We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Style, Fair Substance”
Review of W Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Hong Kong
Ranked #8 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I recently completed a two night stay at the W Hong Kong and stayed in a fabulous room overlooking Victoria Harbor. As expected, the room is sleekly decorated in metallic and earth tones. Of special note is the bathroom fixtures with a rainfall shower and separate bathtub complete with television. More importantly, the plush bed and pillows help make a fantastic night of sleep.

The morning breakfast buffet served in The Kitchen has an expansive spread of pastries, Western, and Asian foods. Traveling around southeast Asia, where such breakfast options are common, this one at the W Hong Kong certainly stands out as one of the best. On a similar note, room service was prompt, tasty, and (surprisingly) not exorbitantly priced.

The front desk staff was efficient providing a swift check-in and check-out and was helpful in providing directions either by taxi or MTR. Albeit friendly, I felt the staff in general lacked a sense of warmth and finesse I would expect at this price point. By no means is this a negative point; rather, it's the missing link in a hotel with great a facility and product.

Overall, the W Hong Kong is a very good hotel that I would come back to on a return visit to Hong Kong. It's a great place to simultaneously indulge in and retreat from all that Hong Kong has to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keanech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hello Keane N, thank you very much for taking the time to write us this review. It is fabulous to know you enjoyed all our facilities and dining options! I appreciate you sharing your observation regarding the lack of warmth and finesse – this is an area we pride ourselves on, so we will work harder to provide this consistently. Thanks again. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,136 - 2,142 of 4,118 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

I love this hotel for so many reasons, but most of all the staff at the W Hong Kong is amazing. They are knowledgable, friendly and quick to take care of any special requests. Francis, Sammy and Maggy make it feel like I have come home, each time I arrive at the W. Even the bellmen greet you with a huge smile. To top it all off, it is the most comfortable bed of any hotel I have stayed in ( and I spend over 70 nights a year in hotels). The location has easy access to the airport, MTR, and a 5 minute taxi ride to Nathan Road or the Star Ferry. The hotel also has one of the nicest breakfast buffets in Asia.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Hello Tina B, thank you so much for your comments! I’m so thrilled and proud to know my wonderful colleagues Francis, Sammy and Maggie, gave you such an amazing stay! It’s great that you enjoyed our bed, and incase you ever considered purchasing one for your everyday use, you can find it at W The Store online http://www.whotelsthestore.com! Thanks again for choosing us and for your support! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Oh my god!!!

Everything is perfect about this hotel! I would love to live there!

The staff are amazing, the gym is awesome, the room is spectacular!!

It's a trendy place close to everything!

The view is amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeMontreal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hello MikeMontreal2014, thank you so much for your great compliment! So fabulous to know you enjoyed the hotel so much. Please come visit again soon! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed in a Fabulous room at the W Hong Kong for a two night stopover. Everything about this hotel is excellent from the customer service, to the rooms, to the spa, to the food, to the view, to the location.
The staff are very attentive and are willing to help in any way that you need. Check-in and check-out was smooth and quick.
The room was absolutely lovely with a super firm comfortable bed and a great view of the harbor. There was a nice big bathtub (with a tv), a super rain shower (best water pressure i've ever had), and a double sink in the bathroom. All of the necessary toiletries from bliss were there and restocked each day. A number of complementary water bottles were also restocked daily.
Different mood-lighting options were also available for the room.
Room service was delivered promptly and was tasty and made exactly to order.
Breakfast at Kitchen restaurant is amazing with pretty much every single type of western and asian breakfast food that you would want!
Afternoon tea at Woo Bar is also to be recommended, with endless tea and a great selection of bites to eat.
If you have extra time and want to be pampered, pop up to the bliss spa for a pedicure (or other treatment) with a view!

We will certainly return to the W next time we are in Hong Kong!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gg-kfirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Hello gg-kfirina, great to hear you had a fabulous W experience and I am particularly happy to hear positive feedback on the service elements of your review! Thanks for taking the time to write! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

There are times when you know people care about the customer. I was recently in Hong Kong on my way back from Paris. When I arrived and checked in the front counter staff even wished me a belated Happy Birthday as they knew I was in the air during my birthday. Upgraded to a higher level room and then during the day a small birthday cake was left in the room. Its instances like this that encourage people to support one brand over another.

The W Hong Kong is my ONLY place to stay when travelling there. Well done staff.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing out over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NedDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Hello KiwiNedNZ, thank you so much for sharing your appreciation of the team. It’s wonderful to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sharing your appreciation with the team. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Awesome rooms, cool pool deck, and super friendly staff. Definitely oriented towards a trendy crowd, with appropriate music playing throughout the hotel. This is the place to be if you're young and beautiful, or want to feel that way. :) Also the room service is amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hello Erik1126. We’re thrilled to know what a memorable and enjoyable stay you had! Can’t wait to see you again! Meantime stay young, stay beautiful! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great place to stay. Staff was very nice. Room service was world class. The location of the hotel is strategic. Very convenient for business travellers. Link to airport express is cool. Overall a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iamshaokahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hello lamshaokahn, thanks for your review and it’s our pleasure to have you with us! I am glad everything met your expectations. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 729 in Hong Kong
6,323 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 729 in Hong Kong
4,244 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,764 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 729 in Hong Kong
2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon Station, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £221 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Hong Kong is innovatively designed with 393 deluxe rooms and suites, cutting edge business facilities and function space, superior recreation facilities, award winning bliss spa and high-profile “W happenings”, all of which make it the traveler’s top choice. With the opening of Sing Yin Cantonese Dining, the reputation of W Hong Kong is further cemented with the surely avant-garde offering to the Chinese art of gastronomy in Hong Kong. Together with the launch of WOOBAR, the place to see and be seen, get ready for a nonstop entertainment spree in the vibrant and energetic setting of WOOBAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your W Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
w Hotels Hong Kong
w Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing