We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel bad location”
Review of W Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel bad location”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed in terms of decor and facility. However, the location is just not too convenient as going to other places in HK will require either long transits on MTR or just taxi. The other thing I want to be picky about is the cleanliness of the in room service menu. The Chinese pages on this menu was very dirty and you can see food stain all over. I am a little bit surprised that this small detail wasn't taken care of as there are many Chinese guests in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperHyperJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hello SuperHyperJason, thank you for taking the time to write us this review. I’m sorry that you didn’t find our location convenient. I was appalled to read of the status of the Chinese pages on your room’s in-room dining menu. It’s definitely unacceptable and I am confident this is an exception. As we cannot know which room you stayed in, I have asked our team to check the menus in more detail than usual for all rooms while they are being cleaned over the coming days. Thanks again for staying with us and hope we might see you again at W Hong Kong. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,958
    681
    113
    44
    25
See reviews for
531
1,049
294
1,199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
KL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Exceptionally the best!! Stayed there on a Christmeas week last year, and is my first stay at W Hong Kong and I'm in love.
Loved the room ( it is so spacious ), loved looking at the view every morning from my room window ( btw, I stayed at the 28th floor and facing the habour - feel so blessed ), the staff is friendly and helpful, room is clean, and the bed is heavenly comfortable
The hotel is convienently located at Kowloon Station and easily accessable thru the shopping mall, Elements, where you could spend the whole day shopping if you hate the crowds at Tsim Tsa Tsui and Causeway Bay.
Definately will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room with harbour view. Splendid
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melodychichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hello Melodychichi. Love is a powerful emotion and we’re delighted to be the object of yours! Thanks for your review and hope to see you again soon at W Hong Kong! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stay at the W a lot.. but last week they were... just fabulous. I ran into a "visa" issue for a trip to china a day later. On a sunday evening, Concierge Carol Lee took the time to understand the complexity of the issue and found someone to help on a sunday evening (it is HK ;-) and then the rest of the concierge team (Yan Kwan) helped until with minutes to spare, they walked down to the airport express station to see me on my way. thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hello queenwestfan, thank you so much for letting us know what a great job Carol and Yan did for you! It is part of our culture to go the extra step and it seems many of the team are making efforts to do so. Rest assured they will be recognized for this and thank you very much for providing me the information with which to do so. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The W Hotel Hong Kong is truly the epitome of best in class service. When travelling over 14 hours - to be greeted at the airport, driver waiting and everyone knows my name once I arrive (with no need to check-in, I was simply escorted to my room) - this is the best greeting one could ask for.

This is also the cleanest hotel I have stayed at with only possible exception being W Hotel South Beach. Every single attention to detail is paid and I feel cared about by the W Hotel team. The food is delicious and it's the hippest hotel in HK! ;)

Thank you W Hotel team, I'll be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenwestfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Hello Queenwestfan. There’s nothing more rewarding than to hear what a fantastic stay you had with us, and apart from service levels, we recognize that many guests choose a hotel based on their perception of its’ cleanliness, so really good to know we fared well in this regard. Please do come back soon! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elche, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This hotel IS amazing since THE first moment YOU come in
OF YOU like music modernity and technology this is your place
Views are WONDERFUL and only THE HIGH price will make
YOU consider It
THE break fast IS wonderful and THE music in THE Lounge Great

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josemigioseppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Hello josemigioseppo, thanks for your great comments! We’re very proud to be viewed as so fashionable and high-tech! Thank you so much for your kind words! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I was really impressed with this hotel. Having previously stayed at a W hotel in the USA and being completely underwhelmed by the brand/concept I have to say my experience at this hotel completely changed my opinion. I must admit I was unsure of the location of this hotel as it isn’t really in walking distance of Nathan Road which many consider to be the heart of Kowloon, but having now stayed there I didn’t think the location was a problem at all. We flew in for 4 nights over Easter 2013 and the good thing about this location is you can literally get a train directly from the airport to the hotel itself, I think when we landed I was through passport control and in my room within 1 hour! From memory if your checking in luggage I think you may be able to check it in straight from the train station at the hotel before getting the train to the airport! Location wise it is true you are not really in walking distance to anything BUT you are only a short inexpensive taxi ride from most places in Kowloon or Hong Kong island or you have many MTR lines going through West Kowloon station which is right underneath the lobby of the hotel. Another important point to make is the hotel is connected to a fantastic shopping mall called “The Elements” shopping mall, this had a huge variety of shops, restaurants etc.

The room was quite big and in my opinion and was really well laid out. I love the concept of being able to have the bathroom completely open or having the option to make it completely separate just by sliding two doors across. The bathroom itself was really nicely finished in slate tiles and was quite spacious. The rest of the room felt quite big and had a really comfortable king sized bed. Other features of the hotel that stood out were the pool area – it had a fantastic view over Hong Kong island and if the weather had of been better while we were there I’m sure we would have used it more. We had drinks in the Woo Bar on a couple of the evenings and although it has a nice atmosphere the service could have been better. We ate at the hotel only once on Easter Sunday and I have to say the Brunch Buffet was amazing, one of the best buffets I have ever seen or been to. This hotel in my opinion was good value for money, it was considerably less expensive than most of the other 5 star hotels in Hong Kong over the 4 days we visited. The hotel really does in my opinion have a bit of a “boutique” feel about it and I felt that the service was much better than the W hotels in the USA.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trent1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Hello trent1979, thank you for your very comprehensive review and for all your positive comments! We have also noted your observation regarding service at WOOBAR and will be working on this. Thanks so much for taking the time to write. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
1,901 reviews
333 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 689 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is my 1st time at W HK and i've stayed at the other Ws in singapore, Turkey, US and Korea. A convenient base indeed, and it sits above the Kowloon station so it's just a quick train ride away from the airport. At the Kowloon station, one has to stroll through the posh Elements mall to get to the W, but it's a comfortable walk as long as you can wheel your luggage easily. Also, it's away from the crazy crowded districts like Jordan, Wan Chai, TST, Causeway Bay etc so you feel a little distance from the hordes, yet near enough to get where you want by taxi or train

1 of those new hotels now that the ground floor only has the conceirge and taxi drop-off, you go up to the 6th floor for check-in and main lobby. Got a habour view for my room and that was nice. The room, like all Ws, is beautiful with all the modern amenities - electronic shades/curtains, hi-tech phone, shower stall etc. What makes this W even more unique than the rest is their attention to design detail - they designed the doorbell to be embedded in a book, the lift buttons are also embedded in a book etc. Certainly trying to surpass their sibling hotels. However, the colours are more subdued than the typical W, mine was in modern greys and biege, unlike the psychedelic bright colours you see in other W hotels

Went to the gym and pool, which is situated on the 70+ floors. The rooms stop at 40+ floors and i think they have offices in between? Anyway, the pool is beautiful, but small. And it's a little chilly to be swimming on the 70+ floor in january. It's not as over the top as the marina bay sands swimming pool, no pun intended. The gym is also smallish, but they have everything you need

Went to their cantonese restaurant Sing Yin and it doesn't quite match up to the 5 star expectations in terms of food, wrote a seperate review

Definitely an excellent hotel if you're looking to be in kowloon, and although more expensive than the good Indigo on hongkong island, the W is cheaper than the overpriced Conrad, JW Marriott and Intercontinental. Looking forward to returning next month

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Ouch. Sorry to make you ache bcheong, but great to know you enjoyed your first stay with us and we’re thrilled to know you loved our design! As for your experience at Sing Yin, we will definitely follow up with what you have written and make your next stay with us even better! Thanks again for coming and we look forward to your return too! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,723 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,619 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,387 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hong Kong

Property: W Hong Kong
Address: No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon Station, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Hong Kong is innovatively designed with 393 deluxe rooms and suites, cutting edge business facilities and function space, superior recreation facilities, award winning bliss spa and high-profile “W happenings”, all of which make it the traveler’s top choice. With the opening of Sing Yin Cantonese Dining, the reputation of W Hong Kong is further cemented with the surely avant-garde offering to the Chinese art of gastronomy in Hong Kong. Together with the launch of WOOBAR, the place to see and be seen, get ready for a nonstop entertainment spree in the vibrant and energetic setting of WOOBAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
w Hotels Hong Kong
w Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing