We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views on the harbour and very convenient position to visit HK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #34 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The hotel is located immediately on the harbour, and offers beautiful views on Tsim Sha Tsui. When I was looking for a hotel in HK firstly I looked for the Tsim Sha Tsui area but, being that I was going to leave on December 30th, most of the hotels on rhe harbour in that area seemed to be already booked or too expensive. Once arrived there, I discovered that the New Remaissance has a very good position because is far from the crowd of Tsim Sha Tsui but very well connected with it through the ferry which is just beside the hotel (it takes 10 minutes to cross the harbour and it is a pleasant way to move); it is also very well connected with the rest of the town because the Wan Chai MTR station (the subway) is just a 5 minutes walking distance. You can choose to use the covered passages which pass over the roads or walk in the area, which is really not as bad as I thought! Everything considered, if you'd like to visit the town it is probably better to stay on this part of the harbour because many attractions are on this side and you can also take a ferry from central (just 2 MTR stops away from Wan chai) to go to Macao or to the other Hong Kong islands.
The rooms of the hotels are very good (do not expect very large rooms because every room in HK is quite small, but that considered at the Renaissace you have quite space). I would recommend to spend a little more and ask for an harbour view room, it's great to see the harbour from the ceiling-to-floor window!
The room style is essential but provides everything you need, and everything is new and clean.
Finally, at the Café renaissance you will enjoy a huge and delicious buffet for breakfast (really huge!).

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandra_G73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,967 - 1,973 of 2,890 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

My first time in Hong Kong, so picked this hotel based on trip advisor. Rooms are really nice but a tad small...would of liked bigger. Staff are wonderful so far I'm loving the hotel however I have stayed in better 4-5 Star Accommodation

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Noisy rooms - poor sound insulation and constantly disturbed during the day by work in other rooms.
The 'Gym' is actually in the hotel next door ! (the Hyatt).
Breakfast is not great.
Difficult to reserve a table in the Hotel Restaurants even for hotel guest.
No Spa and the swimming pool is unheated so not useable in winter.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Exracer2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

When in HK, I think staying in the Western district is preferable. The Renaissance puts you slightly further away from the core, but understand all this is relative. You can easily anywhere either on foot or via the excellent public transit. I got a garden view room, would have preferred a harbor view, but too expensive. No complaints about the room itself, mine was the renovated so furnishings and decor were new and updated. I would only comment on the style which is a little too dark for my taste.
Breakfast excellent. I had dinner in the french restaurant on site and have to say the food is fantastic, if a little pricey (but then, that was expected)
Getting to the gym took a little extra discovery what with it being located in a different building.
Otherwise overall an excellent stay. No complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lipita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I loved the small yet zen-like rooms, and I did have the proper harbour view. Location is pretty good, though perhaps not as good as central for the swanky life. All in all a great business hotel that is not stratospherically priced!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0hnners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Shopping, dinning, the big bus tour, all within minutes of this hotel.

The service was spectacular, the rooms are well above average and have great beds, the food in the lobby bar was delicious and the breakfast buffet had any dish you could imagine.

The hotel faces the harbor and my room had a spectacular view.

I'd say you can't go wrong with this hotel in Hong Kong!!

Room Tip: Get a high floor with view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegas005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

$500+ USD per night for a suite. Seemed fair in HK. However, at that price I would expect a luxury hotel. This is not. Started with 15+ minutes for check in, and that is with no wait. Followed by my key not working and then arriving in my "non-smoking" suite to the strong smell of smoke. We were moved to a non- smoking room and 20+ minutes later my crib arrived (which was part of my reservation). The rooms are quite dated. And I was freezing for the duration of my stay. When I called maintenance, they said the heat doesn't kick on until it falls to 12c (which it did at night during my trip). Also, no gym on hotel premises. You need to walk outside 10 minutes to a neighboring apartment complex and equipment is dated.
Staff was friendly, conceirge was poor and harbor views were fantastic. Completely overrated. The Renaissance in Chicago is much less in price, and much better in service and facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#15 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,862 reviews
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#32 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,315 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#23 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,411 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 726 in Hong Kong
6,129 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Address: 1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £168 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 861
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, the hotel showcases panoramic Victoria Harbour view. It is less than 5 minutes by taxi to the central business district and major shopping areas, and is only a 10-minute walk to the Wanchai MTR subway station, while the iconic Star Ferry is just steps away, a perfect option for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers stylish guestrooms and a private club lounge, features diverse conference and banqueting facilities with a total area of 1,400 square metres, equipped with two LED walls and able to cater intimate to large-sized events. Our superb dining options range from authentic Cantonese cuisine, flavourful international buffet, to brand-new Mirage Bar & Restaurant with innovative cocktails and delectable western and Asian flair cuisine. An excellent range of recreational facilities are available, including a seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool and a 24-hour fitness centre for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing