We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CAPITAL 'W'”
Review of W Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Hong Kong
Ranked #8 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel many times since its opened. The hospitality of the hotel is first class, such to the extent the hotel will organise items I have requested prior to my arrival. The breakfasts are fantastic and definitely worth waiting for. On this visit I did have a couple of hiccups in the dining room but these got sorted smartly. The beds are so comfortable and with double blinds, you won't get disturbed by any sunlight. The added bonus being above the Kowloon station airport check-in you can check-in and then still came back to your room. Enjoyed the experience again.

Room Tip: Enjoy the hotel for as long as u can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Hello thesmdm, thank you so much for your review and for your support all these years! I really appreciate you taking time to write a review. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,228 - 2,234 of 4,072 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

The W is a minute away from the Kowloon airport check-in - nothing can beat this convenience. Also, the surrounding mall is a good place to do some mid range shopping.

That aside, the hotel decor itself is very energizing. Every time you step into the lobby you feel pumped up by the bright colours and the upbeat music. Rooms are really well designed - as many have mentioned - everything is only a button away. No complicated consoles to fiddle with.

The views from the ocean facing rooms are fabulous and lovely to wake and and go to sleep to!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pastah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Hello Pastah, great to know you loved the energy our music created. Your description “chic and quirky with a killer location” is such a fitting description of our hotel! Thanks again for your support! Thanks for your review. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Ive stayed here three times over the last four years and I really enjoy it…but it is a bit off the beaten path and there is ALWAYS construction in this area, as it is all being developed. The Airport Express stops directly under the hotel, which is a huge plus. Rooms are generally spacious, many views are good (although a 100-story building next door obscures views of Victoria harbor). I walk most everywhere but there are 2 subway stops close by and it is only a 20-minute walk to the pier to catch Star Ferry to HK. Many tourists want to be in center of HK but this location works well for me….some of the standard downsides of a W (tries a little too hard to be hip) but in general for me this is a great spot. Also excellent gym and great outdoor pool area on 73rd floor, weather permitting.

Room Tip: Get on a high floor facing the harbor….views partially obstructed by some nearby buildings but still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Hello Kevin527, thanks you for your review. Yes, West Kowloon, is being developed into Hong Kong’s primary cultural district which will include a high speed rail station to China directly adjacent to the hotel complex. This location, while already convenient, is rapidly improving and I’m glad it proved convenient to you during your stay. We train our talent to be warm and friendly and consciously let the music and design of the hotel work their magic alone, so I’ve taken note of your comments regarding our talent “trying too hard to be hip” and will be wary of this going forward. Great to know you enjoyed our recreational facilities. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The second W I had stayed in. Got a suite, believed to be the Marvellous Suite at corner.

Generally, W uses not so expensive furnishing but cleverly designed lightings to evoke a certain mood among their hotels. People whom had stayed at many different hotels/hotel brands will know that. It certainly appeal to certain market.

The Good
- Location in Elements with links to Airport Express and Train Station.
- Access to restaurants and shops within Elements without the need to get out.
- Bliss amenities, not posh but refreshing.
- The spa with big jacuzzi overlooking the harbour.

The Not So Good
- Location, not the hotel problem but with the price paid, I rather get a hotel in Hong Kong Island.
- Service is ok, but nothing fantastic.

Will I come back? Maybe I will if there are good deals

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JevJev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hello JevJev, thanks for your comments and observations and I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in general. We are always looking for ways to improve our service so any more detail you could provide would be much appreciated (via email to me at w.hk@whotels.com). Thanks again for taking the time to write and I look forward to hearing from you. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed at the W for 3 nights in November on business. I usually have trouble sleeping in new hotel/rooms but I slept very well at the W. There is something about the beds here; and I am not the the only person that has commented on how sleep inducing the beds are. W is right above the Kowloon stop on the Airport Express and also the Kowloon station on the MTR. Door to door to meeting at IFC (1 stop away on MTR) was about 20~25 minutes during morning peak hours.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FullRatchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hello FullRatchet, thanks so much for your review. Fabulous to know you had such a sound sleep with us! We to see you again soon. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

very nice, trendy and tasteful hotel, good view to HK island.
rooms also very nice but not too big
metro just beside hotel together with an elegant shopping mall worth to visit that includes a "pret a manger" 50 m away from the entrance of the hotel!!
very good and professional service

Room Tip: There is one side of rooms with views to Hong Kong Island and other side with views to the see...muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silviabcn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hello silviabcn11, thank you for your review and amazing comments. It’s particularly pleasing to hear the hotel described as “nice, trendy and tasteful”, that’s exactly what we try to be! Thanks again for taking the time to write. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here two nights on business. Room is very nice, amenities are nice. However, service disappoints in comparison to peer hotels. Example, at breakfast, I had to ask for coffee 3 times while witnessing other guests coming to breakfast much later than me being tended to. The third time, I was told there is a coffee canister on my table. I told them it was cold and left over by the previous guest. I also was offended when clearly westerners were served first and Asian looking guests like me had to wait. This is clear discrimination. Another occasion I was in an elevator and a tall young boy donning W uniform entered. He did not acknowledge a hotel guest, did not show any courtesy, talked on his cell phone in Cantonese loudly. When exiting the elevator, he did not yield to a hotel guest in complete disregard. This reflects a lack of training especially at a branded hotel such as W. I'd think twice about staying here next time I'm in this neighborhood.

Room Tip: Get a harbour facing room if you can. View is rather nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CekayFarnsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Hello Tony3429, I am very sorry you had this impression when staying with us. I don’t believe this approach is part of our culture in general but will be watching very closely for any signs of it further to reading your review. That on of our talent did not greet you in the lift and spoke on his mobile phone is a clear breach of protocol and we are stepping up related training and supervision accordingly. Thank you for your feedback. Sincerely, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,224 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,700 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,201 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 730 in Hong Kong
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon Station, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £232 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Hong Kong is innovatively designed with 393 deluxe rooms and suites, cutting edge business facilities and function space, superior recreation facilities, award winning bliss spa and high-profile “W happenings”, all of which make it the traveler’s top choice. With the opening of Sing Yin Cantonese Dining, the reputation of W Hong Kong is further cemented with the surely avant-garde offering to the Chinese art of gastronomy in Hong Kong. Together with the launch of WOOBAR, the place to see and be seen, get ready for a nonstop entertainment spree in the vibrant and energetic setting of WOOBAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your W Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
w Hotels Hong Kong
w Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing