We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #29 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel was handily placed for conference taking place in the adjoining convention and exhibition centre. Had panoramic view of harbour from the 32nd floor. Room was a bit small, but had everything a traveler needs. Breakfast was opulent. Sometimes long taxi queues. Food was excellent, if a bit pricey. Good location to access ferry to Kowloon.

Room Tip: Jut ask for room with harbour view from 30th floor onwards.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vazerol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhi_hkghv, General Manager at Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Vazerol

Thank you for sharing your experience, we are delighted that you had a great experience overall in our hotel.

We look forward to seeing your return soon.

Regards
Hans Loontiens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,791)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,324 - 1,330 of 2,792 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed her for 5 days after arriving from a long flight. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. They sincerely tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Special thank you to Charlotte, she is wonderful. The rooms are spotless, modern and have the most wonderful view. The building works going on by the water is definitely not loud enough to stop me from returning to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussietravelfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhi_hkghv, General Manager at Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Aussietravelfamily

I am glad that you had a splendid time with us. Thank you for your comment about our fabulous ambassador – Charlotte Lau, we share this throughout the hotel as example of great hospitality and guest engagement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Sincerely
Hans Loontiens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Boing, Boing, Boing. Pile driving. Construction on the Harbour. Great Marriott property but if you want a nap or sleep during the day keep that in mind, Great location, Ferry to Kowloon out the door.Subway Convention center right here too. Grocery, restaurants near by,

Room Tip: harbor construction. noise!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gracielulu10960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhi_hkghv, General Manager at Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Gracielulu10960

I am happy that you found our location convenient. Please contact us directly at rhi.hkghv.executive.office@renaissancehotels.com if you would prefer a garden view room which is quieter but you do lose the fabulous Harbour view.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely
Hans Loontiens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Harbor view was so beautiful! Just thinking about it, I feel like I was in a dream. It was the first time I've ever left the hotel curtains open 24 hours of the day. I didn't want to block the view for a moment, even through the rain storm it was amazing. The bathroom set up is a little unusual, as the entry door is IN the bathroom and the blinds don't work well on the bathroom windows. The hotel's lobby is beautiful and inviting. We enjoyed just relaxing and listening to the live music, while people watching. We invited our daughter and her friends, who were all "Studying Abroad" at CUHK, to join us for dinner. The buffet was fantastic! They were elated and overwhelmed by the selection, as were my husband and I. The breakfast buffet is just as amazing. The hotel's staff is very welcoming and accommodating. It took us a day or so the figure that we could walk through our hotel all the way to the train station and into the shopping area bridge. The hotel has a Starbucks right in the lobby area. It's the first time I've ever had a ginger spiced coffee at a Starbuck's and it was delicious! Overall, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kschlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhi_hkghv, General Manager at Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Kschlink

I am glad that you enjoy the harbour view and dinner in our hotel.

Your comment regarding to the room design is noted, and we do have other room design option, please contact us directly at rhi.hkghv.executive.office@renaissancehotels.com for your room preference.

Yours sincerely
Hans Loontiens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We picked this hotel in a hasty rush when booking our holiday and did not get to do our usual research. We were SO relieved to discover that this hotel is just beautiful and luxurious. The location is so convenient as it is attached to the Hong Kong Convention Centre and is a 2 minute walk to Star Ferry and just a 5 minute walk on the undercover elevated walkways to the MTR Station (Wan Chai stop) which is the extremely easy to use Train System. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a Harbour View room on the 37th Floor with spectacular views over the Harbour to watch the Ferries and Cruise Ships come and go and then at night time to see the Illuminated Skyline of Hong Kong. The Buffet Breakfast is so extensive and just delicious (too delicious?!). There is a beautiful outdoor pool and a poolside bar that makes delicious Mojitos (amongst other things I am sure!). There is a fantastic Gym with modern and state of the art gym equipment (both Cardio and Weights Machines). All Staff are so friendly and helpful. There was not one negative to mention about this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: It is worth paying for a Harbour View Room. If you can afford to pay for the Executive Club Room thi...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ainsworths14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhi_hkghv, General Manager at Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Ainsworths14

We are happy that you have a marvelous time at our hotel and look forward to your return.

Sincerely
Hans Loontiens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here to attend a private function that took place at the hotel and since we were only in Hong Kong for a long weekend it made sense to cut down transport costs. The hotel is also located within close walking distance to the Star Ferry and a quick walk on a covered elevated pathway to the metro station. It's also easy for any Taxi driver to find.

The good:
Amenities were all what you would expect from an upper level chain hotel, with small touches like complimentary traditional tea and candies. They have a 1 Michelin Star restaurant (Dynasty) with great pork buns. We were able to try their breakfast, all day dining restaurant, room service and banquet menus (due to the function we attended) and all were above average.

The staff was also quick and helpful. The woman at the front desk at the time (I believe her name was Wendy) was quick to answer all questions and helped us find all we needed in the surrounding area.

The not so good:
While the harbour view was nice, it was also mostly taken up by the construction site next door which can also get noisy. I would still recommend paying for a harbour view room because otherwise the smaller space would feel claustrophobic.

Room Tip: From the fire escape plan I saw, rooms that directly face the construction site have their floor num...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreeAgentX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhi_hkghv, General Manager at Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear FreeAgentX

I am happy that you are pleased with your overall stay. We are sorry that you were disturbed by the outside construction noise. Please contact us directly at rhi.hkghv.executive.office@renaissancehotels.com for your next visit so that we can work it out together.

Sincerely
Hans Loontiens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days due to local conference. Check in was a breeze. I was sharing a room they accommodated easily to change room to one with double bed.
We were initially on 14th floor harvoy view and you can hear the construction by honestly it took me a while to notice it.

They later changed our room, same day, to 33rd flr (not sure..but the staff said it that's the grade room we booked & it had better view).
So now we had better view by you can still hear the construction. Again, the noise is NOTHING that will keep you awake...unless the drop of a pen wakes you, then fine. And I am a light sleeper. The noise(pile) starts ~730am & I am never there when they go home.

Like other reviewer said, lots of construction along the harbour in general.

Staff very friendly. We had access to lounge floor where there is comp breakfast (for certain guests I think). Nice buffet options.

Great pool though I didn't go in. I thoroughly enjoyed the gym daily. Very nice. Good equipment, lots of room, water, towel, fruit, tea..etc.

I give it 4 stars only because I felt the 1st room we had on lower floor was actually better quality room then the one on 33rd flr. Lower flr was more spacious and bathroom was large.
Higher floor felt cramped, way smaller bathroom. Not enough counter space. Room was just smaller but better view. Not sure the grade up was worth it honestly.

33rd floor as well had this moldy spell once we exit the elevator and this smell was strong in our bathroom ( we were right by elevator). Smelled seriously moldy.

I would recommend hotel. Convention center was connected so no need to walk out. Ferry stations nearby for easy commute to Kowloon..subway was also nearby.
Good location actually.

Thank Naijagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rhi_hkghv, General Manager at Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Naijagirl

Thank you for sharing your stay with us in TripAdvisor.

We sincerely apologize your experience with us was other than wonderful, and will work towards improvements in areas you have identified.

Please contact us directly at rhi.hkghv.executive.office@renaissancehotels.com for your next visit so that we can assist you further with your room preference.

I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards
Hans Loontiens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#16 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,743 reviews
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#26 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,238 reviews
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
#13 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#22 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,294 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Address: 1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £166 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 861
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, the hotel showcases panoramic Victoria Harbour view. It is less than 5 minutes by taxi to the central business district and major shopping areas, and is only a 10-minute walk to the Wanchai MTR subway station, while the iconic Star Ferry is just steps away, a perfect option for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers stylish guestrooms and a private club lounge, features diverse conference and banqueting facilities with a total area of 1,400 square metres, equipped with two LED walls and able to cater intimate to large-sized events. Our superb dining options range from authentic Cantonese cuisine, flavourful international buffet, to brand-new Mirage Bar & Restaurant with innovative cocktails and delectable western and Asian flair cuisine. An excellent range of recreational facilities are available, including a seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool and a 24-hour fitness centre for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing