We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel in the Wicker Park of Hong Kong” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ovolo Noho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ovolo Noho
Ranked #31 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel in the Wicker Park of Hong Kong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

This place is great bang for the buck. The pros are the location - its near great things but also just a few blocks away from the MTR. You can also grab a slow moving tram or a bus nearby. Its very safe. The neighborhood is good and you can only use your key to access the floor that you're on. Each floor only has 3 rooms so odds are you'll only see people in the lobby. Its modern, new and clean. And the staff is very helpful especially Harrison. I also loved the all-inclusive feel where all of the water and Cokes were free, and the free breakfast and happy hour were really good! The food is excellent. If you're hankering for western food the McD is right across the street. The only con is the size and efficiency of the rooms. They're tiny! I wish you could open a window to let some fresh air in. You get a bar for hanging clothes but we were there for 10 days so that's not enough. We lived out of our suitcases. There are no shelves or drawers for socks and underwear. Also the bathroom is very dark which makes it difficult for a woman to apply makeup. This was definitely designed by a man!
That being said I would definitely stay here or at another Ovolo again. The cons aren't major.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Meredith K ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay at Ovolo 286 Queen's Road. I was pleased to hear you were impressed with our location, cleanliness of the room and that you received great service during your visit, I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Harrison!

We realize the rooms at our hotel are on the smaller side but that’s why we design them smart and pack them with goodies to maximize the space so that everything you need is hopefully at your fingertips whenever you want it. We understand that this setup may not suitably accommodate every traveller and much regret that it was the case for you. Since you appeared to enjoy our freebies and facilities, I would highly recommend you consider our Central HK hotel on Arbuthnot Road or our all-suite hotel in West Kowloon as the rooms are larger.

Whether for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming you back at this or another Ovolo Hotel in the future

Best Regards,

Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 286 Queen's Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    331
    62
    17
    8
See reviews for
96
437
128
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The location and the facilities were great but service was terrible for sgd200 a night. My friend and I checked in at around 5.45pm on 4 dec and checked out at around 1115am on 6 dec. We stayed in room 1703. There was no one helping my friend and I, both chinese females to carry our luggage (3 trolley bags) to our hotel room. So we thought that it was the norm to do so. However, when we came back after doing our last round of shopping on 6 dec, we saw this male staff carrying luggage for an Indian family out of the hotel and hailed a cab for them around 11am. When we were checked out, this male staff saw us leaving with luggage and few carriers and did not offer help and walked into the lounge. I seriously wonder if the staff has any sort of discrimination. We had to carry luggage and hailed the cab ourselves.

The lady at the counter also did not offer any help nor thank us after we checked out. I will not recommend any of our friends to stay there as service is also very important to them.

The cab fare stated on website was hkd220 but when we took from and to the airport was around hkd350 separately. Thus information on website is not accurate or not updated.

Room Tip: No swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonochin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Nonochin81,

Thank you for choosing Ovolo. We went over your review, took note of your feedback, and we are sincerely regretful that the experience you received upon your first stay with us was not up to our normal high standard. Please know that the luggages and info on our website issues have been brought to the attention of our Management and concerned associates have already been briefed to refrain from future reoccurrence.

Nonochin81, again I would like to express regret that your time with us was not the very best that you deserve. We love feedback, will improve our efforts, and I hope you'll give us another shot to do right by you at this or another Ovolo Hotel in the future.


Best Regards,
Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 286 Queen's Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Ideal for solo travellers - safe, clean, central location, friendly and opportunity to chat to others in the bar/dining room
I had 5 nights on my own in Hong Kong but was meeting up with friends who live in Hong Kong but I wanted my own space and to be in a central location
This hotel was ideal
At first the hotel looked a bit unassuming and nothing special from the front door. Don't worry though....staff gave a friendly reception, offered me a drink and once settled in the room, I was able to come down to the bar/dining room and help myself to a coffee and some snacks.
The room is small (no surprise there, this is Hong Kong). It was well designed and after 5 nights I felt very much at home. Bed was comfy, tv large enough, shower large and hot enough. Complimentary mini bar was nice touch and the little welcome bag of goodies quite sweet.
Toiletries very nice too

Breakfast was good and the free drinks and snacks from 6-8 was a really nice touch. I had a few nice glasses of chilled wine and enjoyed fruit, carrots, crisps, biscuits, cheese etc. Nice to be able to help myself to a cappuccino too. This was a good space to say hello to some other travellers/holiday makers, read my book and browse through the hotels' newspapers.

Location was good too and totally safe. The hotel has a café downstairs which sells nice healthy food and there is a lovely little Italian deli/café across the road.

I would recommend this hotel in terms of cost too. A nice little unpretentious, spotlessly clean, friendly base for a stay in Hong Kong (if you can't afford a fabby expensive hotel with harbour views!)

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same I think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fee203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Fee203,

Thanks for the great review. Happy to read that your stay with us was a '5+ starz' experience and that you enjoyed all the freebies. Our team clearly delivered on our company mission: 'shiny happy people all around'!

Hope to host you at Ovolo again soon. Thank you.

Best Regards,

Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 286 Queen's Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel, my partner and I would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in Hong Kong. reception staff are very helpful and polite, the rooms are quite small, but very well thought out and very comfortable. the hotel is in a great location for exploring this wonderful city, with everywhere in walking distance.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear john b,

Thank you for your very kind review of our hotel. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again on your next visit to our wonderful city. Should you need any assistance to help arrange your travel plans, please feel free to contact myself or my team on gigitse@ovologroup.com.

Best Regards,

Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 286 Queen's Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Pros:
1. great staff
2. a fabulous location (walking distance to everywhere you want to go and the ferry terminals)
3. lots of good, free stuff (wifi, minibar, breakfast)
4. well-designed rooms (they had to be!)
5. great value for the price

Cons:
1. rooms really are tiny - don't go with big suitcases as there is nowhere to put them and all the rooms are the same size so you can't upgrade to a larger option.
2. If your friend thrashes around in the night the beds are right next to each other (and there is nowhere to move them to) so go with some protective clothing!

Room Tip: As always in Hong Kong, the higher the floor the better the atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bean007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Bean007,

Thank you so much for your positive review about your stay with us recently. It is thoroughly heart-warming to see that you were very impressed with our service. We realize the rooms at Ovolo 286 Queen's Road hotel are on the smaller side but that’s why we design them smart and pack them with goodies to maximize the space so that everything you need is hopefully at your fingertips whenever you want it.

Bean007, thank you once again and hope to host you at Ovolo soon. Thank you.

Best Regards,

Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 286 Queen's Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Fab hotel in a great location in central HK. Rooms were small but cosy with all amenities catered for. Great vibe, very relaxed atmosphere and accommodating staff. Good breakfast included. We would definitely use this hotel group again. One of the best hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Hannah359 ,

Thank you so much for leaving a 5-star review of Ovolo 286 Queen's Road. It's terrific to be called ' One of the best hotels '! Please know that the front desk and housekeeping teams were delighted when I shared your compliments with them.

Best Regards,

Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 286 Queen's Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

HK Central is a great place to base your trip from & Ovolo is in the centre of it all. The rooms are small but well very designed. I loved the shower, free mini bar and excellent breakfast. Very helpful staff. Best for couples and solo travelers. I have nothing remotely negative to say. We arrived at 9am and they offered us breakfast and a room was available - excellent service for weary travellers who just got off an 11 hour flight.

Room Tip: High floors are probably quieter but our 5th floor was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUTravellerBalmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear NZTravellerNI

Thanks for your great review of our 286 Queen's road Hotel, our team are delighted to read your lovely review and it gives us plenty of re-assurance that we are looking after our guests perfectly,
your compliment on the breakfast has been noted too. Thank you!

Best Regards,

Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 286 Queen's Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#18 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#48 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
TUVE
#22 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Ovolo Southside
#37 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#34 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Noho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Noho

Property: Ovolo Noho
Address: 286 Queen's Road Central | Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Noho 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fast and fun times in Central Hong Kong in this unique business boutique hotel, Ovolo Noho. Make your stay stylish, intimate and cool in a hip neighbourhood.Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Ovolo Noho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 286 Queens Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Noho Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing