We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, compact, kind & helpful”

Guangdong Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guangdong Guest House
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Clean, compact, kind & helpful”
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Wonderful! Clean! Simon was so helpful. Take a deep breath and brave the elevator experience, it gets easier each day! We even got used to taking the stairs when leaving as its quicker!

Clean towels and clean room daily. Only stayed 2 nights but Simon stored our suitcase both on arrival and when leaving as it was before/after checkout time for our flights

Would stay again

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachelk65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    18
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
22
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Accomodation in Hong Kong is really pricey. So if you're on a limited budget and want to be practical then this is a place you should consider. Location is great. Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station is of walking distance. The building may look shady and intimidating for some but the room is the exact opposite. Though small, it's clean, it's cozy, and well-maintained. The owner, Simon, is probably one of the hardest working person you'll ever meet. He maintains all the rooms by himself and ensures that you have everything that you need. It was a very nice stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marvin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

my friends and i were recently in hong kong and with the hotel rates sky high, we decided to stay in guangdong guest house, a hostel. we were a little wary at first because of all the warnings we read about people who hang out at the lobby, looking to cheat unsuspecting tourists out of a buck or two. we also had a warning from simon, the hostel manager, about not showing our reservation document to any of the people at the lobby and to ask for directions only from the security guards. walking into chungking mansion where the guest house is located is unnerving at first because of all the people of different nationalities looking at you, especially if you are carrying your luggage. none of them tried to stop me, however, as i made no eye contact with them and headed straight for where i thought the elevator that would take us to b-block was located. the trick is to keep moving, ignoring all the questions being thrown at you by all the people at the lobby and look as if you know where you're going.

chungking mansion looked seedy and dilapidated but the guest house looked as if it had just been renovated, our rooms were spotless, nicely decorated and furnished with all the necessities we needed for a comfortable stay. the bathroom was small (the shower was over the sink) but there was hot water, a hairdryer, glasses, shampoo, liquid soap, conditioner, toilet paper, bath towels that were changed everyday (without us asking), aircon, fan, tv, dvd player and dvds from simon's collection.

simon was very helpful and meticulous about the cleanliness of his guesthouse. he promptly assured us that the establishment was safe and pointed to all the CCTVs installed in the premises plus the alarm button to press should we need help.

during our four-day, three-night stay, he changed our bedsheets twice, changed the towels daily and cleaned the room every day (frankly, i think he's OC). he also gave very precise directions when we asked him for help in finding the bus station to take us to the airport.

guesthouse is located on nathan road so it's right in the center of kowloon and a minute away from the tsim tsa tsui mtr station, shops and eating places. considering the location, it's quite a steal, rate-wise. so have no fear about staying at guangdong guest house. it's one of the nicest hostels in hongkong once you get past the lobby and into your rooms.

Room Tip: you can share double rooms when you're under 200 pounds but if not, a double room should be oka...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The location was perfect for our needs. We loved the fact that it was based in Chunking Mansions and enjoyed the atmosphere of the place. Simon was a friendly host and the room was extremely clean. We had a private double room with ensuite. The room itself was tiny but did the job for the 4 days that we were there. The double room is right next to the reception area so if you're a light sleeper take some ear plugs! All in all a good hostel in a decent area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is in an excellent location, close to the underground. Simon is so nice and helpful and has excellent recommendations for places to eat close by. It is safe and so clean, really great hostel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minkeyab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

If you are a Budget Traveller who thinks will only stay at the room for sleeping after a tiring walk - then you will not regret trying to stay in a Guest House such as Guangdong.

Guangdong Guest House is inside the Chungking Mansion building. The building has many floors. Each floors is converted to rooms or what they called - Guest Houses. Guangdong is located at the 5th floor.

As you enter the building, make sure you are at the elevator for Block B as you may be lost.
Be careful for there are people at the ground floor who will try to force you to book on their Guest House. Who will offer you discounts. It is their job. So just ignore them and do not be fooled. If you have questions - it is safer to ask from a Police Officer or from the owners of shops.

When you arrived the the 5th flr of Block B building - you will feel safe and warmth, because Mr. Simon is very welcoming and his service is naturally great. You can ask anything, request anything for he will really try his best to assist and help you enjoy your stay.

We are a group of Four and booked two rooms. But when we arrived, he was kind enough to let us choose if we want two rooms (each with queen size bed) or one room with two king size beds, and thus we decided to accept the single room.

The room is really small..esp for a group of Four. But it is clean and complete with the things and utilities you'll need. The bathroom is very small as well, only one person can use it at a time. But everything is clean and neat.

The hotel is located very near to the MTR station, walking distance to malls, shops around and fast food chains.

Even if we had a very small room, our stay was still great because of the superb service we received. Truly, this Guest House is highly recommended for Budget Travellers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank msCharrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Guangdong Hostel is a private room type hostel. The rooms are all kept very clean and tidy, and the staff member Simon is an incredibly friendly and helpful person. The hostel is very secure having card access only. It is located on downtown Nathan Rd. which is a great location and very close to many tourist spots, and MTR subway stations.

A tip to make the experience more enjoyable is to ignore all the people on the ground floor, they WILL approach you asking if you need a hostel if you have luggage. Don't listen to ANY of them.

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Projectilefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Apple Hostel
Apple Hostel
#23 of 158 in Hong Kong
163 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Super 7 Hostel
Super 7 Hostel
#56 of 158 in Hong Kong
6 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Ashoka Guest House
Ashoka Guest House
#82 of 262 in Hong Kong
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Lee Garden Guest House
Lee Garden Guest House
#25 of 158 in Hong Kong
129 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Fortunate Guest House
Fortunate Guest House
#86 of 158 in Hong Kong
16 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Pearl Premium Guest House - Premium Guest House Limited
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangdong Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangdong Guest House

Property: Guangdong Guest House
Address: 36-44 Nathan Road, B2, 5/F, Block B, Chungking Mansion, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 158 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Guangdong Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guangdong Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guangdong Guest House Hotel Hong Kong
Guangdong Guest House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing