We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #31 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed here recently with my family and it provided an ideal location to get out and about and explore HK as it was close to the MTR, elevated walkways and Star Ferry. We had an amazing view over the harbour from our room and even from the women's sauna. Facilities were good, the staff were extremely helpful and the hotel was spotlessly clean. The only reason for not giving it an excellent rating was the slight lack of information provided at times regarding restaurants and the swimming pool facilities being organised by the neighbouring Grand Hyatt hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a harbour view room to make the most of the amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,416 - 1,422 of 2,851 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

I honestly can't say enough about how I loved this hotel. We can start with the location. Its connected via skywalk to the MTR. Easy to use. Works more efficiently than any underground I have ever used. Next, the ferry station is right across the street. Literally you are two stops from central. Whats nice is you can get anywhere. Disney, Lantau Island, Mong Kok. Doesn't matter.
With the navigators you are in good hands here. You wont get lost. The maps are detailed and excellent. Although I recommend cabbing it from the airport. Its not that expensive. Maybe 50.00 USD. Its worth it not to carry bags through airport express on crowded trains and buses.
When you land taxi system works very efficiently. Use the RED cabs when you land. They are fast. They have a check in system where they move people right along through the line.
Next, we can address check in. The representatives are friendly enough. Funny though, I always read about people getting upgraded and even as someone who works in the travel industry you would think it would happen for me but didn't. That was a little disappointing. It can be rather crowded at this hotel. The lobby is always buzzing and rather noisy. Due to the MTR and its proximity to the convention center its ALWAYS busy. At night, its actually quite pretty candles are lit and its quite the place to catch a drink before dinner. The rooms were a little small. Comfortable though. I did not really consider this to be an issue. The beds are fabulous and linens the softest I have EVER felt in my life. Ive tried to reproduce this at home and bought sheets from marriott.. but even mine dont feel like this. Super soft and sleep easy!! Wish I could have brought the whole bed home!!! I did NOT however care for the window with blinds separating the room from the bathroom. I think better blinds need to be put in that are electronic that come down from the window. Not blinds that pull with strings and rods. Invest in better that offer more privacy to your guests.
Room service was expensive but very good. Food was plentiful and we never had to wait long. Always delivered on a nice table and it was delicious for sure.
Housecleaning was GREAT. Rooms were always spotless and towels replaced. Great set up. They give you everything you need. They even provided an transformer for us to charge our things when ours failed.
I travel frequently being part of the profession. I also consider myself somewhat of a hotel snob. This hotel passes the test. I have nothing bad to say. I thank everyone at the property that help make the stay of a life time.

Room Tip: High floors away from elevators. Very quiet, Nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annie517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Many options for a great view in this hotel. Rooms are clean and I felt safe. Many of the rooms are quite small, and the temperature control was drastically inadequate. Good selection for on-site restaurants; easily accessible to shopping and the convention center. Service at the front desk and in the restaurant was slow.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhi_hkghv, General Manager at Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear MickMill

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We sincerely apologize your experience with us was other than wonderful, and will work towards improvements in areas you have identified.

Many thanks for your valuable comments, which will definitely lead to further enhance our services and products.

Warm regards
Hans Loontiens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a very busy (is there any other in HK?) hotel with many business clients but is equally caring towards leisure travellers. The staff are excellent and the accommodation first class. The hotel is ideally situated for a short stay during which you want to fit in the maximum sightseeing. Minor beef is the cost of breakfast and, if you do not want the full cooked, you have to be careful to make that clear as it is pretty well assumed and the bill presented accordingly (although retrospective negotiation is possible).

Room Tip: Harbour View rooms have a magnificent outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheriffb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is one of the, if not the, best Renaissances I've stayed in. I used Marriott points to book my stay here, so I can't comment on the true $ costs of the rooms as the normal rates are quite high, but the rooms are great and definitely up to standard Renaissance quality.

We got a room facing the harbour on the 36th floor and the view was better from our room than many of the places guide books told us to go to see great views. The concierge lounge was also very good, it's 2 floors, so it's pretty big and the food was definitely above average compared to other Marriott lounges. Everyone I encountered spoke English very well and the gym was pretty good too. I have nothing bad to say about his hotel at all.

Room Tip: Pay extra if you need to for the rooms facing the harbour or access to the concierge lounge because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ee978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is my number 4th visit to Hong Kong and my 1st stay at this wonderful hotel. When it comes to HK the choices of hotels are ridiculous! so many choices!!!. I think it comes down where you want to stay, what do you want to see? and how much money are you willing to spend. The Harbour View it is a great hotel with a beautiful view of the HK Harbour right across the convention center, so for any of you business people who are planning to attend any Convention if you company has the budget go for it! not just to attend conventions but for everything else!. As a Renaissance Harbour club member we have a special check in floor as well as endless free drinks or happy hours from 5pm to 730pm, which it makes me very lovely and fun to spend your evening before going out in town. We stayed at the Harbour view room (nice!!!) you just can beat the view. In a nutshell: You have the money then just go there. Down side: far distance from any subway system but taxis are cheap!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I checked in for 6 nights, for a suite for 5000hk dollars night, the suite was very small,its ok by hk standards i think,, i got a very low floor, thats also ok as there is a exhibition going on, the only reason i am giving 3 stars instead of 0 is the great view the hotel gives you when you get club access. So the good exhibiton hall , good view if you have club access.
the bad, small room, the carpet was stained ??!! is it a five star,not very comfortable beds, very difficult to connect to the internet if you have a windows 8 pc, IOS is fine, i was supposed to get a daily news paper didn't get it, and horribly expensive I paid 32,000 hk dollars for 6 nights for that i could have stayed at the peninsula and take a 2 dollar ferry to the hong kong exhibition halls. i figured that out after understanding the geography of hk, they are charging for the location, hotel is nothing great.
and take the ferry and you will have much better hotel choices if you are just going for the exhibition. Oh yes, no spa, no steam, sauna Jacuzzi in the gym ? The breakfast at the club lounge was decent for a 3 to 4 star not a 5 star at all, or maybe dubai has spoilt us. Overall I am not coming back here, very dated hotel, Oh yes i was supposed to get a suit pressing free, they charged me i had to reverse it. and a lot of other minor things from the person in the phone not understanding i am supposed to get a daily news paper and no real apology for their mistakes.

Room Tip: If you are going for the hktdc exhibition stay at kowloon and take the wanchai ferry, you will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rohitdavinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhi_hkghv, General Manager at Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Rohitdavinci

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed during your stay. The hotel room and service were unfortunately failed to meet your expectation, for which we sincerely apologize. Please contact me at rhi.hkghv.executive.office@renaissancehotels.com so that we can improve in the areas where we fall short.

I sincerely look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards
Hans Loontiens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#15 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,825 reviews
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#30 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,289 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#8 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,586 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#23 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,463 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Address: 1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £148 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 861
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, the hotel showcases panoramic Victoria Harbour view. It is less than 5 minutes by taxi to the central business district and major shopping areas, and is only a 10-minute walk to the Wanchai MTR subway station, while the iconic Star Ferry is just steps away, a perfect option for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers stylish guestrooms and a private club lounge, features diverse conference and banqueting facilities with a total area of 1,400 square metres, equipped with two LED walls and able to cater intimate to large-sized events. Our superb dining options range from authentic Cantonese cuisine, flavourful international buffet, to brand-new Mirage Bar & Restaurant with innovative cocktails and delectable western and Asian flair cuisine. An excellent range of recreational facilities are available, including a seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool and a 24-hour fitness centre for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing