We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Metropol Restaurant
Ranked #524 of 8,038 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Admiralty
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Metropol is seemingly always busy, but that's likely because of its location smack in the middle of Admiralty. They have a good variety of dim sum, and the staff are generally very nice and accommodating. However, the quality of the dim sum is average at best. The taste is just OK.
The best feature of Metropol is that they still have the dim sum carts floating around. That is a classic feature that is almost extinct in Hong Kong. Make sure to make a reservation ahead of time as you could experience a long wait if you just show up.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bubbastyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    73
    37
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
261 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“food ok for dinner at admiralty”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

we didn't plan to come here and came up by chance only. food is good serving size is small, very central like. Sevice is slightly above average but price is way above average probably due to high rent. try it if you are in the area and have nothing else in mind

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Uncle_Vin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A real taste of Hong Kong”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Nowadays, you could find very few restaurants serving dim sum for lunch the old way, that's is with ladies bringing food directly to your table with carts.
We did it on April 28th and it was an enjoyable experience.
The food was good, the setting is, of course, very Chinese with huge rooms and a lot of people. But, contrary to what we expected, it was not too noisy.
Don't worry if you don't speak Chinese, you just have to point at what you want when it comes to your table.
It was very affordable.
A good place to go to for lunch (booking is essential).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaii
Level Contributor
120 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fun Experience”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We were taken to the Metropol by our nephew, niece and 2 year old great grandson. Our nephew and niece who and live in China and are very familiar with the Metropol and Dim Sum.
The restaurant is HUGE and noisy!! Yes, you need Reservations. The trolleys going around this enormous restaurant add to the atmosphere and the experience of Dim Sum. It would be even better if you can go with a group of 6+ dinners--It is not for couples. In that way, you can taste many more goodies.
The shrimp dumplings were very good. The selection of Dim Sum is extensive. Don't be afraid to let the trolleys pass you by--they will be back. Service is very good. You can also go up to the middle of the restaurant to the food station where you can see different choices to tempt your palate.
This was a FUN lunch!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“This is the real deal! Best dim sum in Hong Kong”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Most dim sum restaurants have gotten rid of the carts so they can fit more tables in. The Metropol besides City Hall are the only two dim sum restaurants in town that still have the mobile carts. The BIG difference is that the Metropol takes RESERVATIONS! No waiting on line. Just show up and give your reservation number! This is not a place for couples as there is NO WAY you can even attempt to try everything! We were a party of ten and still walked out without trying everything we wanted to taste we were SO FULL. AND the dim sum was excellent. Not over cooked, thin skins on the dumplings, sauces not to sweet or overwhelming. One of the finest dim sum experiences I have ever had.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theoysterking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metropol Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Metropol Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing