we arrived we found out that we couldn't connect our I-Pad in our room, and 5 minutes later a router was installed, and our connection was perfect for the rest of our stay.

The breakfast buffet was good with a fair selection of Asian and European dishes. Especially the bread and pastry were excellent (for China).


With its fantastic location we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pelourinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICChongqing, General Manager at InterContinental Chongqing, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Pelourinho

Many thanks for the kind review of your experience at the Intercontinental Chongqing, its great to know you enjoyed it so much and I really appreciate the kind comments about the friendliness and helpfulness of my team, this means a lot. I would like to say sorry for the Smog and that you didn't get to see so much of the city. At this time of year there is also a lot of fog, and we are known often as the "Foggy City" being in the Sichuan Basin. Anyway really pleased you enjoyed your stay and our great location and hope we can welcome you back in summer when the air is usually much better - and Hot!
Thank you again
Kind Regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The room is comfortable and is very good value for money. We booked 2 connecting rooms and it took the staff quite a while to find the key to open the connecting door. Staff are friendly. The hotel is centrally located in the old CBD. The breakfast is simple and reasonable.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Lau_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

As a more expensive 5-star hotel, our expectations of the Intercontinental were certainly higher and it did generally deliver. The hotel looks quite new. It (and our room) was in excellent condition, clean, and decorated tastefully. The room was large with plenty of space and relaxing areas. The bathroom had a huge shower and large bath. We had a welcome platter of fruit upon arrival. There were all the usual big hotel touches - bed turned down, etc, etc. The staff seemed to go out of their way to be friendly and welcoming. The buffet breakfast had an enormous selection of Western and Chinese food and there were some terrific dishes. Staff served coffee / tea at your table and that could have been a bit more plentiful. The coffee was generally cold and not particularly good. Food could have been topped up better in the serving areas. But overall, something for everyone in the breakfast department. The hotel location is good - few minutes' walk to the Liberation Monument, close to the metro stations. Dining options around the hotel were OK but not great. There was a food court of sorts directly outside but that wasn't too impressive and we didn't find too much else. There was a Carrefour nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antip0de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICChongqing, General Manager at InterContinental Chongqing, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear AnitpOde
Thank you for taking the time to review Intercontinental Chongqing and your very kind comments about the rooms, facilities, my Housekeeping team, touches, plentiful breakfast and great location. I appreciate also your comments about the coffee and have shared this with the Restaurant Manager and team to ensure the coffee is always pipping hot and plentiful, especially in the morning. And thank you for especially mentioning my friendly and and welcoming staff, we always try to make our guests welcome in "our home", a home away from home. I do hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Thank you again
Kind Regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
0.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
#1 of 3,175 in Chongqing
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
#5 of 3,175 in Chongqing
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Chongqing Liberation Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Chongqing
Hilton Chongqing
#14 of 3,175 in Chongqing
1,029 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
#3 of 3,175 in Chongqing
714 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chongqing North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chongqing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chongqing

Address: No.101 Minzu Road, Yuzhong District, Chongqing 400010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chongqing
#8 Spa Hotel in Chongqing
#10 Business Hotel in Chongqing
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chongqing
#26 Best Value Hotel in Chongqing
Price Range: £77 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Chongqing 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chongqing is located right in the heart of bustling and rapidly developing City of Chongqing where the 2 rivers meet, the Jialing and the world famous Yantze. Ideally situated close to all the city landmarks, shopping, restaurants, bars, markets, here you can easily walk everywhere as you are in the centre of town. The Chaotoimen Port is 5 minutes by car for joining or alighting onto the Yangtze River Cruise Boats and or visiting the City's amazing Urban Planning Museum. It is also an easy taxi ride to the Three Gorges Museum and People s Assembly Hall. Other local sights by car are Ciqikou Ancient Town, Tianchi Lake and Hongyan Revolution Memorial Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Chongqing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chongqing Hotel Chongqing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing