We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best yum cha/ dim sum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince Restaurant Tsim Sha Tsui

Prince Restaurant Tsim Sha Tsui
Ranked #931 of 7,777 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best yum cha/ dim sum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We visited this restaurant when it was at one peking and loved the view, and quality and range of dim sum, so we returned in 2013 at it's new location in 1881 heritage. The views aren't as stunning but the food and service is just as good. It's not 'cheap' but it's great quality, setting and service.
Also, my fiance proposed to me here which was amazing - and the staff were very helpful for him preparing the surprise without my knowing. So we will always remember it fondly, but we really enjoy the fabulous food too!
We recommend the xiao long bao, crystal dumpling, truffle rice, and Zhaliang (i think that's what it's called - rice noodle around fried dough/filling).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tahna_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    45
    29
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I first started patronizing this restaurant before it moved to its current location. Back then, they had english menus for dim sum with blown up pictures, and needless to say, their dim sum was excellent, especially their liu sha bao.

Sad to say, I've been back here twice and the second time seemed more disappointing than the first. They no longer had english dim sum menus, and worse, the dim sum pictures are now shrunk to a size that I can no longer recognize what some of the dishes are. Their liu sha bao, which they were suppose to be famous for, had no custard or sauce in it; it was literally dry!

However, dishes such their fried rice with abalone sauce and century egg fish soup were still delicious and really tasty, as well as a few of their dim sum dishes.

Prince used to be one of my favourite restaurants and my family didn't mind paying because of the great food they served, now it seems the food they serve is at best average when compared to the many great restaurants in Hong Kong.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZachTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Loved the food. Very delicious. Quiet place for dinner. The Shanghai wonton in chillie oil is good. Service is good & friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
664 reviews
394 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
“Grossly Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

For US$25, I got a cup (not bowl) of Hot and Sour soup and a serving of dimsum. The soup was thin, the dimsum was okay.

Even by the standards of Hong Kong, this was pretty exorbitant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hong kong Chinese”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Felt rushed when ordering, eating and in general felt like staff were watching our every move. That maybe due to us being in early or wanting to impress but we were looking for relaxing Chinese feed on our first night in HK. Food was enjoyable and tasty. Price a little more than I expected. probably try others before heading back

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank StuartP2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prince Restaurant Tsim Sha Tsui also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Prince Restaurant Tsim Sha Tsui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing