We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gross, Dingy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Chung King Mansion Hostel
Ranked #116 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Gross, Dingy”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I hated Chung King Mansion and all the pushy people in it. Location was perfect, but other than that...yuck. The elevators are always packed. When I had to leave for an early flight the elevators weren't even working and I carried my luggage down 7 floors in the fire escape stairwell to find that each floors door was blocked and I became trapped. I had to carry my belongings up to the 9th floor and across the whole complex to finally exit. Never again. I left itchy and pissed off.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KKwebster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    11
    13
    21
See reviews for
5
16
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
208 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

It is an unique feeling seeing all those different cultures to bound together in the same place. The place is full with youth and other kind of bag packers. The room was clean, I was lucky enough to have a window with a view on the Main Street which made me enjoy Hong Kong life day and night. The beds are very comfortable and the staff attend all our needs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I had read up on Hong Kong on a budget before I left the states, well here it is. I am happy to have had the experience, however you may want to take into consideration your individual circumstance before you make your choice. This is a Third world type of accommodation, Yes it is a clean room and adequate bed, you will save money, you will be forever blessed with the memory of entering the Chung King Mansion. Upon arrival, you will be greeted by multitudes of touts selling everything from cheap rooms to suits and watches. People will even steer you to curry restaurants on commission. Once you spend a night in "THE MANSION" you have earned your "TRAVELERS WINGS"

Room Tip: Make sure your specify a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jt08080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Česká republika
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The hotel has a good location, but very small rooms. From the airport to the hotel by bus A21, it stops at 14 Nathan Road - get off here and walk about 50 meters back. At the hotel on the ground floor is a lot of traders, not a good feeling, but do not bother and it's all safe.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IIveta I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Cork
Level Contributor
204 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

In short the pro's:
The location is fantastic
Free wifi
Very cheap for Hong Kong

The Con's:
Room is tiny
Bed is horribly uncomfortable
Tv has no English channels
They do not provide towels
Bathroom is for tiny people!
Building is generally grotty

Decide for yourself!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I agree with ces168, the positives are the location and its price. Unbeatable in a place like hong kong. But i must also admit that It was a little daunting as we tried to find our way to checkin, with the line up for the lifts and the eclectic mix of different cultures on the ground floor starring at you as you dragged all your belongs through their shops to another lift. Despite the room being no bigger than a king size bed it was clean, airconned, had a TV (no english channels) and most importantly for travelers free fast wifi! yes the shower is a hose over the toilet but it is a hot shower.

In short, i wouldn't recommend this place to female only travelers, but is perfect for couples looking to rest their head for the night in a clean and reasonably priced shoebox!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MimaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

There are positive things about this hostel, great location and cheap. It is located at the heart of Nathan Road where all the shopping malls, restaurants, fastfood chains and tourist attractions are located. It is also very accessible to subway and train. Downside about this hostel is the rooms. We stayed in a twin accomodation and my goodness, there is a very little space to move. There is no bathroom door but only a shower curtain. No chair, there is just no space. But they do have hot water. But if you are not really particular about the place you want to stay in, I highly recommend this place. If I go back in HK, will I stay in this hostel? hmmm, if i have money, i will not. but considering the prices of hotels in Nathan Road, I will probably consider this hostel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ces168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
I-Hotel Limited
I-Hotel Limited
#357 of 716 in Hong Kong
30 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Asia Travel House
Asia Travel House
#282 of 716 in Hong Kong
53 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Day and Night Hotel
Day and Night Hotel
#77 of 160 in Hong Kong
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InnSight
InnSight
#20 of 160 in Hong Kong
172 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Panda's Hostel
Panda's Hostel
#47 of 160 in Hong Kong
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Chung King Mansion Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Chung King Mansion Hostel

Property: New Chung King Mansion Hostel
Address: Block C, Floor 7, Flat C5, Chung King Mansion, Nathan Road 36-44, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — New Chung King Mansion Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with Free Internet Access,Air-condition,Fan,Television with Cable Channel,Telephone,Private Bathroom,24 hours hot water,Towel and Slipper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Chung King Mansion Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Chung King Mansion Hotel Hong Kong
New Chung King Mansion Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing