We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Just for Convention Centre, but for Great Access to All of Hong Kong!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #31 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not Just for Convention Centre, but for Great Access to All of Hong Kong!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

I stayed 3 days and 3 nights at this Marriott Renaissance attached to the HK convention centre. I only was at the convention centre for 2 hours, but enjoyed the surrounding Wan Chai area the best. There are great restaurants, night clubs and shopping. There is even a 3HKD ferry attached where you can get to Kowloon shopping district in just 10 minutes. The hotel was definitely a 5 start with excellent service, great food, and reasonably priced at around $230 per night. I wasn't able to utilise the gym or pool, but it looked clean and respectable. I would definitely stay here again even if I wasn't attending a conference for the experience and quality based on price!

Room Tip: If you can afford to, use your Marriott Rewards to upgrade to the executive lounge or upgrade yourse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angusboy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,312
    912
    245
    58
    28
See reviews for
315
523
139
1,184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3.5 nights as a stopover on the way to Italy. The hotel is in a handy position in Wan Chai with the Star Ferry wharf across the road, lots of cafes in the area and raised covered walkways between all the main roads and buildings, with the subway close by as well. We found the staff to be reasonably friendly and efficient, but not excessively so. Our harbourview room was on the 28th floor and was quite small with only a sideways view of the famous harbour, but with a nice modern décor and free WiFi to Marriott Rewards members . The room has a laminate wooden floor which is a little hard under foot after long days sightseeing. Also there was no bath for a decent soak – just a large, albeit very good shower. There is no bathroom door so to speak – you walk in from the outside corridor into a wardrobe area on one wall and the open bathroom on the opposite side, with a door between here and the bedroom. There is a glass wall between the bathroom and bedroom, but there are closable blinds. The bathroom is small but well fitted out, only negative being there isn’t enough hanging space/rails. The room could actually do with more storage space and larger drawers. Another negative is the mattress - it was rock hard and by far the hardest mattress we’ve ever slept on with no give at all. It did appear to have a mattress topper on it which made little difference. The windows were double glazed, but there was faint noise from outside, and the fridge in the room was quite noisy as well. We had room service breakfast one morning which was on time, but reasonably frugal with only teabags – no real tea. Another morning we had breakfast downstairs in Café Renaissance and even though it has a reasonable choice of menu items, again there was no real tea – just teabags brought in a pot. The cafe has no windows and no atmosphere at all, whereas the lobby lounge is very nice. A third morning we had breakfast at a café in the building opposite which was very enjoyable. The pool area of the hotel is very pleasant, with a decent size swimming pool and gardens around it. There is an outdoor restaurant and bar and it’s a nice place to enjoy a cocktail. The hotel shares the grounds with the Grand Hyatt and they share facilities which are able to be charged back to your room. All in all we had a pleasant stay and the hotel is in a good area with decent facilities.

Room Tip: A harbourside room if well worth the extra, but ask for a high floor to you are above the convention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oz-Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Overall the experience at the Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View is excellent. The rooms are very modern and clean, some with wood floors. Some have complained about the size of the desk (really?), but has has one (see pics). Carpeted hallways cut down on traffic noise. Great location in the heart of the city on Hong Kong Island in the Wan Chai district. It's very close to the Wan Chai subway stop (2-3 blocks away). Numerous restaurants, bars, shopping malls, etc within a 5 minute walk. Excellent views of Victoria Harbour from nearly any floor. And for the gold and platinum Marriott members, there are the usual Marriott Hotel rewards, but the club level evening cocktails and snacks are not to be missed; incredible views of the city during the setting sun is an incredible experience. Additionally, breakfast is full service at the club level. I cannot comment on the restaurant/bar in the lobby as I did not visit.

The good:
1. The fully modern rooms
2. The room views
3. The club level (if you are authorized access to this)

The bad
1. The price at nearly $300 USD per night can be steep, however you are in Hong Kong. Good luck finding any quality hotel in Hong Kong of similar price.

The Ugly
1. No ugly here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South and Southeast side of the hotel will not have a view of the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This is our first trip to Hong Kong. We booked this hotel based on tripadvisor recommendations. It was the perfect choice. It is right next to the metro station, Star Ferry and has a grand view of the Harbour. The check in was easy and the staff were very friendly. I would consider it more of a business hotel (no spa on site) but bar and restaurant were great. I will certainly stay here again on my next trip.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that overlooks the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TallyHoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed here in early June, 2012 and I have nothing but good things to stay about all aspects of the hotel.
The great: The staff at reception! When we checked in we were warmly and professionally greeted by a gentleman named Juergen. He was extremely helpful and made us feel at home. I mentioned to him that I had just asked my fiancé to marry me the night before and he wished us congratulations and gave us a free upgrade on our room. He took the time to ask about our plans in Hong Kong and provided excellent suggestions that we used. Probably the warmest welcome I have ever received at a hotel. Experiences with employees like this are what keep customers and encourage glowing reviews like this one. The women at the club level desk was also excellent! Friendly at all times, and helped us with several issues. She provided us with several power adapters for our laptops free of charge. She even worked the phones trying to hunt down a lost iphone for us. (Amazingly enough she was successful and found out it had been left on an airport shuttle bus!) I wish I had gotten her name so I could acknowledge her help but I missed it.
The room! We were on the top floor (42nd) of the hotel, club level, and the view of the harbour was AMAZING. Huge full-length windows in both the bedroom and the adjoining suite. I highly recommend a harbour-view room, and if it is in your price range get a club level room. There are complimentary snacks, coffee, non alcoholic drinks as well as breakfast.
The good:
The hotel was at a good location next to the ferry dock. Easy to go across the harbour if you want. Also it is very close to the airport train. There is a free shuttle that services several hotels that runs all day (on the half hour I think but not sure exactly) It is a short shuttle ride. A cab from the hotel to the airport train cost us 20 HKD.
The Not so good:
Things were generally expensive here. This is a 5 star hotel (in Hong Kong no less) so cost may not be a concern for you, but 11$ (Canadian) for a fruit juice in the lobby bar is a little much..
If I come to Hong Kong again, I will definitely stay here and because of the great service I received I will be booking with Marriott again to see if this standard is maintained in all their hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rthibod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter Valley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed in a harbour view room which was very very clean, nicely decorated with incredible electrically controlled blinds which completely shut out the lights of the harbour at bed time. I had requested a high room if possible and was given the 35th floor. I thought 'wow' as this is not far from the very top. The receptionist asked if this was "alright". This is how obliging and helpful the staff are at this hotel. Nothing is too much trouble. As a Marriott member I had free Wifi in the room. If you need to print boarding passes (or anything else) it can be done for a very small fee at the business centre in the hotel. Ordered room service meal which was excellent and large servings. Taxis are easily obtained from the front of the hotel and are very cheap. On returning to airport by shuttle, instead of waiting out the front, the staff ask you to sit in the lounge and call you when it arrives. This is most relaxing and there is free Wifi in the lounge as well. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Book a harbour view room. Ask for a high floor room and if they can they will oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooyal222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I have stayed here several times on business trips. Good quality hotel in a decent central location. Good size rooms well maintained and pleasantly furnished. Breakfast buffet is pretty good although very busy at times. Harbour views are attractive. The hotel is geared to business visitors and maybe a bit sterile for a holiday or romantic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larry0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#15 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
#26 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#24 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#70 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#108 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Property: Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Address: No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 861
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, the hotel showcases panoramic Victoria Harbour view. It is less than 5 minutes by taxi to the central business district and major shopping areas, and is only a 10-minute walk to the Wanchai MTR subway station, while the iconic Star Ferry is just steps away, a perfect option for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers stylish guestrooms and a private club lounge, features diverse conference and banqueting facilities with a total area of 1,400 square metres, equipped with two LED walls and able to cater intimate to large-sized events. Our superb dining options range from authentic Cantonese cuisine, flavourful international buffet, to brand-new Mirage Bar & Restaurant with innovative cocktails and delectable western and Asian flair cuisine. An excellent range of recreational facilities are available, including a seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool and a 24-hour fitness centre for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing