We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious but at a price”
Review of W Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Hong Kong
Ranked #8 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 23 November 2012

W Hong Kong is luxurious, trendy, modern, spotless clean hotel in a very quiet location and with spacious rooms. Even though it may be difficult to explore much by foot from this hotel, it is located on the Kowloon side in a much quieter part which was terrific for me because I was looking for that. If you are looking to be closer to shopping /dining options at Tsim Sha Shui, be prepared to factor some travel time from the hotel by train/car. The W did offer complimentary shuttle service (one way) to Nathan Road from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. so you could easily travel to the more visited parts of Kowloon in spite of the hotel’s location. On the downside, concierge staff on 6th floor often looked anxious to move on and help the next customer. The hotel may have been at full occupancy when I visited and I did notice a few wedding guests which may explain this ‘hurrying’ attitude and long line up at times at the 6th floor welcome desk. However, given the amount I paid for a W Hong Kong hotel room and the service charge that is levied, attention to customer service and sufficient staffing could use some improvements. No free WIFI in your room unless there is an extra charge and/or special room rate and/or certain level of SPG membership may be typical for Hong Kong standards but I have stayed at other 4 or 5 star hotels in Asia, often without any type of membership and have never experienced free WIFI not already being already included in the room at the room rate paid. Overall, I would still highly recommend the W but if you are travelling for business wherein WIFI in your room is important, either make sure it’s included in your room price or check the exact cost of adding it in so you can factor in all the extra costs of your stay besides the room price.

Room Tip: Free WIFI may not be available in all rooms. Make sure you check before booking the cost of WIFI if...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnTheRoadRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Hello OnTheRoadRun. Thank you for your comments. I will be following up with your comments relating to our 6/F Concierge team seeming to be hurried in their dealings. You are absolutely right in saying that guests at W Hong Kong have a right to expect the undivided attention of our talent, and not to have the impression we don’t have enough time to satisfy their needs. I appreciate the feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Hong Kong. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,931)
There are newer reviews for W Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,450 - 2,456 of 3,934 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

Probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at! Excellent service, stunning breakfast, classy modern interiour. Just like all the other guests here on tripadvisor I also loved it. The only point is the location: it is on top of the Elements mall, which also includes a subway station, but outside huge construction works are happening. So if you want to visit anything closeby you'll need a taxi, even for the shortest of distances. But me ... I'll head back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Hello H D, and thanks for the compliments in your Tripadvisor review. We look forward to having you back again when you next visit Hong Kong. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stayed here for one night on business in October. It's location is excellent as the airport train station is part of the same building complex. To make it better, you can actually check your luggage before getting on the train when heading back to the airport. Great rooms, helpful staff, good views. Make sure to visit the Ritz lounge next door. It is 118 stories up.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Hello Marc W, and thanks for your comments on the hotel. I have shared with the team here and they are pleased to know you found their service to be helpful. Warm wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Memorable hotel, with the signature W Hotel quirky/funky style. The breakfast buffet is a highlight of the totally spectacular menu at Kitchen. The rooms are quiet and well appointed, and mine had a good view, but the Ritz Carlton directly in front of the hotel obscures the best view of the harbour. The high-rise infinity pool (on the 76th floor, if I recall correctly) is a highlight, but the wind was so strong while I was there, the pool deck wasn't a pleasant place to be at any time of day. Finally, the location is not great - directly above Kowloon Station, sure, but a fairly long trek to Nathan Road and Kowloon proper. It's bound in by highways on one side and construction on the other, so the only place to walk is in the high-end, high-price shopping mall below. Overall, a great stay - would happily stay again, but this hotel has its limitations

Room Tip: Don't expect to see much of the harbour from the hotel - some of the rooms have great views, but...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Hello tarekparera. We appreciate your frank feedback. I was pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel, in particular the breakfast offerings at Kitchen restaurant. While our location is convenient via public or private transportation to any part of the city, it is currently true that the location has limitations for exploration by foot. Though it has been well disguised and the construction is not obvious, the trek to Nathan Road goes directly past the site of the new high speed rail station to China, so as the areas develops it will become even more convenient for pedestrians. The hotel is also located nearby the future HK$21.6 billion West Kowloon Cultural District which will feature a new museum of visual culture, numerous theatres, concert halls and other performance venues. In the meantime, guests who wish to walk should know that the Elements shopping mall below the hotel houses some of the best shopping in Hong Kong, along with a movie cinema, ice-skating rink, bookshops, beauty salons, cafes and more. We hope to have you back soon to see the evolution of W Hong Kong. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

One of the best in Hong Kong. Great staff. Location couldn't be better, walk to Kowloon station. Check out the Ozone Bar next door at the Ritz. 118 floors up! The mall is just off the 1st floor. The only downside I could find was thr Ritz Carlton blocks the sun to the pool for 90 each day.

Room Tip: Take a "Cool Corner Room"
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Hello porschett, and thanks for the great review of W Hong Kong! Glad to know you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back again soon. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I've stayed at the W Hong Kong 10+ times - and I just love it! The design, the smell, the bar, the rooms, the service and - especially - the outdoor infinity-pool and -whirlpool at the 76th floor. I also like the location at the Elements shopping mall because you've got everything you need right at hand, a 7-Eleven for buying drinks & SIM Card, a very good hair dresser, many restaurants (of which Lei Garden should be named for Dim-Sum) and all the shops you need, from Hermes to Dolce &Gabbana.

The W staff is always very friendly and helpful & the rooms are just stunning. This time we had a Wonderful Suite which is approx 800 sft, with view towards Hong Kong island. What can I say, the rooms are WOW, stylish, super, the bed just fantastic...

I tried others, such as the Grand Hyatt, the Mandarin Oriental etc. But W is by far the best in Hong Kong, maybe even the best in the region.

TIP: skip the very expensive breakfast (not even free for SPG Platinum members), go to the Elements mall and have something there, if possible Dim-Sum at Lei Garden (from 11:30, reservation required).

Room Tip: A Corner- or Wonderful Suite
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Hello HONkiev and thank you very much for your informative review of W Hong Kong. I was really pleased to hear that you rate the hotel as best in class in the region, and I will be sharing this with all hotel talent to encourage them in their efforts to continuously improve our service levels. These kind of comments make a huge difference to the team, so thanks very much for sharing. Regarding breakfast, I would like to apologize if you had not been informed upon checkin that SPG Platinum members are offered a choice of several benefits upon arrival, and one of these options is a complimentary breakfast. Also, further to your comments on dim sum options for breakfast, I should share that our Chinese restaurant Sing Yin on the ground floor of the hotel offers all-you-can-eat dim sum from 9:30am-11am on Saturdays, Sundays and Public holidays at $175. We have rave reviews about this offering so please give us a try on your next visit! Hope to have you back again soon at W Hong Kong. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed here for 8 days during our visit to hong kong. Its a lovely hotel, very trendy design. We had a beautiful suite overlooking the harbour. The bathtub was next to a large window with harbour view...very luxurious. The heated swimming pool is on the 76th floor with glass around it so as to maximize the breathtaki g views of the hong kong skyline and harbour. Nice!
The hotel is ideally located since the mall and kowloon MTR station are just below he hotel. The airport express comes directly to kowloon station, thats very convenient. Breakfast was excellant with very wide choice.
All that luxury does come at a hefty pricetag though! But at least you get super luxury and quality and service for the price! Would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting hong kong

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogo0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Hello Gogo0811. Fabulous to know you enjoyed staying in the lap of luxury – W style. We always appreciate feedback and are continually looking for ways to elevate the our guests experience. Please come again soon. Thank you and warm wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 721 in Hong Kong
5,934 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 721 in Hong Kong
4,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,734 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#12 of 721 in Hong Kong
6,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon Station, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £232 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Hong Kong is innovatively designed with 393 deluxe rooms and suites, cutting edge business facilities and function space, superior recreation facilities, award winning bliss spa and high-profile “W happenings”, all of which make it the traveler’s top choice. With the opening of Sing Yin Cantonese Dining, the reputation of W Hong Kong is further cemented with the surely avant-garde offering to the Chinese art of gastronomy in Hong Kong. Together with the launch of WOOBAR, the place to see and be seen, get ready for a nonstop entertainment spree in the vibrant and energetic setting of WOOBAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your W Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
w Hotels Hong Kong
w Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing