We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE RIP OFF”
Review of Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour Hotel
Ranked #478 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Checked in after a long flight and went straight up to take a shower. The shower was broken, flooded the whole bathroom with dirty water which didn't subside an inch in over 15 minutes.
After half a shower I went downstairs to complain and ask for another room. Was informed that the hotel would not be able to get a plumber in until the following morning and that all the other rooms were full.
Since this was not good enough (we needed to shower that night since we were meeting friends for an expensive dinner), we asked for a refund.
The manager was a slimy money hungry disgrace who refused to refund us claiming we used the room and therefore had to pay for the first night, even though the room was not in working order and we weren't there more than 20 mins. He became argumentative immediately and accused us for wanting to leave because we weren't satisfied with the hotel. Clearly he knows his hotel is a dump but that's not the point, we still would have stayed if the bathroom/customer service wasn't so appalling.

Practically told him to shove it and found another hotel down the road, from which we rang hotels.com (who we booked through) to try and get the refund. The hotel manager LIED to hotels.com claiming he had another room for us and we chose not to take it. Clearly he knows how to play the system....

We paid AUD $90 for 20 minutes in a hotel room to have a shower standing in filthy drain water.
Wi-fi also doesn't work from the room.

DON'T STAY HERE.

And don't book through hotels.com they couldn't even get us a full refund.

Room Tip: Save the hassle and don't choose one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Holidaymaker255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

I was a bit concerned by some of the previous reviews on here of this hotel but it was fine. The room really is tiny but that is about all I have to say that is negative. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location is excellent. The room I was in (301) could have been doing with a bit of a freshening up but it was comfortable, quiet and clean enough. For what I paid, I was more than happy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewDoddsUK1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The inn was clean and quaint. The breakfast was all store bought, nothing home made and the fruit did not taste really fresh. If you like cereal it is fine, but I was hoping for fresh. Kathy in inn keeper was very friendly and worked very hard. Bed was creaky and very thin walls.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We were 4 adults. Stayed 3 nights in the hotel. We were very unsatisfied. Rooms are old, very small and unconvinient. Bathroom is extermly simple and small. There isn't a real clothes' closet in the room. Quality of breakfast is very low . There is free WiFi, however, in our floor (#4) it was very weak. The people were nice but could not proivde much help. Examples: Do you have a safe in the hotel? 'No'; Can you ordre a taxi for us for tomorrow morining? "No. you need to find Taxi outside".
I think the photos published are missleading.

Room Tip: according to the person on the reception, all rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yosi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This hotel was fine, but nothing special. Rooms are clean, a bit small, but that is normal for Hong Kong. It's ok value, but I feel you could do better in Hong Kong.

What was terrible though was that the room door sounds an alarm every time it's opened, probably as a safety precaution to prevent leaving the door being left ajar, but it is extremely annoying. Through-out the night you constantly hear other guests returning to their rooms by the sound of their door alarms going off. Hotel management really needs to sort this out.

Also, when you check-in, they ask for HK$200 in cash as a deposit for the door key. They don't accept credit cards for this, so be aware that you will need cash on you.

If catching the express train from the airport, you can take shuttle bus K5 from Kowloon station, and get off at the first stop (city view hotel). The bus drivers at the airport wont have heard of the hotel, so just check on the map before you arrive so you know where you are going. It's a 10 minute walk from the city view hotel. If you have a lot of luggage, just get a taxi from the station instead.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed 1 night in June 2013. Hotel is near the shopping areas and the MTR. Hotel is located away from the main street so street noise wasn't an issue. Check-in was fast. Note that you have to place a HK$200 refundable 'key deposit' upon check-in. The room on the 7th floor was tiny but clean. Only issue was some stains on the wall beside the bed - probably due to water seepage from the exterior walls. Toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, soap, coffee, bottled water provided for. For the price I paid, it was well worth it if you just need a place to shower and sleep. Breakfast (you are given a coupon) was included but was not buffet style - you have a choice from 4 set menu. Food was OK though not filling. Check-out was fast and you get back the 'key deposit'.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quarks77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This hotel has small rooms but otherwise we enjoyed our stay here. The staff were helpful, the air conditioning worked well and the location was really good. It is walking distance to two metro stations (Mongkok and Olympic) as well as the ladies market. The breakfast was a bit gross, but maybe that's normal??? IDK.... Anyway I would stay here again :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Istarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Hongkong MK Hotel
Hongkong MK Hotel
#437 of 727 in Hong Kong
419 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Noble Park Hotel
Noble Park Hotel
#274 of 727 in Hong Kong
60 reviews
Mong Kok
Minimal Hotel-Bazaar
Minimal Hotel-Bazaar
#268 of 727 in Hong Kong
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Oriental Lander Hotel
Oriental Lander Hotel
#367 of 727 in Hong Kong
194 reviews
Mong Kok
H1 Hotel
H1 Hotel
#377 of 727 in Hong Kong
63 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#212 of 727 in Hong Kong
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel

Address: No.968 Canton Road, Mong Kok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #478 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: £40 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing