We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well what's a wow hotel!”
Review of W Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Hong Kong
Ranked #9 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 1 September 2010

W Hong Kong is one of my favorite hotel. I must admit that the hotel website pictures cannot impress me but once you are there and see the real hotel, it is totally different. My family falls in love with this hotel. The wow suite room is fabulous. You could feel like you are in New York at night time when you look out of the glass and see many high rise buildings 180 degree. The hotel location is very good, right next to the Kowloon station and the Element mall. The room is well designed to utilize the limited space. It is also cozy and clean. The services are excellent. Whatever you asked for, you would get within couple minutes.

we enjoyed the swimming pool and the jacuzzi pool on the 76th floor. You can relax and spend the day there enjoy the expensive view of Kowloon. The jacuzzi pool in the changing room is also nice and you can have privacy while sitting there,relaxing and enjoy the lovely view of Kowloon. Do not miss the spa at Bliss, it is worth to try.

The concierge was done the job exceeding my expectation. I never expect that they will provide a service to the Kowloon station but they did which could save our time to check in our luggage to the airport.

We love this hotel and will come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angiiiangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,080 - 3,086 of 4,007 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2010

The room was modern, comfortable, very clean, quiet and safe. Beautiful variety of food. Free bus to the Centre of Kowloon. Big Shopping Mall and Metro Station under the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrMrozek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel for five days and enjoyed everyday! The airport train has a stop at the Kowloon station that emerges in the Elements Mall attached to the Hotel. They even let you check bags at the airport train station when departing. The Kowloon station gives you access to everywhere.

The hotel staff was very friendly/helpful and most of them seemed to know our names by the end of the five days. The room was very modern and highttech. The remote controls located bedside controlled all the rooms lights and the window shades. The bathrooms were very trendy/user friendly and included a tv at the end of the tub. This was a favorite for our kids.

I highly recommend a nightime swim in the pool on the 76th floor. We left our camera in a taxi and the staff went above/beyond trying to track it down for us. Our loss was a painful lesson in the importance of daily backing up your photos.

I recommend a Star Ferry trip, the tram to Victoria's peak, the cable car to the Big Budda, the Scary bus ride to Stanley on the other side of Hong Kong (Bus 6X), and a day trip to Macau. I also recommend getting the Octupus card for each member of your party to make using the MTR and buses simple.

We hightly recommend the W Hong Kong!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheOCfromBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The hotel is really awesome, and I liked the bedrooms, which were nicely furnished. Very new, extremely clean, cool and comfy furnishings. A very unique hotel brand. Service was excellent - staff were extremely friendly. Beds were slightly soft, plush pillows were great, good sleep overall. Amenities were great, including iPod jack to TV and automatic curtains, room was quite spacious (liked the bathroom with sliding doors which made the room seem bigger) with a good view of Kowloon and partial Hong Kong. The adjacent Elements shopping mall was very convenient, with a variety of shops. Although it was not centrally located, the location was good in the sense that the Kowloon station is right beneath the adjacent mall, very fast access (about 3 minutes) to Hong Kong station. Well-connected to the airport and Hong Kong. Quite worth it.
Oh yeah - did I mention that the swimming pool was on the 76th floor? The view from up there is spectacular, with great views of the city.
I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tsquared123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

What a fantastic hotel. We have just returned from HK after a 7 night stay. We were originally booked into the Langham Hotel Mongkok but moved to the W Hotel after a couple of days and wished we had booked here first. (We couldn't stand the Langham Hotel - What a dump compared to this place).

We were given a Wonderful room on the 31st floor and the view was amazing. The room had the most incredible electronics with everything being controlled by the push of a switch. The bathroom was really lovely. There was a separate TV at the end of the bath so you could soak in a deep bath and watch TV. The shower was a separate one with a really cool rainshower head. Wish I had one of those at home! Everything in the room was clean and modern and it was a really good size room. It was probably three times bigger than the Langham Mongkok room - no kidding! The hotel was so spotless.

We have never seen such an amazing entrance to the lifts. We had to look for the switch for the lift for a few moments as each floor as a bookcase with cool little books, clocks etc on it and it simply didn't look like a lift lobby. The actual lobby for the hotel was on the 6th floor so it was a bit confusing at first, but the staff on the ground floor were always helpful. We found the entire staff here to be super efficient and friendly.

Location wise was great for us. The MTR is at the mall attached to the W and we found that really good for going to Disneyland for the day. There is a free shuttle which leaves every 30 minutes and takes you to Nathan Road. Unfortunately you need to get a taxi to get back but that was no bother. It is not walking distance to Nathan Road, but you could have if you are a lot fitter than us.

We used the restaurant and room service and found these to be first class. For a cheaper option the Mall has a a number of choices. We found this great little Thai Restaurant which only cost us HKD 68 per meal.

Overall I would absolutely recommend the W to anyone. If you are thinking of going to HK then please stay here. You will not be disappointed. We have stayed at a few hotels in HK but this is the best. We are going back to HK in a few months and will be staying here again.

On another note, HK is a great place to visit. The shopping and site seeing is incredible.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GCtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

I loved the convenience of this hotel over the station where the Airport Express (24 minutes) stops in Kowloon. Within an hour of landing I was in my hotel room. The rooftop pool is beautiful. I especially loved the jaccuzzi in the mens locker room - an infinity pool with a wall of glass overlooking the city. There is also a nice sauna and steam with spa like amenities. The hotel is like most w hotels around the world and tends to attract a younger, gayer, hipper crowd. It is probably one of the nicer w hotels in the chain right now. Like all w hotels, a cool bar scene off of the lobby. In short a perfect place to relax in the evening if you are here on business.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Amazing experience. Excellent hotel in all respects. Brand new, everything works nicely, great design in public areas as well as rooms. The room is superbly equipped - with plasma TV, DVD, stereo, IPod docking station, nice speakers, minibar... The room is carefully cleaned and replenished with Bliss amenities every day. And the location attached to the "Elements" mall is very convenient - especially because it offers a direct connection to the airport!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parisouest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 725 in Hong Kong
6,081 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#8 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,121 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#6 of 725 in Hong Kong
766 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon Station, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £234 - £556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Hong Kong is innovatively designed with 393 deluxe rooms and suites, cutting edge business facilities and function space, superior recreation facilities, award winning bliss spa and high-profile “W happenings”, all of which make it the traveler’s top choice. With the opening of Sing Yin Cantonese Dining, the reputation of W Hong Kong is further cemented with the surely avant-garde offering to the Chinese art of gastronomy in Hong Kong. Together with the launch of WOOBAR, the place to see and be seen, get ready for a nonstop entertainment spree in the vibrant and energetic setting of WOOBAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your W Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
w Hotels Hong Kong
w Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing