We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Ovolo Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ovolo Central
Ranked #20 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We (middle-aged couple) stayed for 3 nights. We are fussy! The room was small (as would expect in HK) but perfectly designed for functionality and comfort.

The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly.

The free minibar, happy hour and goodie bag are all nice touches.

It was my birthday on the last night and they very kindly provided a complimentary bottle of Bollinger! Very nice touch!

I have seen reviews about the noise (it is a city centre - I imagine the higher the room the less noise), the open wardrobe (efficient use of space) and the breakfast - I agree not the best, but practical in a busy city centre where space is at a premium.

The location is fantastic. The staff are excellent.

We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjt19662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear mjt,

Thank you for the incredible 5-star review of Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road. We were all so happy to host your birthday celebration and sincerely appreciate all the kinds words said about our team and facilities. Please come back and stay with us again anytime.

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
guestservices@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    165
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
45
288
73
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel is very well positioned on HK island near all night life but also close (10 min walk) to Soho / Peak Tram as well as Central station. The rooms are well put together and not big yet very functional - had a Super Shiny Room and worth the higher price on space and features as well as the free mini bar / goodies bag on day 1. This was a visit over new years eve into new year and everything was busy and noisy - see see tip if you a light sleeper. The staff were great and went out of their way from a service point of view - coffee while checking in / site advice / taxi's etc. Well done. Only fault was not the hotel but the "O" restaurant on the ground floor that serves as the breakfast stop - good coffee and juice - skip the rest and service was below standard. If I stay again I would likely skip the breakfast inclusive option. The hotel however - 1st rate and worthy of its TripAdvisor praise.

Room Tip: High rooms are a good idea given you right in the middle of the night life of Lan Kwai Fong (LKF)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADTMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear ADTMiltonKeynes,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a super 5-star review of Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road. We were delighted that you chose to spend New Years with us and sincerely appreciate all the compliments about our service and Super Shiny Rooms. Your comment on breakfast has been recorded and will be acted on. Thanks for bringing your Cafe O experience to our attention.

ADTMiltonKeynes,you are invited to come stay with us again anytime. Please contact me if you have any further comments on your stay or if I can help with a future booking.

Cheers,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
guestservices@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This place is beyond noisy thank god we were only there for three nights. You could hear the thumping of bass and people singing from a neoghbouring club even with ear plugs the noisy was horrendous. For this reason only I would not recommend staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear treelife,

Thank you for staying at Ovolo and for sharing your review on tripadvisor. We are sorry to read that the din of nearby LKF impacted what otherwise seemed a positive experience. We work with our neighbors routinely to address noise and communal activities and will bring your valued feedback up the next time. Please note that we have Ovolo Hotels positioned in more serene, secluded areas and the next time Hong Kong enters your travel plans I'd be more than pleased to show them to you. Thank you.

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
guestservices@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

On a recent trip to Hong Kong for the new year celebrations we were looking for a hotel close to Lan Kwai Fong so that we could be close to all the action. Ovolo came very highly recommended from a friend so we decided to give it a shot since it looked great on paper. In reality, this hotel exceeded our expectations in every conceivable manner and resulted in us having one of the most memorable trips.

Fransisca, who assisted us during the booking phase was an absolute pleasure to deal with. Making bookings for my friends and myself was swift and effortless. Almost immediately after making the booking, we were sent a digital welcome pack that consisted of details of the hotel, amenities, close by attractions and restaurants, as well as individual passwords that could be used to access wireless internet from hotspots all across Hong Kong.

When we reached the hotel, check-in was quick and the concierge was extremely up-beat and friendly. While the reception area was neither large nor opulent, it did have little treats like marshmallows, fruit, and beverages for guests. The rooms were fairly spacious and well equipped with everything that you could possibly require. Modern amenities included an apple-tv, an iPod dock and a Nespresso machine with capsules that were replenished every day. There was also a minibar that was fully stocked and replenished on a daily basis, something that you will find at most hotels, only difference being that everything in this minibar was FREE!! The hotel staff had even left a small goody bag for us in the room with complimentary treats like chocolates, candy, and a packet of crisps. Further to this, they had even given each individual room a small rucksack to take with you in case you go shopping and an international travel adapter that we could take back with us. The decor of the room was modern yet welcoming with bathrooms equipped with luxurious rain showers and expensive hair dryers. We could not have asked for more.

Location wise, the hotel was less than a five minute stroll away from hundreds of restaurants, clubs and bars. The main reason we chose this hotel was the proximity to the new years eve celebrations at LKF. On new years eve, Lan Kwai Fong gets extremely crowded due to the festivities and as a result the roads are blocked off by about 6pm to deal with the incoming crowds and because of this, getting in and out of the area becomes quite a task. Luckily, because the hotel is just parallel to all the action, we just had to step out of our hotel to join the festivities and had no trouble at all. Having a hotel so close by was especially helpful by the end of the night when everyone was tired and all partied out since we knew we could just stroll leisurely back to our rooms without ever having to worry about how we were going to get back. Surprisingly, we never once felt that the rooms were even the slightest bit noisy despite the proximity to such a busy area.

But what impressed us most about the hotel was their attention to detail and that personal touch that you will never be able to find at any of the larger chains of hotels. For example, on the 31st evening, the hotel staff had left us a box of chocolates to indulge in as well as two feather face masks to wear out for the celebrations (thanks to Quentin for picking them out). It was a small gesture but it went an extremely long way. The hotel staff are so receptive to the needs of their guests that they go out of their way to ensure that you will never once during your stay there feel as if something is lacking.

During my travels I have stayed at a number of hotels ranging from budget hotels costing under USD100 a night to luxury resorts that set you back USD2000 a night. Ovolo seems to be appropriately priced for a boutique hotel with such great amenities and location. It is a small price to pay for the convenience and service that this hotel offers you. Ovolo has definitely raised the bar in all respects and I look forward to my next stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donmoraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear donmoraes,

Thank you for leaving such a super 5-star review of your Ovolo experience on tripadvisor. We went through your story together and sincerely appreciate your compliments towards both our sales and front office team members. Reviews like yours are what encourage us to keep shining every day.

donmoraes, we could not have asked for a better guest and sincerely hope you will come stay with us again in 2014. Consider yourself invited back any time.

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Sevices Manager
guestservices@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our 30th wedding anniversary celebrations and chose the Ovolo after considering some larger hotels following tripadvisor advice. What a fantastic choice, the rooms are very modern and ooze quality!! We found the staff very helpful and polite. The gym is small but again has top class fitness equipment and is still big enough for a boutique hotel with less than 50 rooms. We read about the limited space in the adjacent Cafe O and yes it is restricted but with a little patience it is not an issue and the breakfast is good. A gem of a hotel with a personal touch.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wilse01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Wilse01,

Thank so much for leaving such a super 5-star review of Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road on tripadvisor. Its terrific to see our hotel described as a 'gem' and a 'fantastic choice.' You really made our teams day here! Please stay with us again when Hong Kong enters your travel plans, hopefully in 2014!

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
guestservices@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevenoaks
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We arrived in Hong Kong at 7am and on good advice we caught the super efficient airport express train to Central. We arrived at the Ovolo hotel at 8am and without any fuss they gave us our room keys and we were able to check in. Our room was a 'super shiny' room and was lovely. We had so many freebies! Free bar with beers and soft drinks, crisps, nuts and chocolate. Unbelievable! We also had a free soft rucksack and vouchers for some freebies in the cafe. Staff were very helpful when asked for directions they printed off instructions with photos to guide us. Wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a high room as the hotel is in central which is a very lively area and can get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzieash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear cazzieash,

Thank you so much for posting a 5-star review of Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road to tripadvisor. Happy to hear that you enjoyed all the freebies in your super shiny room and that our team could help guide you around town. Hope to see you again in 2014!

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
guestservices@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked the hotel for 4 nights. We arrived on Monday and left on Friday night, we had an excellent service all throughout our stay, we had a bottle of wine awaiting us in the room and we were very surprised. The staff was very helpful and friendly, the room very clean. The hotel is not far from the MTR station and it's well situated if you are fond of shopping ( both for girl and man stuff ). Thanks to Gigi, Ricky and their colleagues for our wonderful time in Hong Kong, we will surely come back again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,623 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#34 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,080 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#23 of 718 in Hong Kong
311 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#11 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,567 reviews
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Central

Property: Ovolo Central
Address: 2 Arbuthnot Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Central 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Central's Lan Kwai Fong (LKF), next to Soho, Ovolo Central is our flagship hotel which is located in the heart of the city's entertainment and business district. We're just minutes away from restaurants, bars, shopping and Central MTR. Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 2 Arbuthnot Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Central Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing