We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Christmas Eve Experience in this 5 Start Hotel”
Review of W Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Hong Kong
Ranked #9 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible Christmas Eve Experience in this 5 Start Hotel”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Last night was the most terrible Christmas eve we had ever had in our life!!!

All this was ruined by this so call Five-Start-Ranked hotel. Our families of four flew from New Zealand to spend a three days Christmas stay in HongKong. After one o'clock on the Christmas Eve, we were woke by heavy partying noise from our next door hotel room 3711. Approximately 20-30 pp screaming and yelling there. After 8-9 calls to the hotel manager in the following 2-3 hours, we were told our only option was to move to another hotel room ( eventually found out its a downgrade one with no sea view ). At 3am, me and my hubby have to carry two of our fully sleep children to shift to another room.

Not sure what's the solution for this kind of thing next time and what's our hotel guest right against this and the proper compensation.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Gigi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Gigi C. Please accept my sincere apologies for your very frustrating Christmas eve experience at W Hong Kong. I agree you have every right to expect a lot more when reserving any 5 star hotel, and at the very least a peaceful night’s sleep for yourself and your family. I would like to make this up to you and as we do not have your email address on file I hope you could email me on ww.hk@whotels.com so I could outline what we propose to offer by way of compensation. Further to your comments I am now drafting measures to ensure guest parties can no longer cause such disturbance to others in future. These will be implemented very quickly. My sincere apologies again and I look forward to hearing from you soon. Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,923
    679
    112
    44
    24
See reviews for
527
1,034
293
1,191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This is my forth stay at the W hotel and i had another great stay. W hotels are a bit different from the normal hotel, but this hotel grows on you the more you stay here.
The rooms a great, the staff are attentive and welcoming and the Kitchen buffet restaurant is a great place to eat with a good variety of food and good service.
The location is good being right on the airport express train line, and also next door to the Elements shopping mall. If you are here for a tourist trip the hotel might not be in the most convenient location, but it is not far from everything and you will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemango007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Hello bluemanga007, thanks for your support and review! We’re thrilled to hear that you found everything to your liking at the hotel and that’s definitely an terrific encouragement for us. Thanks again and hope to see soon! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Probably my favorite W worldwide - the design of the hotel and everything in the rooms are impeccable! The staff are incredibly helpful and easy going. Breakfast at The Kitchen is very well done - lots of choice and quite tasty.

The Kowloon location is a bit unfortunate (the fact that it's in Kowloon to begin with - and not near the ferry), but the mall next door is quite nice and is one metro stop and a 10 minute walk away from Central.

Only real complaint is that the wifi system limits the number devices you can use. There were two of us traveling, and after having used our phones and tablets It wouldn't let me use my laptop. Given the # of gadgets young tech-enthused people are using in 2013 it's a bit of a silly policy, as it only serves to frustrate guests, incur cost to the hotel in tech support calls (and negative tripadvisor comments!), and doesn't actually save the hotel any $$$! C'mon W, show your IT systems a little design love too :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Hello Adam H, thanks so much for your review and support! It’s such an honor to be named your favorite W hotel! With regards to wifi access, earlier this year we increased the access per guest room to 4, and now based on your feedback we have increased it once again. From today we will allow up to six devices to access wifi per room. Thank you very much for the feedback and please share the news with your “tech-enthused” friends. Hope to see you again very soon! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Everything that i expected and more!!!! pool on the 70'something floor is amazing, modern rooms, exceptional food amazing views of the Hong Kong Skyline!!!! attentive staff, they'll go the extra mile to fulfill your requests!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Hello Gustavo B, thank you a lot for your review! It’s very uplifting to know what an exceptional time you had at W Hong Kong! I’m particularly proud that my team went above and beyond to satisfy your requests. Thanks again for letting me know and for choosing to stay with us. Come visit us again! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed with hotel for 3 days, I was very much excited to stay with World Class hotel. Rooms were lovely with best view and interiors, even Interiors of Lobby was world class.

Please dont be surprised with Check In time is 3pm and Check Out time is 12 pm, it was informed by the staff.

Hotel itself is excellent and it is connected with Ritz which has good Shopping stores and restaurants to look at.

But hotel is not connected with City, so if you wish to visit some place it will be either by Taxi or Train.

Room Tip: I would suggest to consider this hotel only if you love to relax and enjoy property of Hotel instead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jigs551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Hello Jigs551, thanks so much for all your wonderful comments and recommendations to other readers! While our hotel may not be right at the heart of the city, most guest feedback is that we offer convenience as we’re very well-connected with fast transportation options to most parts of the city including taxi, train, shuttle bus and airport express. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
470 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Very good location to get around HK. Wonderful views of the harbour. Staff attentive and overall very strong. Meeting facilities also good - average catering however. Breakfast was top, top quality and the bar area was also very fun. Nice gym and workout center. Would definitely go back and stands up with other W hotels

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike54BU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Hello Mike C, great to hear that you were happy with most aspects of your stay! I am very interested in learning more about how we could have done better with the catering so if you could drop my an email to w.hk@whotels.com with more detail I will ensure the related aspects are addressed for improvement. Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
288 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay at W Hotel which is next to where our conference was held (ICC building / Ritz Carlton). It was a good choice as the W in Hong Kong didn't disappoint. Rooms are nice and spacious and modern in design. Wifi was good and fast and breakfast was good with a nice selection of western and Asian food.

W Hotel is located next to ICC building which is the tallest building in Kowloon. There are lots of high end shops at the ICC and this would be the newer area within Kowloon.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JoeCool_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hello JoeCool_KL, thanks so much for choosing us and writing this amazing review! Great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,635 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,568 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,302 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hong Kong

Property: W Hong Kong
Address: No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon Station, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Hong Kong is innovatively designed with 393 deluxe rooms and suites, cutting edge business facilities and function space, superior recreation facilities, award winning bliss spa and high-profile “W happenings”, all of which make it the traveler’s top choice. With the opening of Sing Yin Cantonese Dining, the reputation of W Hong Kong is further cemented with the surely avant-garde offering to the Chinese art of gastronomy in Hong Kong. Together with the launch of WOOBAR, the place to see and be seen, get ready for a nonstop entertainment spree in the vibrant and energetic setting of WOOBAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
w Hotels Hong Kong
w Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing