We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vile place don't go there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Chung King Mansion Hostel
Ranked #118 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Vile place don't go there”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The whole building is cockroach infested, it feels very un-safe. A guy in the lift was making sexual gestures towards me and I greatly feared for my safety and there's very few people around at night which contributes to the danger. The rooms are so small we couldn't fit our bags in around the bed so we had to pout them behind the door which made getting in and out of the room difficult. the bathroom was so small I had to sit on the toilet to wash myself with the shower head, I'm not exaggerating this is how small it is. The only good thing to say is it's right in the city centre

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GTLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    11
    13
    21
See reviews for
5
16
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The location of Chung King Mansions tempt many budget concious travellers into it's depths. I personally was there for one night (arranging a Chinese visa) and think you get what you pay for. It is very cheap (by Hong Kong standards) and provides you with a basic to dump your kit. My main advice is to NOT BOOK IN ADVANCE through agoda or booking as you will pay more and they will try and give you the worst room as they already have your money, if you walk in off the street you can haggle them down on price and make sure the room is clean before you hand over any of your hard earned travel budget!! There are loads of Indians and Africans hanging around trying to sell you rooms, watches, suits etc.... but as a single male traveller I never had a problem with them, although I did have to be quite forceful on occaision to get them to leave me alone. I wouldn't reccomend families or single female travellers here if they were planning to be returning late at night as they could feel intimidated howevere the rooms themselves were secure so if like me you plan to just hold up for the night I can't imagine you having a problem.

Room Tip: The Chung King mansion building is split in blocks, don't go for any hostels in block A as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion Block C where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

what you see on the internet is NOT what you get.

I booked the best room on the internet, paid in Euro and got the worst room in all my travel history. I rather go camping in some jungle than stay here!

Let me summaries my very bad experience and advice to you- in just two words- DONT GO!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank triwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
What you have booked,what the same we will offer to you.Your booking is Budget Room,we have so many options for you to choose,budget,standard,deluxe,all with different room size and facilities and different price.We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

we had to find a place to stay for one day since the next day onwrds we had stay in regal kowloon (which is a v nice hotel btw)
it was v late (12 in the night) and we had just travelled 4 hours flight + a lot of walking around so HAD to take a place soon.
The guy charged us 450 HKD for quite simply a filthy room and refused to change the bedsheets initially.
The only saviour was that the room had an AC, otherwise i dont its worth more than a 100 HKD a night. Also, the place around looks like a very shady area.
It'd still have been fine if the charges were a little nonimal - but oh well..

All in all, try to avoid this place much as possible, if they're not giving you a v cheap price

Room Tip: Avoid this place altogether!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kunalpareek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Chung King Mansion with many small hostels,yours never stay with us,but we think stay with others in the same building,because our owner is lady but not a guy.We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We booked this hostel through AsiaRooms, and followed all the instructions carefully. Upon going inside the building, a lot of people were trying to get us to "checkout" their hostel aside from the hostel we had booked. We ignored them and went straight to where we should go. We had to wait for the lift because it was so slow, and by the time it came to the ground floor, there were a lot of people that needs to go up the lift as well. It was so packed!

When we got to the floor (according to their instructions), it was a totally different name. It was "CARLTON GUEST HOUSE". Apparently, the "New Chung King Mansion" and this guesthouse has only one and of the same owner.

We insisted that we see the rooms of the "New Chung King Mansion" since that was what we booked in the internet, and when we saw it, it was totally different from the photos they posted online!!!

We opted to stay at the Carlton Guest House, since it was "newer" and "cleaner"...

But the owner practically threw us out because we were arguing with her about why they gave our reservation rooms of the "New Chung King Mansion" to a different guest, etc.

Anyway, if you can find a different hostel, I would suggest don't go check in on ANY hostel with the address of "Chung King" building address!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yzqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bacolod
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I can never and I guess will never forget the disappointment we had during our stay in this hostel.Dont be deceived by their advertisements online coz we were victims of such lousy hostel. Rooms were dirty, untidy and the air-condition was terrible. On our first night we werent able to sleep. Comfort room was so small that we cant even move. We need to go down to their reception area every time we need something. No tissues, no towels, no toiletries in short. There was an awful smell along the hallway. We paid more than the rates they posted on the net. We paid additional hkd just to avail a room with comfort room. The following day, we didnt have time to find another hostel to transfer so we stayed for another night.Guess what? they transferred us to another room without even informing us. They transferred our things in an disorganized manner. We were dissatisfied and so stressed that early the following day we transferred to another hostel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BacolodTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Chung King Mansion with many small hostels,yours never stay with us,but we think stay with others in the same building.We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bohol, philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Beware of this hostel! They will really disturb your vacation and cause you a lot of stress. I booked 3 rooms in this hostel on March 6 for May7-11, 2010 and made a confirmed cancellation on April 14, 2010. Yet, they called me and harassed me on May 7 and told me that they will charge the 3 rooms to my credit card. I called them back and told them it has been cancelled but the staff won't listen instead dropped the phone on me. It was a nightmare on my part.

Stayed May 2010
Helpful?
3 Thank silveryginn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
You have never stay with us and nobody has called you from our hostel.We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
I-Hotel Limited
I-Hotel Limited
#364 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Day and Night Hotel
Day and Night Hotel
#96 of 160 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Panda's Hostel
Panda's Hostel
#64 of 160 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Maple Leaf Guest House
Maple Leaf Guest House
#229 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Fortunate Guest House
Fortunate Guest House
#90 of 160 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Chung King Mansion Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Chung King Mansion Hostel

Property: New Chung King Mansion Hostel
Address: Block C, Floor 7, Flat C5, Chung King Mansion, Nathan Road 36-44, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — New Chung King Mansion Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with Free Internet Access,Air-condition,Fan,Television with Cable Channel,Telephone,Private Bathroom,24 hours hot water,Towel and Slipper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Chung King Mansion Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Chung King Mansion Hotel Hong Kong
New Chung King Mansion Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing