We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather lonesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #31 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

This hotel is connected to the HK Exhibition Centre and the Grand Hyatt. on Fodor's recommendation, we went to the lounge for some live jazz music. it was a Saturday night and no band was playing. The view from the lounge did not commend itself. Altogether a rather sad existence.

Stayed: August 2012
1  Thank busybeesbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,810 - 1,816 of 2,851 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

Great hotel with friendly staff. Located right at the Wanchai and nearby to office buildings. 7-11 and others food stalls nearby. Free internet access for members, however wifi can be improved.

Clean and spacious room. Will surely revisit again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnantasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Hotel is first class in staff and physcial building and surround. Next to water and beautiful sights from rooms. Lobby and restaurants the best.
Just a really wonderful experience.
Location is close and you could walk to most all things or to transportation.

Room Tip: Get through travel agent or internet. Look for deal and you can get it. I paid the same or just a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Room is not spacious but was functional and stylishly decorated.
Air-con was turned down far too cold for my liking :20 degrees. This is pretty normal in HK I gather.
Internet connection worked fine.
Breakfast is excellent. Make sure you hang around for the freshly-baked custard tarts that the waitress comes around with every half-hour!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGlen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed at the renaissance for business (again) and it was really impressive. The view over HK harbour is spectacular, especially after dark. If I visit HK again I would probably stay somewhere a little more central although I think that would mean compromising on quality of hotel. If you do stay here however, taxis are ridiculously cheap so its not a problem. You can walk but when I visited HK it was so humid walking was not an option after day one!

Back to the hotel-some of the best service I've ever had, the staff were so welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much. Rooms and beds were great, modern, v.clean (I'm extremely fussy on cleanliness) and comfortable. Returning to renaissance after a days hustle, bustle and crazy heat was a welcome relief.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kateeenright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I have stayed here several times over the last five years and am always impressed. It is so well located, overlooking the Star Ferry and a quick (covered) walk to Wanchai or the Conference Centre. This time (July 2012) I had a corner room but the views were just as splendid as in the more expensive harbour view rooms - huge windows (throught which I witnessed a Number 8 typhoon as well as all the harbourside festivities laid on for a visit from the Chinese premier). The room was light and beautifully refurbished in blond wood and glass with a good sized bathroom (no bath however). The double room was fine for me my own but might have been a little small for two as no room for an armchair. As usual, the variety of international foods at the breakfast buffet was a delight and the staff all smiling and helpful. I was particularly grateful to concierge Bernard who looked after me when my ride to the mainland never turned up - he kindly phoned all the right people and sent me off to relax in the lobby till the problem was sorted. So thanks Bernard! I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Garden corner rooms still have the harbour view but are less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ac_fava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I’ve stayed here lots, and in the past would have agreed with the generally positive flavour of reviews. However I have just stayed in one of their newly refurbished rooms (they have been renovating for ages, and are still renovating some areas) and their new design (while good in some things) has the worst designed bathroom I have ever seen (and I travel lots).

I guess in an attempt to have a more spacious room, there is now no door between what is a combined entry hall/wardrobe and bathroom. Instead, there is a door separating this entry/bathroom from the bedroom. So you enter straight into a wide room which serves as entry hall, wardrobe, shelves, safe etc and bathroom. If there are two people in the room, this means that one can’t enter, exit, or get to the wardrobe without walking in on a person in the shower on the toilet. If you are the sort who likes to lock the bathroom door (e.g. to keep small children out), you can’t, I suppose because this would effectively lock them in the bedroom and so be a fire hazard.

I stayed with my partner for a week, and we are fairly relaxed (ie I don’t mind if he walks in on me in the shower, but not on the toilet and vice versa). But it was a real pain never being able to get in and out or get to clothes while giving them privacy e.g. if one of us was out, and you wanted to go the toilet, you have to latch them out of the room to stop them walking in on you. The door between the bathroom and bedroom also has large holes at the base, so there is little separation in the bathroom from the sounds and smells of the bathroom (which was not fun when I was sick all night and making repeated visits to the bathroom.

This design might work for a sole occupant (or for what I imagine are the rare couples who don’t mind their partner walking in on them on the toilet and in the shower). Even for singles, when my partner was out I found it off putting to have no door on the bathroom e.g. if you forget to latch the door and are in the shower, hotel staff could easily walk in on you, because you might not hear the bell.

I can’t believe that a hotel chain would have proceeded with such a stupid, stupid design, when they could easily have put a door between the entrance hall and the bathroom (as they used to have, and still have in the unrenovated rooms!). I suspect they will have to retrofit them when they realise that most couples will hate this design. Meanwhile, I would suggest couples avoid this hotel, or ask for an older style room with a door on the bathroom!

Ps and why do hotels like this spend so much money on everything, but can’t provide a decent hairdryer – giving something which may be fine for men, but takes forever to dry longer female hair!

Room Tip: If there are more than two of you, check that there is a door on your bathroom (see my review) which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suzn1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#15 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,825 reviews
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#30 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,289 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#8 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,586 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#23 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,463 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Address: 1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £148 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 861
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, the hotel showcases panoramic Victoria Harbour view. It is less than 5 minutes by taxi to the central business district and major shopping areas, and is only a 10-minute walk to the Wanchai MTR subway station, while the iconic Star Ferry is just steps away, a perfect option for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers stylish guestrooms and a private club lounge, features diverse conference and banqueting facilities with a total area of 1,400 square metres, equipped with two LED walls and able to cater intimate to large-sized events. Our superb dining options range from authentic Cantonese cuisine, flavourful international buffet, to brand-new Mirage Bar & Restaurant with innovative cocktails and delectable western and Asian flair cuisine. An excellent range of recreational facilities are available, including a seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool and a 24-hour fitness centre for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing