We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Ranked #508 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location and good room”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Very good location for exploring Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, this hotel provides basic accommodation, patchy wifi and surly service. I could not get a single smile from the three different staffers at reception during my 24 hour stay. But I will be back because of the location and the clean room with new furnishings.

Room Tip: Room numbers ending in 1 have slightly larger beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerhard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny N, Manager at Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

We are thrilled to read your comments. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services and enjoyed their stay with us, as it is what we strive for everyday. Your kind words will certainly motivate our staff to keep up the good work.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus.

Yours sincerely
Jenny Ng
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    110
    81
    39
    46
See reviews for
22
56
53
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were upgraded to a premier room, much better than the one we paid for, which is more than lovely! ;)

Pros: The room was large, spacious and clean. And on a high floor. The hotel itself is a nice boutique hotel, meaning it's not meant to be 5-star styled, but it was 5-star comfort still. The location is VERY ideal, few minutes walk to Times Square where there is an MTR entrance/exit. So even though it says it's located in Wanchai, it's pretty in between Wanchai and Causeway Bay. Lots of good food options around the area. And for the location, price is pretty good. We paid slightly less than AU$100 per night for 23 and 24 Dec (so around Christmas periods where some hotels charged like mad!)

Con: The bathroom, as many has pointed out, is see-through and not the best thought-out plan - the whole bathroom gets wet when showering, including the toilet area. Oh and the lift is slow, only two lifts. The receptionist on the first day we arrived wasn't the nicest. He didn't even look that interested to be there or to help the customers. At least he's not rude! :) But yup, definitely would've improved our first impression with better customer service, especially since everything else about the hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemisslooksee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny N, Manager at Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

We are happy to read your positive comment about Hotel Bonaparte and its location. You may easily reach all the districts of HK Island without long hour travelling as we are standing in the middle of the prime areas.

On a different note, I am sorry to hear your feedback on our Front Desk services. Your remark has been carefully noted and I can assure you the necessary steps have been taken. Please rest assured your experience certainly does not in any way represent the quality of standards we strive for, and indeed customarily maintain at Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Jenny Ng
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel is located well close to the Causeway Bay shopping area. The hotel has quite small, but clean and modern rooms. We stayed here during the winter time, and since the AC couldn't be used for heating, the room was rather cold. The rooms are in good condition, however, the modern style of having transparent glass wall on the toilet and shower facilities was a bit strange.
All in all, can recommend this hotel if you don't mind the lack of AC heating and transparent facilities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramcees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Y, Manager at Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with us. We were delighted to learn that you had a good stay with us. For your information, we do provide portable electric space heater to our guests upon request, simply contact our Guest Service counter to arrange one if required on your next visit.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus in the not too long distance future.

Yours sincerely
Jenny Ng
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

My choice of the hotel turned out to be a nightmare. I have never ever get for so much money so little room. Sure, it was also stated when booking...100sqfeet...but when i stepped into the room i felt like in a VIP prison...coz u got a small shower compartment with toilet.
The bed does just fit people not taller than 180cm. For luggage store there is not much of space if u book a room like this tiny size (mine was room1003), unless u stay alone.
The only good thing is the location between Wan Chai and Causeway Bay....abt 10min walk.
Fair enough to say that the staff is friendly and helpful and the room was clean.
I would not choose again, even japan/tokyo has cheaper and bigger rooms in great location.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Joergstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Y, Manager at Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

We regret to hear your dissatisfaction about our room size. Instead, we do have other options at your choice besides Business Room, that is, Premium Room (150 sq ft.), Deluxe Premium Room (180 sq ft.) or Executive Room (230 - 250 sq ft.). Though, we are very pleased to read that you appreciated the assistance of our staff and room cleanliness. Your kind words have been passed on to our team who made your stay a pleasant one. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

Again, we thank you very much for your kind patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus.

Yours sincerely
Jenny Ng
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

rome
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

we stayed at the bonaparte hotel 28dec 2013 to 1 jan 2014 , we were a family group and booked 4 rooms. the hotel is tiny with a tiny entrance , most taxi drivers dont know this hotel, but the location is excellent just one block form Ties Sqaure and the wet market of Wanchai district . closest subway is Causeway bay at Times Square . the hotel is a "cool" design led boutique hotel
but all in diminutive . the breakfast room was the size of a room basically , and the rooms themselves were tiny. But I have to say that they were very cleverly designed , everything was there , all you need in a nice hotel room was there . The rates were affordable considering HKG hotels can be quite expensive . If you want a nice hotel and don't mind not having much space , this is a good option .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francomara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Y, Manager at Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete our Guest Comment card during your recent stay at Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus. We are happy to read the highlights as it illustrates uniqueness of our hotel which we always strive for our customers.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus.

Yours sincerely
Jenny Ng
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Not a hotel – hardly Sardines can

220$ per night for 18 m2

Don’t bring a suitcase with you; you will not be able to open it

Don’t think to have breakfast, unless you want to feel in a submarine

Ah, if you want to call reception, forget it, there is no phone in the room

Don’t think of a shower, it is a joke, open shower to the room ,,,,,,,,,,

Room Tip: don't do it ,,,,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amichai B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Y, Manager at Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with us.

We understand your concern of our room size and facilities which does not meet with your expectation. We always believe providing the facility is only part of it to meet the guest’s requirement. But how Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus could provide more value to you is “SERVICE” by OUR PEOPLE and to exceed your expectation. Only your constructive comments will allow us to improve.

We sincerely hope this experience does not impair your trust in Rhombus hotels and hope we will have the pleasure in welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Jenny Ng
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Istayed here for two nights and with the location saved me a lot of hassle, service was great, no wifi (they have internetcable in room,incidentally didn't bring my computer that has a plugin) in rooms but has a coffee room on the 3rd floor which is nice. They actually give you a cell phone for calls in hong kong which is another added bonus. If you have trouble finding it it's right beside the "Nan Yang hotel" South pacific hotel. In this area it's a really decent price.

Room Tip: Rooms don't waste space! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maixiaolong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Y, Manager at Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment with us. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve the quality of our products and services to better meet the needs of our guests.

We thank you for your continued support and hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Jenny Ng
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
#460 of 718 in Hong Kong
406 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
9 Boutique Hotel
9 Boutique Hotel
#452 of 718 in Hong Kong
127 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#184 of 718 in Hong Kong
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mingle Place By The Park
Mingle Place By The Park
#464 of 718 in Hong Kong
128 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Wifi Hotel
Wifi Hotel
#209 of 718 in Hong Kong
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus

Property: Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Address: No.11 Morrison Hill Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #508 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus is a micro boutique hotel with an intuitive sense of Cosiness, Comfort & Care. Centrally located between Causeway Bay and Wanchai, it is steps away from the city's major shopping areas including Times Square & SOGO, the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and financial district. A choice of modern Business, Premium, Deluxe Premium and Executive guestrooms await to pamper visitors. All guestrooms feature superb city views, a mini-bar, a large screen LED TV and are equipped with complimentary handy smartphone with unlimited local & international calls, and unlimited mobile internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonaparte By Rhombus Hotel
Hotel Bonaparte By Rhombus Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing