We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”
Review of Ovolo Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ovolo Central
Ranked #19 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Ovolo is a small hotel. But what it lacks in square feet, it makes up in detail.

First of all, the idea of the (nearly) all-inclusive hotel stay is great. The room amenities include the WiFi, loot bag (sadly given only once per stay), the minibar (replenished every day), Apple TV, adapters, shopping bag, pen and pencil kit, and the Nespresso machine.

Second, William was just so helpful and attentive, and he leads his staff by example. On arrival, I let it slip that it was my spouse's birthday; William picked up on it immediately and arranged for a nice treat.

Third, the hotel is centrally located. Everything is within walking distance--LKF, the shops, the pier, the MTR station, and the Mid-levels.

Fourth, the free happy hour, while not big on variety, is good transition between indoors and outdoors, and keeps you occupied while you wait for your wash cycle to end.

Downstairs, Cafe O was also a nice convenience, because most of the time, you just want a bite, not a banquet.

We stayed on the 19th floor, far above the street noise, but not enough to ignore the construction din from the Police Headquarters across the street. Hopefully when we return next year, that one fly in the ointment will be gone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyndayco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear cnydayco,

On behalf of my team and I at Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot road, I would like to sincerely thank you for your very gracious review!

We are thrilled to hear that your thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that we will see you again in the future as well.

Please feel free to contact me direct on williamcondon@ovologroup.com for any assistance you may require when returning to Hong Kong.

Best regards,
William Condon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2013

We were very impressed by this hotel. I was attended to as soon as we entered the hotel, holding lifts for you and making me tea whilst I checked in. The rooms were lovely and the free mini bar and coffee machine was a great touch. The free wifi in the room was also welcomed as our other hotel only had wifi for one computer. Checking out was a breeze and we were helped out and into a cab by the Hotel Manager. Breakfasts at Cafe O were good too, and a change from hotel buffets. Restaurant recommendations for lunch were good too. I would stay again and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are good in staying in central on weekends, I could hear some noise from LKF.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngeXT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We enjoyed staying in this hotel. Really good location. Free minibar is a great idea!! Staff is so nice and helpful. Should say many thx to William for his good advices and tips. Next time in HK defenetly will stay in Ovolo

Stayed: February 2013
Thank Lady_Assel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear Lady_Assel,

Thanks for writing your short and sweet review of Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road! Glad you enjoyed the minibar and double glad our team of shiny happy people made a winning impression on you! We'd all love to welcome you back to Ovolo and I would be delighted to personally assist you with your future accommodation requirements.

Best Regards,

Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The hotel is great.
Nice rooms, full of amenities. Open minibar and free internet.
Cafe O downstairs is delicious, and your complimentary breakfast is served there. For all other meals, you get a discount at Cafe O by showing your hotel key.
Very well located, but somehow a little bit noisy due to the area nightlife. if you have trouble sleeping, ask for a high floor, specially on weekends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andres f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear Andres,

Thanks for writing us such a nice review on tripadvisor. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our signature freebies. They are there for you! Your praise of cafe O is also very appreciated. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day so it's great to read that we got it right! We will pass your compliments on to their team. On location, being tucked just above LKF, sometimes party noise is apparent but am glad to read that a higher floor sorted this out for you.

Once again thanks for reviewing us. Please come back again, we'd love to host you!

Best Regards,

Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Efficient service, clean comfortable hotel. Well located.
Great bathroom, and comfortable bedding.
Food in cafe was average - so this can improve.
Service throughout hotel was great, lots of smiles.
Definitely worth a try on your next visit to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Brian,

So happy to read about your positive experience at Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road. Thanks for taking the time to share this feedback and double thanks for complimenting our team. They will be delighted to hear that their smiles were noticed! Appreciate the note on the cafe cuisine as well - we'll look into it and fix it. Thank you again so much for writing and recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you and yours back to Ovolo again the next time you are in town!

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Ovolo on Arbuthnot for five nights in January. It is important for any prospective guest to understand the style of this hotel. There is a small lift (elevator) foyer with a porter's desk on the ground floor. There is a reception area, small lounge and gym on the first floor. The residential floors then have two rooms per floor. We understood this at the time of booking from reading the previous reviews. So, this is not the property for you if you are looking for grand foyers, swimming pools, in-house restaurants and the usual facilities found in a five-star hotel. On the other hand, this property is well-suited if you are not particularly interested in those sort of facilities (as we are not), and value for money is your most important criterion in selecting a hotel.

Rooms: The rooms are moderately sized but well designed. A desk/study area is cleverly incorporated into the room without sacrificing space. Lighting and electrics are very high spec. Tasteful, new and clean. The bathroom is small but well-designed (shower but no bath). The maid service was discreet and competent. And because there are only two rooms per floor the hotel felt very private. Some of the previous reviews make reference to nightclub noise from LKF. Our stay included Friday and Saturday night, and we did not hear a thing.

Staff: We dealt mainly with William (a displaced Irishman) and Ada. They were unfailingly informative, helpful, pleasant and courteous. We are fairly self-sufficient guests, and the staff seemed to be good at assessing how much attention particular guests required and responding accordingly. We got the very positive impression that the staff were prepared to provide as much or as little assistance as was wanted.

Value: Breakfast from the cafe next door is included in the tariff. You can take breakfast in the cafe or have it delivered to your room. The breakfast choice is a relatively basic but all that is needed to kickstart your day. I think that lavish breakfast buffets at five-star hotels can be a trap in terms of both waistline and motivation to get out and do things afterwards. The minibar is absolutely free, including -- if your capacity runs that far -- juice, soft drinks, beer and four quality spirit miniatures every night. Laundry facilities are available. We booked in advance through the Ovolo website at a prepaid rate which we considered to be extremely competitive by Hong Kong standards.

Location: Perfect for us. A short walk downhill to Central MTR and the Star Ferry terminal (although the uphill walk on the way back seems much longer). Close to the restaurants and bars of Wyndham Street, LKF and Soho. A short walk to the antique shops and Man Ho Temple on Hollywood Road, and the more traditional neighbourhood of Sheung Wan. It is a pleasant walk to the tram which takes you up to the Peak, and it is a longer -- but very do-able -- walk all the way from the Peak down through the Po Fu Lam Park and Hong Kong University back to the hotel.

Rating: We were entirely satisfied with our stay at this hotel. I have given the hotel a four-star rating only because in relative terms it obviously can't be put on the same level as, say, the Peninsula in HK or the Adlon Kempinski in Berlin, nor does the Ovolo pretend to be that sort of property. But then, of course, you are not paying anywhere near the same tariff as you do for that type of hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuffaloBruce224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I realise im in a minority here but feel this place didnt live up to its amazing trip advisor reviews and was a little disappointed - maybe its just me! As a previous review stated, there are positives and negatives.

Plus side - the location cant be beaten as a central location with easy access to all areas and within spitting distance of all the nightlife, bars and restaurants.
Staff are very helpful and cant do enough for you.
Free Wi Fi is a good plus
Everything clean and fairly new/modern
Good bathroom with powerful shower

Minus side - This is a "boutique" hotel - if thats your thing then fine. However dont expect a large reception, facilities, or any kind of bar/lounge except a settee by the side of the check in desk.
Breakfast is taken in your room (dont order hot food by the time it comes its cold) or next door in the cafe. It was "ok" but not a patch on buffet breakfasts in hotels at comparable price points
Its not cheap - nothing is in HK - but I feel better hotels are available for the same price.
The beds are hard and uncomfortable.

The much vaunted free mini bar consists of 2 bottles of beer, 2 bottles of coke, 2 bottles of water and some juice plus about 4 mini spirits. They are replenished daily. The goody bag you get once, has a few nuts, crisps and a biscuit. Hardly anything to get excited about.

We enjoyed the stay but honestly this place is average for the price, not great, but again maybe its just me as most other reviews seem to love it! Would I stay again? Probably not - i prefer more of the comforts of a regular hotel I think.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fluffysbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear Minellmine1,

Thank you so much for writing such a comprehensive review about your Ovolo Hotel - 2 Arbuthnot Road experience. We appreciate the positives you listed, we'll react to the negatives you found, and are sincerely regretful that overall you felt our hotel was not for you.

On the positives, let us first say how glad we are that you enjoyed the surrounding neighborhood. One of our key goals is to provide easy access to some of Hong Kong's best entertainment and dining and are proud that we could serve as your base. Your kind words about our staff service have been passed on to William and the team at Ovolo 2AR. Thank you.

Now to your minuses - we do the best with what space we have in Hong Kong and while we aim to match the needs of every traveler type across our hotels it is understandable that perhaps our offering isn't for everyone all the time. I do hope we gave you some positive surprises and left a lasting impression that affects what you should expect from hotels in terms of both design and service going forward. With this said, please know that your two points about the breakfast and bed do not reflect our high standards and will be addressed in our weekly performance review. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention.

Once again I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with tripadvisor. We will use this feedback to improve our services in the hope that you will give us another chance when you are looking to stay in Central Hong Kong again.

Cheers,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 725 in Hong Kong
6,079 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,149 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#20 of 725 in Hong Kong
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 725 in Hong Kong
761 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#23 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,466 reviews
Ovolo Southside
#26 of 725 in Hong Kong
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Central

Address: 2 Arbuthnot Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £162 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Central 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Central's Lan Kwai Fong (LKF), next to Soho, Ovolo Central is our flagship hotel which is located in the heart of the city's entertainment and business district. We're just minutes away from restaurants, bars, shopping and Central MTR. Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ovolo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 2 Arbuthnot Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Central Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing