We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great apartment, great staff, noisy location (but great if you like nightlife)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ovolo Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ovolo Central
Ranked #18 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great apartment, great staff, noisy location (but great if you like nightlife)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

Loved staying here (2 wks in April 12 - floor 18). Staff very friendly and helpful. Apartment isn't large but compared to other places i've seen in the same price range it's above average. Although location was noisy for me if I was ten years younger I'd have loved it as very close to nightlife and it wouldn't stop me staying again. Also found the apartment and surrounding areas very clean. I would also recommend the Ovolo coffeshop next door who do beautiful, very healthy food and again are very friendly. Also get one off the Ovolo discount cards for 10% off. Maybe if staying at Ovolo apartment should entitle you to further discount???

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreaShropshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    160
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
45
284
73
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

In hong kong you are hardly to get a cheap and nice apartment to stay in, most of the hotels are very small and pack but I've found this ovolo hotels and service apartments in 256, tung chao street which is one of the outlet in sam shui po. It takes 5 minutes walk to the MTR station which all the way long you can get to see many fruits stall and there is a wet market near by. One thing to be aware is sam shui po is a lower class area, try not to stay up late at the street alone. But no worry, hong kong government runs a good job as they always have polices checking up all the places. Back to ovollo hotels, they provided a very cozy apartments, i just feel like i am home! they have free drinks at the pantry 24 hours, make yaself free to grab one anytime =)
i was staying in a 3 rooms apartment, everything is just nice. If you do not mind you also can sleep at the sofa but try to get your own blanket. Their bathroom is not a build with a solid wall but a frosted glass, so maybe getting guys and girls in a same apartment is not that convenient or else you guys see how to arrange it. wink*
Oh ya, the scene out from the window is nice!! i was staying n 20b =)

Overall i like it!

Room Tip: 3 bedrooms apartment provided 2 queen size bedrooms and 1 single bedroom. A single bed can't fix...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank genkizz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Excellent - staff at ALL levels are very personal, very polite and able to meet changes in my itinerary, having been an ex-Hyatt staff member and currently a Diamond passport traveller.
As a road warrioir living out of a suit case for the last 9 years, I was pleasently supprised to see ex-Hyatt folk on staff and exceeding guest expectations.(Daniel Kerr being one of them)

Space although small like most of HK- well designed and very live-able and able to work from home/apt comfortably, reminded me of smart designs I used to see in Japan.

I used to stay in Macau hotels alot and commute to HK, but given the homliness and friendliness of Ovolo am now staying in HK and commuting to Macau.

Room Tip: Although higher rooms are quieter, lower rooms are good for not waiting for elevator in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Oh Ovolo, how I love you! I am only leaving because the price is so high and my husband's company is no longer footing the bill. This is the way things are in many cities with large expat populations, as I don't know anyone in the building whose company does not cover their residence.

The location is amazing. The staff is really, really special and prompt. Cathy gets back to you right away about any logistical matters and is very accommodating with extensions. Cora and the other housekeeping staff are a delight. Need something dry cleaned or sewn? It will be returned within two days in tip top shape. The rooms are wonderful and make a great use of the small space. The beds are particularly nice.

Room Tip: Get as high a room as possible to reduce the noise from Dragoneye.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeckyBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 716 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,455 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#30 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Central

Property: Ovolo Central
Address: 2 Arbuthnot Road | Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Central 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Central's Lan Kwai Fong (LKF), next to Soho, Ovolo Central is our flagship hotel which is located in the heart of the city's entertainment and business district. We're just minutes away from restaurants, bars, shopping and Central MTR. Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 2 Arbuthnot Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Central Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing