We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst booking experience I've had!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill
Singapore
1 review
“Worst booking experience I've had!”
Reviewed 2 April 2008

I tried to call, msn, email for availalbe rooms but the staffs and even the boss were unhelpful. Response were slow and if u wish to secure a room in HK, especially when your doing it online, settle for somewhere else!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Nothing
Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DaAhBao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    119
    82
    26
    35
See reviews for
32
63
87
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

We've been in YesInn hostel in march 2008. Booking from YesInn hostel site with 20% advance (24USD per person / per night / twin room). As we arrive Hong Kong about 1am, it was no problem to find YesInn (taxi about 30USD) and reseption girl :) Tiny rooms about 10 square meters, but clean with bathroom. It's ok to stay for 2-3 days using hostel only for sleep.
Also there's free access to the roof of the hostel building, couple of nice shoots there :)

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank djgeyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2007

We stayed across the street from the main Yesinn building. This means we were on the same side of the road as the train station, less than 5 minutes' walk away. Super convenient location - with pharmacies, eateries, etc. all along the way.

We had to check in at the main building. The main building's rooms look nicer, and are quite similar to what you see on its website. But, as is the norm in HK, the space does make you feel claustrophobic. They were in the midst of cleaning out some rooms when I was checking in, so we had to gingerly walk across laundry and sheets that were thrown in the hallway (as the maid didn't have space to put them while cleaning the room).

On the 2nd day, we were out of the apartment by 8am and only arrived back at midnight. Imagine our shock when we saw a note stuck to the door that told us to traipse back to the main building to get our new room key (as they had just decided on that day to change the door access from normal door knobs with keys, to one with a keycard access). We were having blisters on our feet after a long day of walking, and were not happy having to trudge back to the main building. To add salt to the wound (no pun intended), the main building's main door couldn't be accessed as the elevator is closed off for security reasons after a certain hour at night. The guard brought us traipsing to the other side of the building where he said we could access to Yesinn's main building after the normal hours. My feet were not very happy that night I can tell you. At the very least, the management could have called me up on my mobile to inform us, instead of us having to run around. The maid who gave us the new key card apologized (rather insincerely, I felt). But when I requested for some water to fill my bottle (that they supply for free), she said the supply had finished for the day and that I could buy some bottled water from her if I really wanted.

They also entered the room some time during the day to fix the tv (or something else, I know not what) as the shelves below the tv were coated with sawdust when we returned. They could have at least cleaned up after they left (I'm glad I make it a habit to lock up my suitcase whenever I leave the room).

The bathroom also emitted an odd stink one night, that smelt like clogged drains, bad eggs, you get the idea. That was horrible.

We booked a double bed, and I expected at least a queen-sized bed. Apparently in HK, it's an "in-between" size (we coined that phrase). It's small enough to be a super-single but it's not big enough to be a queen. And it was hard like rock! We asked if we could change to a room with a softer bed (as my fiance has a problem with his back) but they said the hard bed is "HK culture"?!!

But, I guess you get what you pay for. Although it seems like I complained a lot, I was however rather satisfied with the stay (because the price I paid would have put me up in a really depressing place in Mongkok otherwise). Would I stay here again? Yes I would as the location is good and convenient, but I wouldn't want the same room - I'd request for something in the main building AND I'd request for 2 single beds. It's a great option for backpackers, or if you don't mind cramping a little (but want the privacy of an ensuite bathroom).

The bathroom is small and gets all wet when you take a bath. But, it's not as small compared to the one I had to contend with in London - and I paid 7 times more in London!

Sorry for the super-long review, but I personally like reading detailed reviews as they're more helpful, so decide to return the favour.

  • Liked — Proximity to train station and amenities
  • Disliked — Management
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank fong28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2007

I stayed at the Yesinn because I read great reviews on trip advisor with the exception of one review which unfortunately I later found out turned out to be true. Yes, there are nice rooms at the main Yesinn site but the satellite buildings are very different. I was quite impressed by the rooms in the main building which looked vaguely like the photos in the website but found myself being allocated to another site which had graffitti on the walls and where my ensuite toilet which I paid extra for stank to high heaven! It was a depressing experience which almost ruined my trip.

  • Liked — Internet access
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and attitude of the staff
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wikiEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
vicenza
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2007

i had a vey nice stay in yesinn....is not like the other hostels where i went...i found privacy, courtesy in a strategic location close to the center just in front of mtr and tram station! my room was very nice, well decorated and clean, whit tv and internet connection free. the staff was nice whit me, i arriverd there in the middle of the night....


  • Liked — fqacilities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank peloVicenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2007

Ugh. This is a pretty depressing place. We checked in around 8:00 pm and after they sorted out what room to put us in (they have 3 different buildings), we settled in to our room in one of Hong Kong’s infamous “mansions.” The problem was, it looked like someone else had settled into our room before us. The bed was kind of unmade, and the bathmat was covered in someone’s, dare I say it, toenails? There was also a pair of flip flops provided for shower use. I just want to know, who on earth would use a pair of communal flip flops in a dirty hostel? Am I just being prissy? I don’t know. If you don’t care and just want to crash reasonably close to Central in Hong Kong City, then stay at YesInn. Otherwise, spend a little extra cash and just say no.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2007

We stayed for 2 nights in a double room with ensuite in Flat M. This place was a great little find. We took the A11 bus from the airport and it dropped us within 200m of the hotel and the return bus was even closer maybe 100m and $40HK, much simpler than having to change trains and carry luggage around. The rooms are tiny - but that is just Hong Kong on the cheap. The room was beautiful and clean, dected out in IKEA furnishings, the bed is raised and bags can be stored underneath, TV, ensuite extra small, - but great hotwater. Free internet computer provided and wireless access available. Also use of microwave and fridge. Public transport was very accessible with the fortress Hill MTR across the road. This is not a tourist area, but still for the price and the ease in commuting, definitely not a problem. The staff are very helpful. Only thing you need to pay in cash or otherwise credit card incurs a 4% charge. Would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — clean and fresh
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Melli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#4 of 157 in Hong Kong
560 reviews
Mong Kok
Ah Shan Hostel
Ah Shan Hostel
#20 of 157 in Hong Kong
303 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Apple Hostel
Apple Hostel
#23 of 157 in Hong Kong
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
#12 of 157 in Hong Kong
388 reviews
Pandora After 80s
#27 of 157 in Hong Kong
122 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#2 of 157 in Hong Kong
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill

Property: Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill
Address: No.294 King's Road | Flat B-15F, Front Block, Continental Mansion, Fortress Hill, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 157 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yesinn Fortress Hill is a small, clean, comfortable, fresh, convenient and uncomplicated choice for budget business travelers who are looking for warm, local homely atmosphere and affordable quality hostel. HK Government licensed hostel Easy & convenient transportation access to most of the local attractions by subway, bus or ferry Wide choices of cheap & good foods within walking distance Cozy, colorful rooms and dormitories with comfortable beds in a quiet, safe & friendly neighborhood Choice of private triple/double/twin/single en-suite, or 8 bed dormitories 24 hour security monitoring system We offer travelers a relaxed and comfortable stay in a clean, stylish, friendly and warm atmosphere service apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yesinn Hotel Hong Kong
Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing