We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - needs som minor improvements”
Review of Ovolo Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ovolo Central
Ranked #19 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel - needs som minor improvements”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Overall a great hotel. Not a luxury hotel, but a hotel for smart travellers. Rooms are small, as most rooms in Hong Kong. Staff was very friendly and offered great service. I really liked the free minibar, even though I didn't drink the booze. The minibar also contained European brand name mineral water, a new funky fruit juice brand, sparkling juice, Lindt chocolat and so on. It is a nice feeling to know that everything is included in the room rate. Location is great, but there is some noice from the clubs in LKF during the weekend.

Some minor improvements is the cleaning of the room. There was an old toothpick laying on the floor in the bathroom when I checked in. It was still there after the room had been cleaned two times. The breakfast was okay, but the staff in the cafe managed to miss one of the items that I ordered every day I had breakfast. The service level in the cafe was not as good as the rest of the hotel.

Small issues and overall a great stay. Will stay at the Ovolo again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear “Gregor A”

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us both on the positive points as well as the areas for improvements. We take pride in offering a great product and service and I can assure you my team & I have investigated the matters you highlighted.

It would be great to have you back with us in the near future. To ensure that you have a flawless visit on your future trips to Hong Kong, please feel free to email direct on 2@ovologroup.com and we will look after you from start to finish.

Best Regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    162
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
45
287
73
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My husband and I chose Ovolo Hotel because of work and wanted to be in the Central area and stay in a small, smart hotel and its website appealed to us. To our pleasant surprise, it was everything we were looking for. The staff were very polite and helpful - at check-in, housekeeping and doormen. Our room was on the 22nd floor and it was always tidy and clean. Furnishings were smart and although it wasn't a very big room, it had a work area and the bathroom was modern. I also like the fact that the hotel provided free wi-fi and free mini bar - 2 very rare features. Although we were out every night and didn't empty the mini bar, it's nice to know that these were available. Breakfast was also included and this was next door at its cafe on street level which is very convenient. Location is good too - very near Lan Kwai Fong nightlife and walking distance to Central MTR. We would return to Ovolo because it's obvious that a lot of thought had gone into providing comfort and care to its guests.

Room Tip: High floor above 20th 'cos being near Lan Kwai Fong it can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FauziahAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear “FauziahAB”

Thank you very much for your very kind compliments and feedback. We are very delighted that you had a wonderful time with us and that you intend to return!

Please feel free to email us on 2@ovologroup.com for your next visit and we will be thrilled to take great care of you.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I've stayed at fancier and far more expensive places in HK, but never had a better experience than at a recent stay at the Ovolo. The rooms are smart and spacious with plenty of modern technology and ammenities. The location is perfect, convenient to restaurants and nightlife and with easy access to all transportation. More than anything else, the entire staffs' committment to making your stay absolutely perfect from the moment you step through their door is what sets this palce apart. Proactive, personable and eager to go the extra yard, we can't thank or recommend this team enough. Can't wait to return and se our new friends again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eiran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear “Hyderabadude”

I would like to offer you my deepest thanks for your great vote of confidence in us. It is great to hear you have such a wonderful time with us. My team & I will be thrilled to have you return back to us when you next visit Hong Kong.

Please feel free to email us on 2@ovologroup.com and we will be sure to help with your arrangements.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I have just stayed here for 4 nights. We were very impressed with the level of service throughout our entire stay. From the moment we entered the hotel until when we checked out, the staff did all they could to make our stay at ovolo as comfortable as they could. They were constantly helping with taxi's, restaurant suggestions and anything else we needed during our stay. The hotel is in a fabulous location, walking distance to many great restaurants and shops around the Lan Kwai Fong district and central. Facilities within the hotel were clean and modern, and exactly what we needed for our stay, as was the personal level of service which is often hard to come by in many of the larger hotels. Thanks to all at ovolo for making our stay in Hong Kong such a pleasant one. We will definitely be staying again when we return to Hong Kong!

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Georgie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear “Georgie M”,

I would like to personally thank you for your wonderful review about us. Our team has been overjoyed to make your experience in Hong Kong so memorable. We wish to provide the best possible service to our guests and I am glad that we have done so well. For your future visits to Hong Kong, please feel free to let us know direct on 2@ovologroup.com & we will be delighted to assist you.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Superb location close to shops, restaurants, MTR (Central), and night life. The service was superior! The room: amazing, nicely appointed, modern, good size, firm-comfy bed, great bathroom (rain shower) with Malin + Goetz toiletries, Nespresso machine, Apple tv, free mini-bar, need I say more? Rate also includes breakfast from Cafe O next door, or you can order as room service. I only wish we could've stayed there longer than 3 nights. We will stay there again next time we visit HK and will highly recommend to friends!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear “John P”,

Thank you for your amazing recommendation of us here at Ovolo! We are very glad to hear you had a wonderful time on your visit to Hong Kong and we were the perfect choice for your trip.
We look forward to having you back again with us and please let us know if we can assist for any future stay for you or your friends by contacting us on 2@ovologroup.com.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My partner and i stayed 4 nights and it was fantastic! The staff were always friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble! And the rooms were a good size, comfortable and the amenities better than most! Location also spot on!
Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear “JuliaT77”

Thank you for your fantastic review of us and it is terrific to see you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I am especially delighted to see your comments about our team here going the extra mile. When you plan to return to Hong Kong, please feel free to let us know on 2@ovologroup.com and we will be absolutely thrilled to assist.

Best Regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I don't usually write reviews, but this hotel is great! They have really captured a few magic elements that create a great overall experience. Here is a quick recap.

LOCATION:
Check! If you need to be close to Central, and don't want to overpay, then this is a great place to stay. More importantly your also very close to one of the best BBQ (Yat Lok) and Ramen places (Butao) in HK!

AMENITIES:
Sometimes its the little things - A free mini bar and fridge stocked with free drinks and snacks. Nice gesture! A full work desk, a daily newspaper. Int'l plugs and a USB charger to charge my iPhone! Theres other good stuff too...like the velour slippers I'm wearing right now!

FACILITIES:
Modern and Clean. Great bathroom...no tub, but the shower is awesome - a rainfall shower in the ceiling and an oversize detachable hand-held shower head - take your pick. All marble floors and walls...and a square toilet - WHAT!? Extra towels and huge sink. Plenty of space for all your supplies. Full working desk, good bed and a flat screen mounted on the wall with Apple TV. One thing I really appreciated is that the WiFi is reliable; as there is nothing worse than when you're trying to get work done and the connection keeps dropping.

SERVICE:
Fast, efficient, responsive. As soon as I came in, I was greeted with English speaking staff who gave me a quick briefing of what I needed to know to stay in the area. They also booked a car for me back to airport at my request.

SUMMARY:
Ovolo is one of those hotels that has done some research on hotel psychology & guest behavior and has accommodated to the needs of their guests with detail. Well done.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear “Erick G”,

My sincere thanks for your wonderful and thorough review of our hotel facilities and service! We appreciate greatly the time you took to share your feedback and enthusiasm for our hotel as well.Should you plan future visits to Hong Kong, please feel free to contact us direct on 2@ovologroup.com to allow us to tailor make your visit.

Best Regards,
William Condon
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,532 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#35 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,510 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#30 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Central

Property: Ovolo Central
Address: 2 Arbuthnot Road | Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Central 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Central's Lan Kwai Fong (LKF), next to Soho, Ovolo Central is our flagship hotel which is located in the heart of the city's entertainment and business district. We're just minutes away from restaurants, bars, shopping and Central MTR. Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 2 Arbuthnot Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Central Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing