We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy location, Great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #29 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Busy, busy, busy hotel next to the Convention centre and Star Ferry, as well as 5-10 walk from ‘Wan Chai’ MTR [Metro] station and trams. Good base for exploring Hong Kong.

Compared to other Renaissance properties, including our stay in Shanghai, seems like the rooms are due for an upgrade. Dark rooms and hallways, and some room amenities seem a bit dated.

Nice views from the business lounge on 40th floor over to Kowloon - expect to be charged for WiFi access throughout the hotel [HK$120/day].

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J&MDAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,795)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,016 - 2,022 of 2,795 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

Checked in because of a cancelled flight (volcano) - get a very good online rate - extremely discounted.
Transport from airport was with a very big, comfortable bus - 15 Euro - it was a kind of collect drive - but there were only guests from the Renaissance - so it took just 40 minutes - which is the regular time from the airport. You can also have a limousine, but it´s over 65 Euro or a private van for around 40 - but the bus worked very well - just go to the Marriott Desk at the airport.
At c/i they gave me a very nice, big room on the 24th level - facing the pool - very good choice - because all the rooms with harbour view are next to some construction area. From my room you could oversee a nice palm court and the pool area - perfect.
Bellmen are nowhere - they have kind of security people next to the main doors and they don´t care if you have 4 or 5 bags.
A friend of mine had a regular room - they are very, very small and outdated - not worth the money even it had a harbour view.
Pool area is really very, very nice - lots of sunchairs and they offer barbecue every evening - drinks and snacks all over the day.
Had some room service - nothing special, but good food.
Bar in the lobby area is also nice.
It is def. not a five star hotel - like the Conrad - but the prices are on the lower side, if you check the internet in advance.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shopgirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

I stayed at the Renaisssance for three nights as my last stop in China after a three week visit. I stayed using Marriott points. As requested, my room was harbor view and the receptionist told me it was in the newly renovated rooms. It was on the 19th floor which sounded high enough but the convention center still obscured some of the harbor view although there was still lots to see. Next time I'd try for a higher floor.

The Star Ferry dock is right across the street. To see the light show it's necessary to go across to Kowloon. I went over early one evening and had tea at the Peninsula which is a must do when in Hong Kong. Then I found a place on the prominade on the harbor to watch the show along with lots of other tourists. I actually wasn't wowed by the light show. I'd heard so much about it I expected more but it was fun and only lasted about 15 minutes or so. Just seeing that part of Kowloon and being part of the crowd made it worthwhile.

The room was large and pleasant. It had floor to ceiling windows but had curtains that could be shut to completely darken the room. I usually left the curtains open so I could see the lights of the Kowloon buildings across the way. The bed was firm but comfortable, not rock hard as in many Chinese hotels. The office area had sufficient lighting and good work space. The bathroom was updated with lots of nice amenities.

After three weeks of Chinese food I had a pizza in the lounge a couple times. It wasn't the best I've had but it was okay. The lounge singers were also not the best but okay. The lounge itself was attractive and the staff was efficient.

The various concierges I worked with over three days were very helpful and gave me good information. As in many Chinese hotels they wrote my destination in Chinese characters on a hotel card so I could show it to the taxi driver. The card also had commonly visited tourist sites listed so if I was out I could still pick up a taxi and have the destination I wanted written in Chinese. More taxi drivers in Hong Kong spoke some English than anywhere else I'd been in China, including Beijing, but having the card was helpful to ensure I ended up in the right location. Unlike in Beijing, all the taxis I rode in used honest meters and the drivers were pleasant and welcoming.

The hotel was connected to other parts of the downtown businesses, shops, subway and restaurants by a covered walkway. I followed the concierge's easy directions to find the nearby subway station. The subway is very clean, safe and efficient with lots of good signage. As a single traveler who doesn't use subways very often I found it easy to use. And having it connected by a walkway to the hotel made it even easier.

Overall the Renaissance is a large western style hotel with eastern staff who made me feel welcome. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mtroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Not 5 star quality anymore. Apparently, the rooms above the 14th floor will be undergoing remodeling, and these rooms need upgrading! The suites are old and musty, bathrooms are so outdated, I felt like I was going back 20 years in the mainland! Shower was so dark and even a bit scary! Old carpets, old beds, old furnishings, old style hallways, and dark. The newer rooms are a bit better, but small. The bathroom in the remodeled rooms had an almost see-through wallpanel between the bathroom and the sleeping area (please! was this necessary? it casts a nice shadow of whomever is bathing! eeek!). The "harbour view"...well, not so great if you got a room right above the Convention center. The lobby is nice and so is the wonderful breakfast, but the main door entrance is not inviting at all (poor design, seems like you enter the hotel from a parking garage...really! Maybe this needs to be re-designed). This hotel needs to work hard to keep up with the competition on the island as well as across the harbour!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

After landing at the airport, we started our experience with the Renaissance with the shuttle organizers, as we had arranged transportation from the airport to the hotel. Counter service was very courteous and efficient. Shuttle ride took less than an hour.

Upon check-in, we received great service. No problems at check-in, the process was very quick and pleasant. The hotel manager walked us to our room and showed us the ammenities.

We had been upgraded to a suite, which was large, newly renovated and had a beautiful view. Note that not all of the floors have renovated rooms. The room was beautiful, as was the bathroom, but another thing to note is that apparently only the suites have tubs. My parents were in another room and when they requested a room with a tub, they were told there were only showers.

We had access to and used the lounge. Although nice, it was not as great as some of the other Renaissance or Marriott lounges we had been too. It was in need of a bit of a renovation, but again, service was nice.

My husband used the spa and thoroughly enjoyed his massage. We checked out the pool, which was nice as well. The spa, pool and gym are all shared with the Grand Hyatt.

Location is about 5-7 minutes from the MTR. We used it regularly, so it was nice to have the station so close by.

The only complaint was that the rooms are not wired for wireless internet.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frequentflyergrl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

I was very pleased with this Renaissance. It provided everything one would expect of a business hotel in Hong Kong and some fun as well. The rooms were clean and well-maintained, though a bit small which is par for the course in HK. In the evenings, the lobby area had live music and a small but fun crowd. The gym was quite spacious and well-equipped.

The location was both a plus and minus. It is right on the harbor so the views from the executive lounge were panoramic and beautiful. The ferry to Kowloon is across the street and thus quite convenient. However, this hotel is a little removed from the central business area so restaurants and shops are not very close by and thus the food options are limited. If you have a lot of meetings in HK, it might be better to pick a more centrally located hotel, otherwise you will find yourself in a cab much of the day.

R

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rexetersg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Try and get a harbour view room as they are well worth it. Stunning views acroos Victoria Harbour across to Kowloon through floor to ceiling windows. Very comfortable rooms. Interesting entertainment in the bar! Two singers every night. Not much atmosphere as bar was part of the lobby. Good location, walkable to bars and restaurants and close to MRT and Star Ferry. Recommend using the Big Bus Tours.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANEANDCHRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#15 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,748 reviews
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#27 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,244 reviews
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
#14 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#21 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,298 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Address: 1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £166 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 861
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, the hotel showcases panoramic Victoria Harbour view. It is less than 5 minutes by taxi to the central business district and major shopping areas, and is only a 10-minute walk to the Wanchai MTR subway station, while the iconic Star Ferry is just steps away, a perfect option for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers stylish guestrooms and a private club lounge, features diverse conference and banqueting facilities with a total area of 1,400 square metres, equipped with two LED walls and able to cater intimate to large-sized events. Our superb dining options range from authentic Cantonese cuisine, flavourful international buffet, to brand-new Mirage Bar & Restaurant with innovative cocktails and delectable western and Asian flair cuisine. An excellent range of recreational facilities are available, including a seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool and a 24-hour fitness centre for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing