We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, great service and average room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #30 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good location, great service and average room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

Hong Kong is my home town and I was having my wedding reception in the Renaissance Habour view hotel. My husband and I spend two nights there during the event. The hotel renovated the foyer and it was very grant and tasteful with the habour view, marble floor and a two-storey-high ceiling. We spent one night in a complementary suite and one night in a double bed harbour view room. The only disappointment was both the suite and the regular guest room are quite small and dated. The habour view from the room is very nice and the room service is average. The hotel is known to be good for food and i found the service is very good in general.

The wedding reception was wonderful, service and food were excellent. I would recommend this hotel to people who want to hold a conference or party, or a convenient location that is very close to the conference center.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    910
    244
    58
    28
See reviews for
313
522
139
1,180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

Booked this hotel through a UK travelagent. Special offer was stay 3 nights and a free upgrade from a garden view room to a harbour view room. We stayed 11 nights but had to pay extra to secure a renovated room - another HK$110 per night at check in. Renovated rooms are on the lower floors. (above floor 11). Staff very polite and helpful, hotel clean and very well placed as next to Star Ferry and MTR station. Taxis plentiful. Swimming pool and facilities shared with the adjoining Grand Hyatt Hotel.
Pool area was only busy at the weekends. Hotel used by flight crews. Food in the hotel quite expensive but there are lots of different places to eat outside. Recommend Lucy's in Stanley if visiting the market.
June is in the Typhoon season but it mainly rained at night.
Lots of interesting things and places to visit to keep you busy.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollysingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

Hotel is very busy at all times and crowded, so that noisy. What surprised me that most of taxi drivers didn't know the location of the hotel. Most of the rooms are in very old condition, but some rooms are already renovated. (Mine wasn't but my colleague's.) Rooms with harbor view is much better. Breakfast was overcrowded and poor service in a small restaurant. I'd stay somewhere else, at a better hotel if I go back to HK.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KYBALION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

If you are looking for a leisure /business stay in heart of the city, this is really a cool place to be in.
Post your business meetings, there are many good shoping places around this hotel which is just walkable!
Very reasonable price and best amenitis that i have seen in most hotels. Specially, don't forget to take out an hour for a swim.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinodraib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

I had a fairly long stay at the Renaissnace Harbour View in Hong Kong. The Hotel was right across the street from my office and hence was the most convinient since the two buildings were connected through a sky walk.

Rooms are fairly comfortable and spacious. Request for the newly renovated rooms. Did not try room service, however the front desk staff was quite helpful. Used the In room internet which was good. A nice bar is available on the mezzanine floor and we spent most evenings there. service at the bar was fairly quick.

Not quite close to the usual tourist handouts however cab are available right outside the Hotel. However be prepared to queue up during peak hours. Ask the door man to hand over a card with the Hotel name written in Chinese. Will save the bother of trying to explain the address of the hotels to cab drivers.

Recommend the place if you are travelling on Business.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swastikrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

My family and I recently stayed for a week at the Renaissance Harbour View Hong Kong Hotel. What an outstanding hotel!!

We had a renovated garden view room on the 15th floor overlooking the pool, playground, tennis courts and park. You can also see part of the harbour from the room. Although we did not have the harbour view, the view we had was very pleasant.

The room itself was truly 5-star - brand new, posh, elegant, luxurious and very comfortable. Housekeeping informed us we got the largest room on the 15th floor. We put an extra bed in the room and there was still plenty of space to walk around in. The beds were the usual Marriott ones, which means they were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was all marble and had a huge shower cubicle with a rainfall shower. There was no tub, however. The LCD TV had a ton of English channels on it.

Location wise, this place is hard to beat. Across the road is the pier for the Star Ferry for going over to Kowloon. The MTR station is 5 minutes walk by covered walkway and this will take you to most of the attractions in HK. Taxis will come right up to the hotel and this is also a cheap and quick way to get to nearby tourist spots. If you walk for a couple of minutes into the Wan Chai area, there are tons of restaurants there to choose from so no need to pay astronomical hotel prices for food.

I found the Renaissance Harbour View to be a wonderful family hotel, good for taking care of kids when you're not going out. This is because of (i) the absolutely large free-form pool that the hotel has (must be one of the largest of any hotel in HK), the enormous playground with so many different kinds of play equipment and (iii) Cartoon Network Asia on TV to keep the kids occupied. My kids really loved the playground, the size of which I have never seen in any hotel that I've stayed in around the world. All three of the above mentioned features really helped to keep the kids busy and excited.

Perhaps the only drawback, and this is certainly being very picky, is that the hotel is large (over 800 rooms) and therefore you cannot expect the staff to remember your name. Nevertheless, the staff are always happy to serve you when the need arises. The size of the hotel did not bother me at all and all the great facilities helped to make up for the lack of a personal touch.

I would certainly recommend this to anyone who is going to HK. Its a bit of an oasis in a crowded, fast paced metropolis.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rabbitloverHk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

Busy, busy, busy hotel next to the Convention centre and Star Ferry, as well as 5-10 walk from ‘Wan Chai’ MTR [Metro] station and trams. Good base for exploring Hong Kong.

Compared to other Renaissance properties, including our stay in Shanghai, seems like the rooms are due for an upgrade. Dark rooms and hallways, and some room amenities seem a bit dated.

Nice views from the business lounge on 40th floor over to Kowloon - expect to be charged for WiFi access throughout the hotel [HK$120/day].

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J&MDAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#15 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#16 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
#26 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#24 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#68 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Property: Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Address: No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 861
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, the hotel showcases panoramic Victoria Harbour view. It is less than 5 minutes by taxi to the central business district and major shopping areas, and is only a 10-minute walk to the Wanchai MTR subway station, while the iconic Star Ferry is just steps away, a perfect option for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers stylish guestrooms and a private club lounge, features diverse conference and banqueting facilities with a total area of 1,400 square metres, equipped with two LED walls and able to cater intimate to large-sized events. Our superb dining options range from authentic Cantonese cuisine, flavourful international buffet, to brand-new Mirage Bar & Restaurant with innovative cocktails and delectable western and Asian flair cuisine. An excellent range of recreational facilities are available, including a seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool and a 24-hour fitness centre for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Ctrip TA so you can book your Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing