We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Chung King Mansion Hostel
Ranked #106 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The hotel has a good location, but very small rooms. From the airport to the hotel by bus A21, it stops at 14 Nathan Road - get off here and walk about 50 meters back. At the hotel on the ground floor is a lot of traders, not a good feeling, but do not bother and it's all safe.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IIveta I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

In short the pro's:
The location is fantastic
Free wifi
Very cheap for Hong Kong

The Con's:
Room is tiny
Bed is horribly uncomfortable
Tv has no English channels
They do not provide towels
Bathroom is for tiny people!
Building is generally grotty

Decide for yourself!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I agree with ces168, the positives are the location and its price. Unbeatable in a place like hong kong. But i must also admit that It was a little daunting as we tried to find our way to checkin, with the line up for the lifts and the eclectic mix of different cultures on the ground floor starring at you as you dragged all your belongs through their shops to another lift. Despite the room being no bigger than a king size bed it was clean, airconned, had a TV (no english channels) and most importantly for travelers free fast wifi! yes the shower is a hose over the toilet but it is a hot shower.

In short, i wouldn't recommend this place to female only travelers, but is perfect for couples looking to rest their head for the night in a clean and reasonably priced shoebox!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MimaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

There are positive things about this hostel, great location and cheap. It is located at the heart of Nathan Road where all the shopping malls, restaurants, fastfood chains and tourist attractions are located. It is also very accessible to subway and train. Downside about this hostel is the rooms. We stayed in a twin accomodation and my goodness, there is a very little space to move. There is no bathroom door but only a shower curtain. No chair, there is just no space. But they do have hot water. But if you are not really particular about the place you want to stay in, I highly recommend this place. If I go back in HK, will I stay in this hostel? hmmm, if i have money, i will not. but considering the prices of hotels in Nathan Road, I will probably consider this hostel again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ces168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The whole building is cockroach infested, it feels very un-safe. A guy in the lift was making sexual gestures towards me and I greatly feared for my safety and there's very few people around at night which contributes to the danger. The rooms are so small we couldn't fit our bags in around the bed so we had to pout them behind the door which made getting in and out of the room difficult. the bathroom was so small I had to sit on the toilet to wash myself with the shower head, I'm not exaggerating this is how small it is. The only good thing to say is it's right in the city centre

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GTLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The location of Chung King Mansions tempt many budget concious travellers into it's depths. I personally was there for one night (arranging a Chinese visa) and think you get what you pay for. It is very cheap (by Hong Kong standards) and provides you with a basic to dump your kit. My main advice is to NOT BOOK IN ADVANCE through agoda or booking as you will pay more and they will try and give you the worst room as they already have your money, if you walk in off the street you can haggle them down on price and make sure the room is clean before you hand over any of your hard earned travel budget!! There are loads of Indians and Africans hanging around trying to sell you rooms, watches, suits etc.... but as a single male traveller I never had a problem with them, although I did have to be quite forceful on occaision to get them to leave me alone. I wouldn't reccomend families or single female travellers here if they were planning to be returning late at night as they could feel intimidated howevere the rooms themselves were secure so if like me you plan to just hold up for the night I can't imagine you having a problem.

Room Tip: The Chung King mansion building is split in blocks, don't go for any hostels in block A as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion Block C where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

what you see on the internet is NOT what you get.

I booked the best room on the internet, paid in Euro and got the worst room in all my travel history. I rather go camping in some jungle than stay here!

Let me summaries my very bad experience and advice to you- in just two words- DONT GO!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank triwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

What you have booked,what the same we will offer to you.Your booking is Budget Room,we have so many options for you to choose,budget,standard,deluxe,all with different room size and facilities and different price.We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
I-Hotel Limited
I-Hotel Limited
#469 of 730 in Hong Kong
32 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#109 of 730 in Hong Kong
995 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,217 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,032 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Chung King Mansion Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Chung King Mansion Hostel

Address: Block C, Floor 7, Flat C5, Chung King Mansion, Nathan Road 36-44, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: £25 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Chung King Mansion Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with Free Internet Access,Air-condition,Fan,Television with Cable Channel,Telephone,Private Bathroom,24 hours hot water,Towel and Slipper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your New Chung King Mansion Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Chung King Mansion Hotel Hong Kong
New Chung King Mansion Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing