We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Ovolo Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ovolo Central
Ranked #19 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

been to HK for bussiness and stayed for the weekend.
Ovolo is the perfect hotel for the weekend. location is amaizing,easy to get anywhere, great restaurants all around.
the room are compact but extremely comfortable, seems like everything is thought of and taken care of. complimentary mini bar , espresso machine,snacks and what not. even an office ..
the receptiin staff where very nice and helpfull , made sure we are happy and satisfied all the time. couldnt ask for more !!!
No doubt I will be back !
Thanks for a great experience :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Tomeramiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Tomeramiel,

Thanks for the terrific 5-star review of Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road. We love reading what guests notice during their stay and when a great guests seems to take stock of everything...well we are blushing! We look forward to hosting you again!

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
guestservices@ovolgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Let me start by saying I picked the hotel due to the great reviews and it did not disappoint.
clean modern rooms, comfortable beds, free mini bar, great bathroom and bathroom products = great place , also not to mention the desk clerks are all great, very friendly and helpful.

As far as the complaints about noise. Do some research before you go people. LKF is a party area therefore there will be noise. It didn't bother us and we were there for a full weekend. We were on a higher floor so I'm sure that helped. And as far a the other complaint about breakfast, sure it may be the "weakest link" of the hotel but the one time we ate there its was fine and I had no complaints about the food or the service, plus there are a million other places all within walking distance of the Ovolo!

To sum it up, hip modern hotel with clean comfortable rooms and great service in a central area, full of food, bars and shopping. Can't wait to stay there again

Room Tip: higher floors will probably have lesser club noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeyFUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear monkeyFUZ,

Thank you so much for your super 5-star review of Ovolo. We are all delighted here to read how much you enjoyed our rooms, service and location in the thick of party central HK. It was great hosting you at Ovolo and we hope we are lucky enough to have the chance again. My email is below should you have further feedback or if I can help arrange a future booking. Thanks again monkeyFUZ!

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
guestservices@ovologroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I was really excited to stay in this hotel during my first visit to Hong Kong given the positive reviews. However, it failed to live up to my expectations for two main reasons:

(a) Noise - the reviews here really play down how bad it is. The hotel is located in Lan Kwai Fong (LKF), which is a huge expat party district littered with bars playing loud music. Great location for partying and shopping, but this unfortunately means thumping music on most nights which can be heard very clearly from the hotel until the wee hours of the morning. Yes, it does depend on your tolerance to noise whether this is going to be an issue during a stay at this hotel, but for the price I'm paying, I'd like silence when I go to sleep. It was particularly bad on Friday and Saturday nights - I suggest going out to Lan Kwai Fong and getting drunk because that's the only way I could sleep through the bass wobbles which vibrated my room. Invest in some soundproofing ASAP because this is not a small issue.

(b) Breakfast - A hotel of this calibre should have its own in-house breakfast. Instead, they have formed a partnership with a neighbouring cafe to serve breakfast to hotel guests. The food was average, service from cafe staff was terrible and borderline rude, and there's nowhere near enough seats to fit the hotel's guests alongside other public patrons. On a busy Sunday morning, we (group of 4) had to wait about 20 minutes to be seated on a cramped table for 2 because that was the only table available. When asked if we could swap with a lone woman who was seated at the same time on a larger table, they refused.

On the positive side, the room was very spacious, bathroom and rainshower were excellent, overall design was amazing, location was fantastic, staff were excellent and friendly (especially Janice and another young guy who works there) and the free mini-bar (replenished daily), ice and snacks are great inclusions.

If the LKF noise and crappy breakfast aren't an issue, then this is a fine place to stay, but if you want bang-for-your-buck, look elsewhere.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank tone222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear tone222,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review on tripadvisor. We are happy to read that overall you enjoyed our hotel facilities and service and regret that the noise and breakfast were letdowns. We will take action on both of these immediately because we want you BACK the next time HK enters your mind!

Let me know if there is anything else I can do to assist. Thank you.

Cheers,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
guestservices@ovologroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

It was the first time checking in to a Boutique hotel. Rooms are very functional and spacious. Front desk team are excellent, helpful and friendly. I would just like to mention that the personal touch from a small boutique hotel what I enjoy the most.

Other than that free mini bar, Wifi, and also offering internet access out side of the hotel is far beyond what other big brands can offer.

To improve, the gym is a bit smaller than what i expected, but it's not the mostop important thing for me

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Kristy L,

Thank you for sharing your great review of Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road on tripadvisor. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed our hotel. As you say we aren't a usual boutique hotel - we fit what space we have full of features and freebies - and when experienced hospitality patrons like yourself notice our service team it means a tremendous deal to all of us. Thank you! We hope to host you at Ovolo again very soon.

Best Regards,

Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Having discovered this place, I can't immediately think of any reason to go anywhere else for a HK visit unless you're into public spaces, foyers and bars - all of which are absent at Ovolo, Instead, resources ( and space ) have been put into excellent, large and comfortable rooms ( two per floor ), friendly and helpful staff and a compact gym.
I really can't praise the rooms highly enough : large, well thought out and with excellent, marble-lined bathrooms. A great deal of care has been put into the rooms with Apple TV, printers, enough nicely-chosen giveaways to threaten the hotel's business model ( such as a free mini bar ) and even paperclips, pencils and a rubber on each desk.
Breakfast is at the adjoining Ovolo cafe which was buzzing and friendly.
Great place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank scoochlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear scoochlondon,

Thank you so much for choosing us and leaving a 5-star review on tripadvisor! From your feedback it appears you really got what Ovolo is all about - smartly spaced rooms and well-thought out freebies!! We put it all together in the hopes that great guests like you find us. Thank you again scoochlondon for your terrific comments. Consider yourself an Ovolo citizen, invited back anytime!

Cheers,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I spent six fabulous nights at Ovolo Hotel 2 Arbuthnot Road last week! The location could not be better – just a few minutes from the main business, shopping and dining areas in Hong Kong. A few stairs down and a convenient outdoor escalator back up – only in Hong Kong! The rooms are super comfortable and very well thought out. An excellent bathroom with “rainwater” show, good bed with quality linens, practical desk/working area and safe, and my favourite a Nespresso machine! Everything is of a very high standard, and the free mini bar is handy for a quick drink or snack. And did I mention the staff? A lovely team – they really could not be more helpful. I previously lived in Hong Kong so know the city very well, and I would have to say that this hotel is a little “gem” – well priced, well located and excellent value for money in a very expensive city with a shortage of hotels in the Central district. We’ll definitely be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 982Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for leaving such a super 5 star review of Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road. Sounds like you really enjoyed every facet of our property and it is heartening to read our team met your needs to a T. We were so happy to host you and your husband and hope you come stay with us again soon!

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
guestservices@ovologroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I Paid a visit to see friends and complete some business in Hong Kong and i was so lucky to stay here and review this Hotel for a private group of CEO'S from around the world to whom i m associated with and i had a wonderful stay it provided the most spacious clean and well presented room, space for work and the most wonderful shower i though it was a wonderful addition to have a complimentary mini bar this is just something not heard of and is a wonderful addition it was not noisy and had clean air pumped inside. overall outstanding service and stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Jonathan,

Outstanding review from an outstanding guest, thank you for the 5-star feedback! I hope we have the opportunity to host you and your group of high flyers again soon. Please let me know if I can help with any future booking.

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
guestservices@ovologroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#33 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,135 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#21 of 723 in Hong Kong
366 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 723 in Hong Kong
6,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Central

Address: 2 Arbuthnot Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £161 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Central 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Central's Lan Kwai Fong (LKF), next to Soho, Ovolo Central is our flagship hotel which is located in the heart of the city's entertainment and business district. We're just minutes away from restaurants, bars, shopping and Central MTR. Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 2 Arbuthnot Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Central Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing