We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$207
US$166
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$268
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$514
US$449
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$333
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$134
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
US$196
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$603
US$410
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$245
US$224
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$151
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Upper House(Hong Kong)
US$673
US$626
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,058)
Filter reviews
3,058 results
Traveller rating
1,642
1,046
270
64
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,642
1,046
270
64
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centerharbour viewdynasty restaurantstar ferry to kowloonwan chai mtr stationthe executive loungecovered walkwayclub levelbusiness hotellobby barbreakfast buffeteasy accessbusiness triphigh floorfantastic hotelferry terminalconvenient location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,995 - 2,000 of 3,058 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I may be being a little unfair, but I expected a little more from this hotel, but it was still very good. The staff were uber efficient, food good, general ambience very pleasant and a good all round hotel.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 38th floor with a Harbour view - quite something. An unobstructed view of the bay and beyond.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMC1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in June.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. Situated just off the harbor, if you have a harbour view room, from a high floor, the view is gorgeous (on a clear day). In the heart of Wan Chai, with easy covered access to the metro and just across the street from Star Ferry's wharf, you can readily get anywhere in town.

Staff are outgoing, eager to serve and speak great English (a treat for this Beijing resident). The breakfast buffet is huge and very good, though far from cheap. The Executive Lounge has a killer view and a nice spread. Be aware, though, that they gather up the food and liquor precisely at last call (7:30 for food and 9 for liquor, I think). And spirits are poured by staff, so you can't get the usual exec-lounge heavy-handed pour as a roadie when they come for last call. ;)

Rooms are quite small, though very nicely appointed. There's lots to do in HK, so I didn't feel much need to hang out there, but I think I'd go stir crazy if I had to spend much time cooped up in the tiny space. Bathroom was also small, but nicely designed and functional (shower only). Biggest beef is that there's ZERO storage/closet space. You get an open combo luggage rack/hanger/ironing-board storage area when you first walk in that barely held my small carryon bag, and since there was no drawer space in the room, that meant everything just ended up piled on top of my small suitcase or the desk's chair. If someone was travelling for an extended stay - or rolled up with a big suitcase, you'd be living off the floor.

Room rates are bloody expensive, like all other high end hotels in Wan Chai...

Room Tip: The higher the better, in order to enjoy the fantastic view...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrHao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Hotel location is the best if you always go with public transportation (train and ferry), it has cover walkway to wan chai mrt for 10-15 mins. Also a short walk to catch star ferry to ave of stars.

Staff service is good, bed very comfortable and space is not too small. Furniture and design is pretty nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohanJohanJohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I stayed 3 days and 3 nights at this Marriott Renaissance attached to the HK convention centre. I only was at the convention centre for 2 hours, but enjoyed the surrounding Wan Chai area the best. There are great restaurants, night clubs and shopping. There is even a 3HKD ferry attached where you can get to Kowloon shopping district in just 10 minutes. The hotel was definitely a 5 start with excellent service, great food, and reasonably priced at around $230 per night. I wasn't able to utilise the gym or pool, but it looked clean and respectable. I would definitely stay here again even if I wasn't attending a conference for the experience and quality based on price!

Room Tip: If you can afford to, use your Marriott Rewards to upgrade to the executive lounge or upgrade yourself for around $80 USD per night. The cost is worth it as you get a buffett breakfast, dinner and happy hour, all 5 star quality, especially if staying with family as it will save you a ton of money!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angusboy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3.5 nights as a stopover on the way to Italy. The hotel is in a handy position in Wan Chai with the Star Ferry wharf across the road, lots of cafes in the area and raised covered walkways between all the main roads and buildings, with the subway close by as well. We found the staff to be reasonably friendly and efficient, but not excessively so. Our harbourview room was on the 28th floor and was quite small with only a sideways view of the famous harbour, but with a nice modern décor and free WiFi to Marriott Rewards members . The room has a laminate wooden floor which is a little hard under foot after long days sightseeing. Also there was no bath for a decent soak – just a large, albeit very good shower. There is no bathroom door so to speak – you walk in from the outside corridor into a wardrobe area on one wall and the open bathroom on the opposite side, with a door between here and the bedroom. There is a glass wall between the bathroom and bedroom, but there are closable blinds. The bathroom is small but well fitted out, only negative being there isn’t enough hanging space/rails. The room could actually do with more storage space and larger drawers. Another negative is the mattress - it was rock hard and by far the hardest mattress we’ve ever slept on with no give at all. It did appear to have a mattress topper on it which made little difference. The windows were double glazed, but there was faint noise from outside, and the fridge in the room was quite noisy as well. We had room service breakfast one morning which was on time, but reasonably frugal with only teabags – no real tea. Another morning we had breakfast downstairs in Café Renaissance and even though it has a reasonable choice of menu items, again there was no real tea – just teabags brought in a pot. The cafe has no windows and no atmosphere at all, whereas the lobby lounge is very nice. A third morning we had breakfast at a café in the building opposite which was very enjoyable. The pool area of the hotel is very pleasant, with a decent size swimming pool and gardens around it. There is an outdoor restaurant and bar and it’s a nice place to enjoy a cocktail. The hotel shares the grounds with the Grand Hyatt and they share facilities which are able to be charged back to your room. All in all we had a pleasant stay and the hotel is in a good area with decent facilities.

Room Tip: A harbourside room if well worth the extra, but ask for a high floor to you are above the convention centre which is in fronf of the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oz-Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews