We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old, poor eating options”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #31 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,809 reviews
330 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 672 helpful votes
“Old, poor eating options”
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

I arrived via taxi from thr airport and quickly realised it would have been better to take the airport train to hongkong station and then take a taxi to the hotel. Check-in was slowish with 2 lines forming. It's deceptive as a giant pillar is in between the 2 lines and you can't tell which line is shorter or moving faster unless you know this place very well and check it out first before deciding on the line. I got a low floor on the 15th (hotel has 40 floors) with no harbor view. What a pity for the hotel. And it's ironical I'm staying in a hotel with Harbor view in the name and i don't get the view. The room is normal in size and thankfully has the flat screen tv and shower which I prefer. The tv however has a bad remote that takes 10 clicks to get anything going, even turning on or off the tv. The phone is not friendly for the business traveler as there's no speakerphone option and you have to hold it for your hour long teleconferences. They don't have international newspapers too, and they ask you to purchase from the gift shop, hmm. The hotel also has no good eating options. The Chinese and Italian restaurants here are not ranked high on tripadvisor so I stayed away. The in-room dining service and food quality was ok - the traditional local beef noodles were good and the chicken rice not so good. I've been to hongkong 10 times but first time staying in wanchai. Will try the new Indigo hotel in wanchai next time

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,374
    939
    249
    59
    27
See reviews for
333
537
141
1,230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My wife wanted to surprise me with a birthday cake while she was at home and I was unfortunately travelling for work. The Renaissance happily obliged and created a delicious mango cheese cake for my birthday. Not only did the hotel staff arrive perfectly on time with a cake for me while I was skyping with my wife but they were happy for me to take the cake glassware to my office so I could share the cake with my colleagues. The service was already above average, but this was a really very sincere gesture to me. I have never seen service like this in any other hotel. I was very impressed and very happy to have stayed there. Many thanks!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gullwings13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York and Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I called Renaissance Harbour View Hotel because my husband was staying there for work over his birthday. I wanted to order a piece of cake to his room. They ended up bringing an entire cheesecake to his room, on the house, with a personalised message. He said that in addition to the cake, the housekeeping staff also stopped what they were doing in the hallway to wish him happy birthday.

He also liked the view from the room and really enjoyed his stay there. Great work!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmfsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
from North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here in February for three nights at the start of a round the world trip. We paid the extra for a club room and it was well worth it. First of all our room on the 38th floor had tremendous views of Hong Kong harbour which would take some beating. Breakfast was included in the club lounge on the 40th floor with an excellent choice of food given that this was not the actual restaurant. We were also very pleasantly surprised with the additional afternoon tea, aperitifs and snacks from 5-7pm that were also complimentary. Service and friendliness of the staff were exemplary with none of the impersonal feeling you often get in large hotels. Our room was immaculate and well appointed and comfortable. The concierge staff were very knowledgeable and helpful to us when planning sightseeing trips. Fabulous outdoor pool on a high floor which doesn't feel like you are on a hotel roof!! A big bonus is that the hotel is located right next to the star ferry for crossing the harbour to Kowloon and less than 10 minutes walk to the nearest metro/underground line .Would definitely stay here again on another visit to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: As high a floor as possible with a harbour view - well worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swisstrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

As a seasoned traveller to Hong Kong, I have stayed in dozens of hotels over the past 25 years. Hong Kong has some of the best hotels in the world but the Renaissance WanChai really is superb. The location is convenient for both the Island and Kowloon having the Star Ferry within 5 minutes walking distance. However, what makes the Renaissance stand out from other hotels is the level of service and the feeling of "home from home". The bars, the restaurants, the executive club lounge, everywhere you go you are made to feel welcome and the food is excellent. It takes something special to make me write a glowing review, but this hotel really is one of the best I have stayed in anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but corner suites have great views of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coal City, IL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We are Marriott travelers and have stayed at the JW Marriott in Hong Kong but decided to stay at the Renaissance this time. Unfortunately a building has been built in front of the Marriott, blocking some views of the harbor. The Renaissance, on the other hand, stands behind the Convention Center which is low and has wonderful views of the whole harbor. You are only steps away from the Wan Chai Ferry terminal. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were lucky enough to have access to the club lounge. The food and staff there are amazing. If you can find a way to access that lounge, do it.

Room Tip: Of course, ask for a harbor view. Another tip, be sure to buy an Octopus Card for the subway, especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stay on the executive floors with a room that has a harbor view if possible. Spectacular view of harbor and Kowloon. Executive lounge access is well worth it for the view and the free breakfast, and afternoon appetizers/drinks. Amazing amount of boat traffic both large and small. Rooms are small but well equipped and spotless. The hotel has a band in the lobby in the evenings playing mood music usually with a singer. The fitness center is very well equipped. The large pool provides another workout opportunity. The bar at the pool is provides a restaurant option as well. Did I mention the tennis courts that are 4 floors up. The hotel is steps away from the Star Ferry and from the convention center.

Corporate discounts are available for advance bookings.

ron p

Room Tip: stay on the executive level if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#16 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
#27 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#25 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#69 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Property: Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Address: No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 861
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, the hotel showcases panoramic Victoria Harbour view. It is less than 5 minutes by taxi to the central business district and major shopping areas, and is only a 10-minute walk to the Wanchai MTR subway station, while the iconic Star Ferry is just steps away, a perfect option for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers stylish guestrooms and a private club lounge, features diverse conference and banqueting facilities with a total area of 1,400 square metres, equipped with two LED walls and able to cater intimate to large-sized events. Our superb dining options range from authentic Cantonese cuisine, flavourful international buffet, to brand-new Mirage Bar & Restaurant with innovative cocktails and delectable western and Asian flair cuisine. An excellent range of recreational facilities are available, including a seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool and a 24-hour fitness centre for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing