We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an okay hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“an okay hostel”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The staffs were nice and speak good English.

The hostel is in an old, smelling building locating next to 7-11 and a supermarket. Only few minutes walk from MTR Fortress Hill, plus few metres away from the bus stop with bus A11 straight to the airport passing by every 20 minutes.There is also the famous Tim Ho Wan around there. I'd give 4 for the location.

Our private 4-bed was pretty small and there was water coming out of nowhere on the floor. we told the staff and they passed the message to the technician, he came checked and did nothing.

They also provided a shared fridge, a shared hairdryer, and an iron which didn't work quite well.

It's an okay place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one with windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pang K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    119
    81
    26
    35
See reviews for
32
63
86
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Finding a place to stay in a foreign country is always overwhelming. I did my study and I've chosen Yesinn as my week stay in HK. And boy, it is worth every penny.
I am a solo traveler, and I booked a mixed dorm of 8 ppl and I never felt so private. Each bunk bed is supplied with curtains for privacy, electrical port to recharge your smartphones or tablets and a night lamp, just in case you wanna do some light reading, watch something online (and yes...free wifi) or some map study for the day ahead. The cleaniness of the room is a subjective matter, and highly dependant on the occupant, but most of the time, it is clean. Thanks to common courtesy.
In the common room, they have provided a desktop with internet for free browsing, hot boiler for hot water...in case of late night ramen.
So, if you decided to choose Yesinn, it is located at Fortress Hill (B exit) turn to your right and walk straight until you reach 7 Eleven. The entrance to Continental Mansion is located next to shop. Ask the guard and he will show you a piece of cardboard of your destination. Follow it, and you will find Yesinn!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arief R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I was in the fire that burnt this hostel on 29 Dec. I almost died. The lights went out and thick smoke poured in from the windows and quickly filled the small hostel. The hostelites huddled in the narrow corridor opposite the reception booth near the entrance. We couldnt breathe. When we opened the door, more smoke poured in. It was fuming hot when we stepped out of the door. People started choking and wailing uncontrollably. We were frightened for our lives. And it was this fear of dying that spurred me to step into the heat out of that hostel room. It was a maze of corridors enroute to the lift but i was lucky to find the emergency exit staircase next to the lift.

My friend didnt survive the fire and died of smoke inhalation.

The hostel was a room unit in a very old building and was divided into small bunk rooms. We were staying in overcrowded quarters. The hostel staff was nowhere to be found. There were no ceiling fire sprinklers which could have saved my friend.

Choosing this hostel is the biggest mistake i made.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank msbeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here 2 nights in June to explore the city. The location of the hostel is nice and the staff is friendly but not very willing to help.

After a nice Hong Kong party the first night we slept a little longer than usual but were disturbed around 11am by someone entering the room without knocking or any prior notice. We complained about this issue but the same thing happened the next day. We were not unsatisfied about the cleaning of the room but entering a room in the morning without knocking or notifying us that someone will enter the room in advance is NOT DONE!

The rooms are small, quit clean for China standards but the quality is not what I expected comparing with mainland China accommodations for less than half of the price!

For the location and price compared to other hostels in Hong Kong I could recommend but for a comfortable stay look for another hostel in Hong Kong!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We didn't expect much because it's a hostel.
The rooms are minuscule, but fairly clean.
The location is good!
The hotel smells, but this smell is fairly common throughout Hong Kong.
We rarely saw the staff, but they were friendly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This is my first time stay at a hostel,since hk hotel hotel price are super expersive this day,me and my girl friend decide not to spend 150 dollars a night in a small 3star hotel for my back home trip, one of my friend who dis backpacking a lot refer me to yesinn ,this hostel is locate inside a old residence buildng at hk island ,I spend 8 nights here for average 65 USD a night which is not bad ,MTR station at 10 minute walking distance ,bus stop right at front door, lot of local restaurant around .

We get a twin room with own bath ,the room is very small, can't even open my 29 inch suitcase fully ,room is clear enough as a hostel ,bath are ok and hot water are provide .free WiFi are fast and connection are stable

If I need to pay myself to stay at HK ,I will reture to this hostel for sure ,compare all those overpriced hotel in town ,yesinn charge a very reasonable price for what they provide

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Sorry for the late review and I know its long overview. I was here with my Family last September. It was unexpected as i have no idea with backpackers or hostel living. This was introduce by my sister. For reasonable yet stylish living its a place to stay. Do not expect getting water delivered on your room or even towels for shower. I guess some bad reviews came from travellers who expect like a boutique hotel-like living, but then again hostel living is really at par and way better than other guesthouse near the area. Apart from it's accessibility with Fortress Hill MRT station and other food shops and stall. WiFi use is really fast! and the interior is well kept with the vibrant color that reflects HK. I even met and get close with CiCi Yau one of the front desk and nicest person i met in HK. So, with this being said i really recommend this hostel if you want to cut some budget yet getting lost in HongKong.

Room Tip: Here is a tip, if you opted to travel by yourself, there is an option for single ensuite for you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#4 of 157 in Hong Kong
556 reviews
Mong Kok
Ah Shan Hostel
Ah Shan Hostel
#19 of 157 in Hong Kong
303 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Apple Hostel
Apple Hostel
#24 of 157 in Hong Kong
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
#11 of 157 in Hong Kong
386 reviews
Pandora After 80s
#28 of 157 in Hong Kong
120 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#2 of 157 in Hong Kong
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill

Property: Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill
Address: No.294 King's Road | Flat B-15F, Front Block, Continental Mansion, Fortress Hill, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 157 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yesinn Fortress Hill is a small, clean, comfortable, fresh, convenient and uncomplicated choice for budget business travelers who are looking for warm, local homely atmosphere and affordable quality hostel. HK Government licensed hostel Easy & convenient transportation access to most of the local attractions by subway, bus or ferry Wide choices of cheap & good foods within walking distance Cozy, colorful rooms and dormitories with comfortable beds in a quiet, safe & friendly neighborhood Choice of private triple/double/twin/single en-suite, or 8 bed dormitories 24 hour security monitoring system We offer travelers a relaxed and comfortable stay in a clean, stylish, friendly and warm atmosphere service apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yesinn Hotel Hong Kong
Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing