We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location; tons of amenities”
Review of Ovolo Noho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ovolo Noho
Ranked #34 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“great location; tons of amenities”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The lack of space is typical for Hong Kong, but we chose this hotel based on other reviews and are glad we did. The room is just like you see in the website picture (no surprises), and as other reviewers have mentioned, every inch of space is well thought out and used to its maximum potential. The bathroom is fairly spacious compared to those found in large European cities and the space is brilliantly used (European hotels should take note). The shower has not only a rain-forest shower head but a hand held power-washer if you need a more intense clean. The room comes with free, high-speed wi-fi, slippers, a safe, coffee and tea, a converter/adapter, a swag bag with chips, chocolates, cookies and mints and a small back-pack-like sack for laundry or groceries. The mini-fridge is replenished with water, soda, beer and juice daily. HD and AppleTV are available in the room. The toiletries are also restocked daily including alcohol-free mouthwash. On top of all of the free goodies in the room, you get a breakfast buffet in the café on the first floor, 4 washers and dryers available with free detergent for 24-hour washing needs (6 kg capacity; energy efficient which means they take a little over an hour for each load to wash; 80 minutes minimum to dry), coffee, tea and snacks fruit, cookies, candy) in the lobby 24/7 and a happy hour where beer, wine and sliced veggies are available for your convenience at no additional charge. You will also be provided with a wi-fi hotspot password to use around the city. The desk staff is very polite, patient and extremely helpful whenever we had a question or needed a reservation. Ovolo was perfect for a couple but a family would be a struggle.

It seems like this immaculate hotel has thought of everything right down to the security guard to keep out the riffraff, although we didn't see much of that in HK, to a keycard sleeve with hotel directions in Cantonese to facilitate taxi rides back to the hotel as the closest metro station is about a 15 to 20-minute walk.

The only downside...the mattress is on the floor, Japanese style, and after a long day of traipsing through town, it makes it difficult to get in and out of bed with sore knees and a sore back.

Room Tip: rooms are street side so the higher, the better; if you have mobility issues, this is not the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Rebecca H,


Thank you so much for your very positive review about your stay with us recently. It is thoroughly heart-warming to see that you were very impressed with our room design, freebies and services. We do like to spoil our guests. We hope you can stay with us again and again.

Best regards,

Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
gigitse@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    347
    67
    18
    9
See reviews for
101
453
132
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Recently stayed here on a business trip,hotel is small but cool. Some very nice touches I guess make up for what it lacks in space.
As many other of reviewers have said the in room treats are free, includes water, fizzy drinks, beer, chocolate etc.......Also free wine, coffee in reception.
You also get a goodie bag when you arrive......cool..

The rooms are small, but everything is there that you need including Apple TV which is handy, free wifi, decent size desk to work, bathroom is small but again functional and nicely decorated.

You receive breakfast tokens when you check in, these can be redeemed from a little shop next door as there is no on restaurant in the hotel.

Staff here are very friendly and helpful.....

Would recommend for those who don't need large room space....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckLanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear BuckLanders,


Wow what a great 4-star review of our Ovolo hotel in n. Ovolo 286 Queen's Road. Thank you so much for sharing your comments on tripadvisor!

At Ovolo we fit as many smart features in at every point of the guest experience as we can, and when reviewers like you note all the little details, it really encourages us to keep pushing the envelope. We hope to host you in HK again soon!

Best regards,

Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
gigitse@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a great stay at Ovolo. They really did a great job designing the rooms to utilize every bit of space, and we never felt claustrophobic. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the free amenities were such a bonus. It really is the little things that make a difference. The staff were also very helpful and friendly.

As in any new city, it took a little bit of navigating to find from the subway the first time, but after that, it was really convenient. We walked to Soho almost every night for dinner.

Here are some directions from the airport to help you out:
Take the Airport Express to Hong Kong. You can transfer then to Central Station. Go one stop on the Island Line to Sheung Wan. Take Exit A2 and turn right (you'll be facing west). Cross the first street. When you get to the 2nd street (Cleverly St), take a left. Continue until the road stops and then walk up the stairs. You'll see McDonalds on your left, and Ovolo is right across the street.

We look forward to coming back to Ovolo in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Lesley M,

On behalf of my team, I would like to thank you for your very gracious compliments about your stay with us, our hotel & our service to you. I have shared your review with our colleagues for their recognition as well, and we hope to see you again with us at Ovolo very soon!

Warm regards,

Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
gigitse@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel. It's situated a couple blocks west of LGF. The area around the hotel is quiet and great if you want to avoid the touristy crowd. It's a couple block away from the metro station. The room was designed to maximize the small space. Although we didn't use it, the entire minibar was complementary! I will definitely look to Ovolo for my next stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surgicalting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky C, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear surgicalting,

It is great to see your amazing compliments about your stay with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to hosting and reading another Ovolo review from you again in the coming future.

Regards,

Ricky Cheng
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundrerland, England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We chose this hotel, as it was in a good position, and had lots of goodies on offer, as in a happy hour, which was actually 2 hours, 18;00 / 20;00 that gave you FREE, yes free drinks, including Wine, Beer, Shorts, Soft drinks and snacks & sweets. On arrival in your room was a goodies bag with sweets in, the mini bar is free every day, and you get a free shoulder bag, to carry your odds & ends about during the day, so what more could you ask for ??? The staff were all very helpfull and pleasent. The only down sides were the lifts, that seem to take a long time to arrive, always !!! The othe rcomment I would make is that the rooms are very small BUT have everything you could want, and this did not spoil our stay there, and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithsunley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky C, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear keithsunley,

Many thanks for your lovely compliments and positive review of our hotel. My team and I are very happy to see you had a great time with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you both back with us in hopefully the very near future!

Regards,

Ricky Cheng
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed here in May for work and I loved it.

The rooms are compact but the design of the property is super cool and everything you could want is available. As an Australian I am used to paying insane amounts for water and internet so it was great to have these luxuries included in the room. My company also loved it as it wasn't an extra cost they had to cover.

For me though a great hotel is all about the staff and the staff here were incredible. Always smiling, greeting me by name and even buying me some candy that I was looking for because I was time poor.

Thank you Ovolo team. I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KO85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear KO85,


Thank you so much for giving us such candid feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay, our staff really appreciate your kind comments. We hope we see you again at the hotel soon and do let me know if I can help with future stays.

With all good wishes,


Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
gigitse@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

In HK for an overnight stay and to take care of some banking. Booked this hotel online on the back of excellent rating v cost.

Was a little nervous trying to find the hotel at 2am in the morning, but was pleasantly surprised by the taxi driver who was able to work it out without much fuss.

Staff were available at 2am and greeted me by name. Both check-in and check-out were hassle free without the usual delays of room checks and the sort.

Very happy and will be making a note to use Ovolo in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Stuart J,


We are humbled by your compliments and are truly delighted that you enjoyed Ovolo 286 Queen's Road in your own special way. We will never sit still and will constantly strive to improve what we do. Please let me know personally if you are coming back and I will do my best to reserve a nice room for you.


Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
gigitse@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
781 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#54 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,138 reviews
TUVE
#26 of 718 in Hong Kong
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Southside
#33 of 718 in Hong Kong
632 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Noho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Noho

Property: Ovolo Noho
Address: 286 Queen's Road Central | Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Noho 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fast and fun times in Central Hong Kong in this unique business boutique hotel, Ovolo Noho. Make your stay stylish, intimate and cool in a hip neighbourhood.Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ovolo Noho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 286 Queens Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Noho Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing