We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ovolo Arburthnot Road- outstanding stay”
Review of Ovolo Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ovolo Central
Ranked #20 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ovolo Arburthnot Road- outstanding stay”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just stayed at Ovolo Hotel and was certainly impressed with everything about the Hotel.

The rooms are modern, very comfortable and the amenities- bathroom, air con and of course the mini- bar superb.

The staff are very welcoming and were easily able to answer any tourist questions I asked.

The location was a plus for me- the main reason I chose the Hotel. Close to the escalator and Hollywood road and the many bars and restaurants.

The breakfast in the café next door was excellent- good variety and even at busy times , I was able to "take out" my breakfast and return to my room to enjoy.

Finally the friendly welcoming happy hour was a time to enjoy complimentary beer and wine and often chat with others staying at the hotel- a nice touch.

I can thoroughly recommend Ovolo Arbuthnot Road.


Robert - Australia.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbie308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear "robbie308",

Thank you for your very positive review of your stay with us. It was great to see that you availed of many of our services and everything was to your satisfaction.

Should you require any assistance for future trips to Hong Kong, please feel free to contact myself or my team direct on williamcondon@ovologroup.com.

Best Regards,
William Condon

Hotel Manager,
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    165
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
45
289
74
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Ovolo at both the beginning and end of our honeymoon and loved it. A small hotel in a big dynamic city, Ovolo was a perfect home base from which to explore Hong Kong. The location is extremely central, close to many things. Service was great - we had a bottle of champagne waiting for us as a congratulations for our honeymoon which was an amazing touch. The amenities were fantastic and free - mini-bar, treat bag on arrival, slippers, large bath products....definitely the best we have experienced and we travel extensively. The O Cafe next door was great for breakfast and snacks. Overall a great experience and we will return the next time we're in Hong Kong!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelFontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear MelFontaine,

Thank you kindly for your terrific feedback about both of your stays with us. My team & I are thrilled to see you had a lovely time with us and we hope to see you back again with us. On your next trip to Hong Kong, please feel free to email us direct on williamcondon@ovologroup.com.

Kind regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. we were both very impressed with all aspects of this hotel and their services. Our flight landed at 6AM, despite this, the hotel accommodated our request for an early check-in, much appreciated! Throughout our stay, the hotel staff were always helpful, the room was spotless every day and the free mini bar was fully restocked every day. The option of having the included breakfast brought up to the room is a brilliant service that was gratefully received on the occasions we wanted a lazy start to the day.
On our last night, William the hotel manager, could not have been more accommodating in our requests for transfers to the airport. All of which were made at late notice but were dealt with with no trouble at all. This was a god send our last evening.
We had read comments about the rooms here being small but we found that the rooms were of a more than adequate size and the space had been well used.
The maps that were given out by the hotel and the directions to local shops and attractions/sites were equally excellent.
Should we ever find ourselves back in Hong Kong again we would have no hesitation booking this hotel and would recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stay in Hong Kong.

Thank you for your attention during our stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rebsmith82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear rebsmith82,

It is great to see your amazing compliments about your stay with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed all the various components of your stay, some of which make our hotel very unique.

Our team are delighted to read your lovely review and it gives us plently of re-assurance that we are looking after our guests perfectly.

Thank you for your recommendation too, we hope to also see you stay with us in the very near future.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
231 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel. First of all the location is fantastic. You can walk everywhere cool you need to be/see in Central. Steps away from Soho and Lan Kwai Fong. A ten minute walk to the Peak tram and also close to the star ferry pier. Secondly the amenities offered are great. While not cheap it was so much less expensive than the big guns like the four seasons and peninsula. There is free laundry, fancy bath products, free mini bar restocked daily (!), breakfast included which can be delivered to you in 15 minute increments. Rooms are trendy and comfy with apple tv and free wifi- they even give you a code so you can get wifi while roaming. Last but not least the service was impeccable and we believe this is mainly due to the most helpful manager we have ever dealt with - William Condon. He sat with us, showed us everything on the maps, gave great advice, booked tables for us, told us where and what to avoid and was just plain nice. It felt like we were his only guests based on the attention he paid us. I highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NSDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear "NSDLondon",

Thank you so much for your very positive review about your stay with us recently. It is thoroughly heart-warming to see that you were very impressed with our service. We do like to spoil our guests.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taichung, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is the nicest , cleanest hotel we have stayed in the six years we have been going to Hong Kong. Hotel room facilities and decor first class.Very very pleased and will definitely return for future stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gohloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Gohloh,

Thank you for your very kind review of our hotel. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again on your next visit to our wonderful city. Should you need any assistance to help arrange your travel plans, please feel free to contact myself or my team on williamcondon@ovologroup.com.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ovolo hotel from the 10-14 of October, 2013 while visiting HK on business. We are both frequent travellers, and this hotel truly is a gem. The staff are helpful, friendly and caring. Janice from the customer support team, assisted us with many email queries regarding where to stay, eat, play in Soho/Admiralty (Central) as well as other areas of HK, as well as numerous transportation queries. The hotel is 4.5 stars, but is super conveniently located, has wonderful amenities and is well and truly a home away from home. The bathroom and toiletries are lovely, as well as a free minibar, a loot bag you receive on arrival (full of amazing goodies), a midnight snack/recovery pack, great tech support. The best restaurants are all nearby in Soho, just a short stroll down the road. A big thank you to Haze, a wonderful on duty manager who assisted us with day to day queries and on the last day, as it was also my 30th birthday surprised us with a beautiful bottle of Bollinger. Can't wait to return! This hotel is a must stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanaHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear LanaHSydney,

On behalf of my team, I would like to thank you for your very gracious compliments about your stay with us, our hotel & our service to you and your husband. I have shared your review with our colleagues especially Janice and Haze for their recognition aswell, and we hope to see you again with us at Ovolo for your next special occasion!

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed at Ovolo for several weeks while working in Hong Kong, and can only recommend the hotel. The location is extremely convenient: right in the centre of HK - with easy access to bars and restaurants. The only minor problem may be that, because the hotel is close to LKF (bar area) there can be some noise over the weekend. However, if the windows are closed, this is hardly noticeable.

My room itself was very spacious (especially by Hong Kong standards), and included free mini bar, a welcome pack of sweets etc - and also a very convenient desk and printer. Importantly, the staff are amazing at thinking ahead and anticipating guests needs: from suggesting in room breakfast to providing little details such as power adapters to make the stay comfortable.

Breakfast is convenient by either ordering it the night before to be delivered to the room - or by going downstairs to the cafe O (run by the same company). The choice is good, I especially recommend the breakfast trifle, and I never had any problems with cafe O being busy while I was there.

I can only recommend the hotel as an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear StephanLondon,

Thank you for your lovely review for your stay with us. It was great to get to know you and I am delighted to see that everything was to your satisfaction. Please feel free to contact myself or my team direct on williamcondon@ovologroup.com for your next visit.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,630 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#34 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,081 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#29 of 718 in Hong Kong
312 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,568 reviews
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Central

Property: Ovolo Central
Address: 2 Arbuthnot Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Central 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Central's Lan Kwai Fong (LKF), next to Soho, Ovolo Central is our flagship hotel which is located in the heart of the city's entertainment and business district. We're just minutes away from restaurants, bars, shopping and Central MTR. Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ovolo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 2 Arbuthnot Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Central Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing