We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another cosy hotel by Sofitel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Ranked #3 of 3,165 Hotels in Chongqing
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Another cosy hotel by Sofitel”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Again I feel good being in one of Sofitel nice hotels,, clean comfortable and friendly.... with the exception of having a problem with communication in English or French.

The lobby bar, which is the only place to have a drink closes very early, and whenever I expressed my dissatisfaction with the situation, they tell me to get what I want thru room service...
But they didn't understand that it's more fun to have a drink in a Bar

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Emad B,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to our guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Jojo Wu
Training Manager
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    295
    41
    18
    5
See reviews for
23
37
39
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minsk, Belarus
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

In fact, Sofitel Forebase Chongqing was the first hotel I stayed in in Chongqing back in June 2011. Now that I had travelled to Chongqing many times for business and stayed in different hotels I'd like to submit a review.

Pros; luxurious facilities, spacious lobby, English-speaking staff

Cons: poor wi-fi in the lobby, poor surrounding area, intrusive staff at the lobby bar, an attempt to overcharge at check-out

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirilmhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Sofitel Valued Guest:

Thank you very much for sharing with us about your experience with us.Please accept our sincere apologies for problems you experienced during your stay.
I have been reported the details of above matters to the department concerned. We assure you that the necessary actions have been taken to ensure that similar incidents will not be occurring again in the future.We are looking forward to welcome you again while you visiting Chongqing either on business or leisure reason.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

very good hotel. beautiful and modern rooms with Sofitel standard services. a good place to stay in this very busy and polluted city. breakfast is good but need more varieties (compare to other sofitels).
location is also good not too far from the town center and also few restaurants around.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radennovrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Sofitel Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your stay experience with us. I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

After a long day on the bullet train, meant to be a 2 1/2 trip turned into 5 hours, turning up at the hotel, met at the door by friendly staff, reception staff rocked, explained what was happpening, were we could eat, were the atms were, if we wanted a massage were to go.
Just excellent, the bellboy who brought your bags up was sweet, practicing his english on us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Sofitel valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. We appreciate receiving the direct feedback and it is always shared with our team. I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bochum
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I was really surprised about the high quality of this hospitality,
over all a perfect businness hotel with french charme
rooms are very clean, king size bed are avaiable in different grade of hardness, very good service in the restaurant
the breakfast quality is 5 stars plus























  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Detlef G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Sofitel Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback that we have shared with our team.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Chongqing!

Sincerely,

Quality Department

Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here for almost 2 weeks recently on a business trip. A great hotel option if you are staying in Chongqing. Central location, friendly staff, good room size and amenities and a great lobby level restaurant. The breakfast buffet in this restaurant was always very good and the selection was very international. Ordering from the menu for lunch and dinner offered good selections as well.

Room Tip: Car horns in traffic can be a problem on the lower levels, so the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eeeeyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Sofitel Valued guest,

Thanks for your choosing Sofitel Forebase Chongqing. We are so happy to hear that you had a nice experience here and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
939 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here at very short notice when our Victoria Cruise boat failed to sail.
Fabulous huge bedroom, with an excellent bath + shower room.
At dinner there was a huge choice of very good food; unfortunately the 'hot' food was all somewhat lukewarm.
Breakfast was excellent with a large choice of Chinese, Japanese and English food. There was even apple crumble, which even after two weeks of Chinese food, I know I shouldn't have had for breakfast, but apple crumble eaten at 8am with chopsticks (fortunately no custard!) was wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyanddavid536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Sofitel Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding our guest rooms and breakfast. We have also shared your comments regarding the temperature of the dinner hot dishes to our kitchen team for improvement.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Chongqing in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
5.9 mi away
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
#6 of 3,165 in Chongqing
300 reviews
5.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
#1 of 3,165 in Chongqing
280 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Chongqing
Hilton Chongqing
#13 of 3,165 in Chongqing
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
InterContinental Chongqing
InterContinental Chongqing
#12 of 3,165 in Chongqing
623 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Westin Chongqing Liberation Square
4.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chongqing North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Forebase Chongqing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Forebase Chongqing

Property: Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Address: No.137 Keyuan Second Road, Jiulongpo District, Chongqing 400039, China
Region: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chongqing
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chongqing
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chongqing
#8 Business Hotel in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Forebase Chongqing 5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chongqing Economic and Technological Development Zone, the Sofitel Forebase Chongqing is one of the premier hotels in China. Featuring 464 rooms of pure indulgence, 3 divine restaurants and bars and state of the art conference facilities, thehotel offers unabashed luxury. Perfect for business or leisure trips with easy access to the airport and Chengjiaping Exhibition Centre. Nearby attractions include Chaotianmen dock of Three Gorges, Chiqikou Ancient Town and Tianchi Hot Spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Forebase Chongqing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing Hotel Chongqing
Accor Forebase Chongqing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing