We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Conrad Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$480
Conrad
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$562
US$404
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$524
Cordis Official
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Metropark Hotel Mongkok(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$345
US$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel ICON(Hong Kong)
US$606
US$495
Hotel ICON Official Website
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$599
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$547
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$899
US$785
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$348
US$255
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (3,054)
Filter reviews
3,054 results
Traveller rating
1,641
1,044
269
64
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,641
1,044
269
64
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centerharbour viewdynasty restaurantstar ferry to kowloonwan chai mtr stationthe executive loungecovered walkwayclub levelbusiness hotellobby barbreakfast buffeteasy accessbusiness triphigh floorfantastic hotelferry terminalconvenient location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,505 - 1,510 of 3,054 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Nice hotel and I usually like to stay in it. However, recently I found out that this hotel offers much lower price to Mainland Chinese travel agencies for Mainland Chinese to stay in the hotel. I found out this when I booked through the Taobao.com which many Chinese travel agencies use. Only I found the price they offer are only for Mainland Chinese citizens. As an American citizen, you would be paying for the same room in the same hotel but only double the price. The Chinese travel agency indicated this is not a differentiation on their part but an instruction from the hotel. I wonder why?

Room Tip: they will upgrade you usually unless busy time for the convention
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shanghai_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhi_hkghv, General Manager at Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear shanghai_traveller

Thank you for sharing this.

Unfortunately the information you have been given is 100% inaccurate, we do not discriminate in any manner with our pricing, and sell only one price to travel agents. Please contact us at rhi.hkghv.executive.office@renaissancehotels.com so we may get some more detail. We are sorry this marred what would have been a wonderful stay I am sure.

I look forward to hearing from you soon, and you having the opportunity for you to return.

Sincerely
Hans Loontiens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent business hotel.
I was on business in Wanchai, and this was the perfect location. Easily accessible to the Wanchai office buildings by the elevated walkway.
Checkin was friendly and fast. Very efficient. Quite bureaucratic - lots of paperwork to sign, and they wanted some sort of ID for the corporate rate - a business card was fine.
The room was excellent with a wonderful harbor view. There is construction going on in reclaimed land in front of the hotel. Will it still be the Renaissance Harbour View? It's incredible that waterfront properties can suddenly be relegated to one street back from the waterfront due to reclaimed harbor projects, but welcome to China - well, to be accurate, SAR.
The room had all the usual expected amenities and a couple of pleasant surprises too - bananas were left in my room each morning. Housekeeping was flawless, and apart from even more paperwork on check out, the process was very friendly and smooth.
One tip - I had a meeting at the Cricket Club and didn't have a clue how to tell a Chinese speaking cab driver the address. The very friendly and helpful staff at the cab rank have cards and will write the directions in Chinese for the cab driver.
One other tip - the star ferry has a pier right across the street from the hotel... very highly recommended for crossing over to Kowloon and incredible Victoria Harbor vistas.
Overall - highly recommended if business takes you to Wanchai, or the convention center area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmppwwzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhi_hkghv, General Manager at Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear mmppwwzz

I am happy that you are very pleased with your room, the view, our amenities and your overall stay. The location is very friendly to Hong Kong and the ambassadors are always engaging.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely
Hans Loontiens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The quality of this hotel is as you would expect from a 4* Marriott but the facilities are fantastic - the pool is very long and the gym has an extensive range of equipment and exceeded my expectations. We booked for room only and the restaurant is quite expensive - having said that it is definitely worth a treat one or two mornings of your stay , if not Starbucks and M&S food is just down the walkway. Downside for us was the noise from the building works outside the garden/harbour view side of the hotel. Either book a room high up, say floor 30 or above or go for a quiet room which overlooks the swimming pool.

Room Tip: view of pool is quieter due to building works that I believe are due to continue for a year or two. Do not pay extra for harbour view unless they guarantee a high room. Photo is from floor 30.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhi_hkghv, General Manager at Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Sarah W

Thank you for your comments, I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, our pool and gym facilities. We regret that you were disturbed due to the outside noise. Please contact us at rhi.hkghv.executive.office@renaissancehotels.com if you would prefer a garden view room which is quieter, but you do lose the fabulous Harbour view.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Renaissance Harbour View Hotel soon.

Sincerely
Hans Loontiens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hotel has been fairly recently renovated so has a stylish modern look about it. Great location and excellent service all over the hotel. Great harbour views to be had and particularly so on the 40th floor Club Lounge. Superb new gym and probably the best pool in HK????

If you were being "picky" the hotel was real busy when I stayed with quite a lot of mainland tourists who have lest say different etiquette (to me anyway) when it comes to letting people out of lifts and balling into mobile phones....etc. Room layouts are also not so good. No clothes draws and strange sort of bathroom door arrangement.

But all in a great place to stay for biz or leisure. Not the cheapest joint in town but not most expensive either.....

Room Tip: A lot of construction noise on harbour side. So if you want peace and quiet forfeit the view and take a pool or city side facing room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhi_hkghv, Director of Operations at Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Matthew C

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay overall and found our facilities to be some of the best in HK. Your other comments are appreciated and please contact us at rhi.hkghv.executive.office@renaissancehotels.com so we can allocate a different layout room for you.

Yours sincerely
Christopher Johns
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Renaissance is very conveniently located and offers all that you can expect from a hotel at this level. Staff has been very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was exceptionally good, though at weekends I find the 10:30h finish for the breakfast buffet a bit early. I had a room with fantastic harbour views.

Room Tip: I would recommend a harbour view room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhi_hkghv, Director of Operations at Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Martin S

Great to hear that you like our buffet breakfast, service and view! Thank you for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Christopher Johns
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews