We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient”
Review of W Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Hong Kong
Ranked #9 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
283 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

As long as you are willing to take the quick express train from Kowloon into the city, this is very convenient. Extremely fast trip to the airport, and you can also check into your flight from the subway station below the hotel.

The hotel itself is a classic modern "W". Everything is sleek, metal, glass, and funky. Room service was quick and the omelette I ordered was very tasty. Rooms are pretty new and very clean.

The only downside is that unless you like shopping in an underground mall, there is basically NOTHING to do outside the hotel. It is a wasteland of construction sites and busy streets.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shantap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hello Shantap, thank you for your review. Great to hear that you find our location convenient and the service to be good. Yes, it is true that while conveniently located to just about any part of the city, it does take a short train or taxi ride to get pasts the developing area around us. The plans for this area are inspiring – with the West Kowloon Cultural District right next door to be up and running within a few years. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,922
    679
    112
    44
    24
See reviews for
527
1,034
293
1,190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Visited W Hong Kong in June 2009. The W Hong Kong is an extremely well maintained property, situated very conveniently near an MTR as well as a mall. Our suite was very spacious, with a fantastic bathroom and a great view from the living room. The bed was heavenly. The food was out of this world, my compliments to the chef. Planning another trip soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamayantiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hello DamayantiM, thanks for recognizing all the efforts we have taken to keep W Hong Kong looking like new over the past 5 years! It was great to get your feedback and very happy you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Exceptionally friendly front desk staff who provided accurate and useful dinning and loyalty programe details. Big and nice corner room with good quality amenity products in the bathroom. Trendy and modern decorations. Good location. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eco_extreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hello eco_extreme. Great to hear the team were knowledgeable and helpful, and that you liked the offerings at W Hong Kong. Thank you! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Great location! Located near a convenient train station and a mall. Many options for nearby dining. Hotel staff friendly. Train station had easy pre - check in for luggage to the airport making it super easy to take the train to the airport. We were departing the day of the marathon and didn't want to risk traffic and a cab. The train couldn't be easier from our hotel!
Hotel bathroom was divine with rainfall shower head and tv viewing from the big soaking tub.
Great views from the Wet bar and pool.
One of the best brunches I ever ate at! The selection was never ending and everything was delicious! I highly recommend it. Also take time for happy hour at the bar. Again, the staff was friendly & accommodating.
We always were able to get a taxi in a timely matter too.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyB710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hello BeckyB710, thanks so much for your review! It sounds as though you made the most of what we had to offer and I am especially glad to hear you found the team to be friendly and accommodating. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived the W team made us feel really welcome, the guys and girls at the check-in desk were courteous and professional, appreciating that we were all in HK for the first time and for a special occasion they upgraded our rooms, The rooms provided were on the 19th floor and had excellent views of the HK skyline. The in room facilities bed, bathroom and general room furnishings were excellent, my only regret was that I didn't have time to relax in the sumptuous bath and watch TV.
The inclusive breakfast offered excellent Options: fresh fruit, yogurts, pastries, Asian and Western cooked options v impressive.
The Woo bar is very impressive although doesn't have the same vibe as the NY or SF W hotels, one night they had a private function!
The roof top terrace pool and jacuzzi looked fab unfortunately the weather wasn't conducive.
All in All having checked out some of the other hotels in HK during our visit from what I saw I would have no hesitation in recommending the W, a big thanks to the W team for making our stay awesome .

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank watersl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hello watersl, we’re over the moon to know what a memorable stay you had with us. Do try out rooftop pool and jacuzzi on your next visit. It’s a much raved about experience! Thanks so much and hope to have you back soon! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
269 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I am a tough traveler as I travel 200+ days per year. I tend to settle into a groove and stay at the same places however this time, I changed from the Sheraton to the W and I am very happy that I did. This hotel is new and beautiful with a capable staff that go out of their way to help however they can.

The W is located attached/above the Elements shopping mall which means you have 40+ eating and drinking establishments right downstairs. There is even a supermarket to buy important things like Wine and snacks. The Airport express train comes in below the Elements mall so you basically pull into your hotel on the train....GREAT LOCATION. Nobody screaming "mister mister...want to buy a watch/suit"....I was Very thankful! ALSO keep in mind that this hotel is only a short train ride away from BOTH the Asia World Expo and HKG convention and exhibition center....about 30 minutes away from either by public transport and 15 by taxi to the convention center. FYI.

What stands out at this hotel is the amazing staff. They are friendly, courteous and try to help with whatever you need. They also really seem to mean it and are not just "going through the motions" like at other hotels. They also follow up to make sure that your questions/projects have been answered/handled to your satisfaction. My wakeup calls were all on time and came with a weather summary....i like that. The W insider was fabulous and Her and her team had restaurants chosen for us and recommendations all over HKG. We were in great hands and felt welcomed.

The room has the standard delicious W bed that you never want to get out of.....Electric black out blinds and Bliss toiletry products. Internet speeds were fine and maid service left my room quite clean every day. Clothes I had thrown on the floor and left were folded neatly and placed next to my luggage...quite spoiling. The room was quiet and I slept very very well here. They also had some free movie channels which were good when it rained one day.

Breakfast was a buffet of epic proportion....Hams, Salmon, Sushi, Dim Sum, Omelettes and bottomless Cappuccino's and Espresso's. Service was once again excellent and after the first day they called us by name and made us feel welcome each morning. What a way to start out the day.

I have a new favourite in HKG and it is the W. I look forward to a return visit sometime in the near future.

Safe travels wished to all!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hello NYCshopper, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. There’s nothing more rewarding to us than to know the service was what stood out the most here. I will be giving special recognition to our W Insider Charlie and the Welcome team as a result of your review. Thanks again for choosing us and we too look forward to having you here more regularly! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spotswood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Everything is fantastic- from the minute you walk in and are welcomed: check in, staff, the best breakfast buffet in Hong Kong, the rooms are sensational, the Bliss toiletries, the gym, the pool/hot tub......this is one of my favorite hotels in the world.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Q4971FBdianem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hello Diane M, it’s our honor to be one of your favorite hotels in the world! Thanks so much for staying with us and for sharing your W Hong Kong experience on Tripadvisor. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,633 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,568 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,302 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hong Kong

Property: W Hong Kong
Address: No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon Station, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Hong Kong is innovatively designed with 393 deluxe rooms and suites, cutting edge business facilities and function space, superior recreation facilities, award winning bliss spa and high-profile “W happenings”, all of which make it the traveler’s top choice. With the opening of Sing Yin Cantonese Dining, the reputation of W Hong Kong is further cemented with the surely avant-garde offering to the Chinese art of gastronomy in Hong Kong. Together with the launch of WOOBAR, the place to see and be seen, get ready for a nonstop entertainment spree in the vibrant and energetic setting of WOOBAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
w Hotels Hong Kong
w Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing