We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #33 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2010

This was the second time that I've stayed at this hotel. I stayed here for western New Years in 2009 and again the week after New Years in 2010. The location is fabulous for bouncing back and forth between Hong Kong Island and Kowloon. The Star Ferry is across the street from the hotel. Taking the ferry to Kowloon is much cheaper than a taxi. There's also restaurants, bars, and stores that are connected via walkways to the hotel. Sometimes I just wanted to relax and get a bite close by and do a little shopping at the nearby shops. For big shopping, Kowloon is definitely the best. The hotel also has a desk in the lobby area that you can look-up daily tours to the various Hong Kong island, mainland China, and Macau, which I really liked. I like to sign up for tours as I go. The Hotel is also attached to the Hong Kong Convention Center, but unless you're part of the convention there was no reason to really go there.

As far as rooms, they're a decent size, a bit smaller than Marriott rooms in the US, but still nice considering the limited space in Hong Kong. The gym is located in the Hyatt hotel next door, which is connected via walkways (a bit of a walk to get there). But the gym facilities were great. I didn't use the gym during my first stay at the hotel but I made a point to use it daily during my second stay to balance out the great food I was eating in Hong Kong. If you're a Marriott rewards Gold/Platinum member, you also get free drinks and happy hr food in the top floor loung which has a spectacular view of Victoria Harbor. Beautiful and breathtaking! I would definitely stay at this hotel again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheerfulChickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,100 - 2,106 of 2,890 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2010

A really good hotel and a fair price ( less than $200 per night). We enjoyed it, service was top notch, the room was just right, clean and modern. As good as any but the very finest luxury hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

I've stayed at this hotel three times in total as I accompanied my partner who was there on business trips. Each time we stayed in a different room. If you're able to book a Harbour View Room, then you'll be treated to a wonderful view of the Kowloon skyline and harbour which is especially gorgeous at night. This room is also bigger and looks newer. I've also stayed in a Garden View room (read: no view, only of the buildings facing the hotel) and Partial Harbour View rooms (you'll see part of the harbour but not much of the skyline). These rooms are smaller but still comfortable. There's enough space for your suitcase and to walk around in.

Check-in is very efficient and friendly even though our last visit was during the HK Rugby 7s and the hotel was fully booked and busybusybusy! The rooms and bathrooms are clean but definitely showing their age. Beds are king size and comfy to sleep on, pillows are super soft but they do provide foam pillows on request.

Location-wise, it's about an easy 5 minute walk to the Wan Chai MTR on an overpass. I found it pretty convenient and safe. The hotel is located between Causeway Bay and Central which met all my needs - all I did was eat and shop and there are plenty of places to do that in these areas. For convenience I would recommend visitors to HK buy an Octopus card which can be used on the trains, ferries, trams and buses. Saves you from queueing up to buy a single trip ticket every time! The Star Ferry terminal is across from the hotel and you can take a ferry across to Kowloon. I would also recommend a bus ride up to The Peak which is a relaxing and fun way to see some of the quieter parts of HK. Only costs HK$9.60.

This hotel has a corporate feel and I would classify it as a business hotel. If you can find a cheap rate, it is a perfectly acceptable hotel to stay in for leisure. Nicer, mid-to-high range hotels in HK are not cheap, but at this price range, I think it is possible to find a newer and better hotel on Hong Kong Island.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missduhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Me and my BF stayed there during the CNY break.
The location is quite good as it's next to the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR.
The staff are great-they sent us a lovely cake on my BF's birthday and that impressed me.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelina-bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Stayed here in Jan for 3 nights as a stopover before going on to Australia. We could not believe when we walked into our room as we had been given a suite. We also had 2 bathrooms and it was all spotless. The view ar night over the harbour was unforgetable. We did feel very spoilt and it was a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lambells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

very convenient for the Star Ferry and underground station, in fact everything. The rooms are nice, food a bit expensive but to be fair that's usual for 4* hotels. Very pleased.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awaydaydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Stay was excellent - staff very friendly and helpful - most of them knew English, (which is a blessing in China)!

The view of the Victoria harbour from the high floor was absolutely fantastic . The business centre faciliuties too were professional - I enjoyed every moment of my stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mukherjeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#15 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,865 reviews
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#32 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,315 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#23 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,411 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 726 in Hong Kong
6,129 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Address: 1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £168 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 861
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, the hotel showcases panoramic Victoria Harbour view. It is less than 5 minutes by taxi to the central business district and major shopping areas, and is only a 10-minute walk to the Wanchai MTR subway station, while the iconic Star Ferry is just steps away, a perfect option for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers stylish guestrooms and a private club lounge, features diverse conference and banqueting facilities with a total area of 1,400 square metres, equipped with two LED walls and able to cater intimate to large-sized events. Our superb dining options range from authentic Cantonese cuisine, flavourful international buffet, to brand-new Mirage Bar & Restaurant with innovative cocktails and delectable western and Asian flair cuisine. An excellent range of recreational facilities are available, including a seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool and a 24-hour fitness centre for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing