We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the continent club rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #32 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Go for the continent club rooms”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We chose to stay at the club floor. A bit more pricey than the usual floors but rooms are new, breakfast included and the best part of it... Free cocktails from 5-8 pm at the club floor lounge! Peaceful, and great for business meetings. They now accept small kids in this floor. Used to be for adults only. Kids up to 11 years eat breakfast for free too.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rnplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    409
    94
    31
    13
See reviews for
440
190
43
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My family and i stayed here from Jan. 27-29, 2012. This hotel is very ideal for first time visitors as it is conveniently located within Harbour City (one big mall) along Canton Road in Tsim Sha Tsui. This hotel is in the middle of two other Marco Polo Hotels; The Marco Polo Hong Kong (closer to the Star Ferry but more expensive) and Marco Polo Prince (similar price range to the Gateway but located at the other end of Harbour City. All the high end stores can be located here and close to the public bus terminal, MTR and Star Ferry. The weather was cold which is just the way we wanted. But i would avoid going to Hong Kong during the Chinese New Year if you plan to go to Disneyland, Ocean Park or other attractions as there are so many people and you will just waste your time lining up for the rides/shows. The newly renovated room was spacious with two double beds but no view though. There are a lot of elevators but does not provide key access for that added level of security and you still have to use a real key to access the rooms (this should have been part of their renovation works). This hotel is a bit expensive but worth it as you are within walking distance to almost everything. The continental club lounge provides an extra level of convenience/privacy. There is free wifi as well as computer terminals. Their breakfast buffet is just as similar as the buffet in their restaurant at the basement. Plus, you can avail of drinks all day and they offer finger foods in the afternoon.

For those who want convenience and do not mind paying a little more, you will definitely not go wrong with this hotel. I would definitely advise travelers, especially first time visitors to Hong Kong, to try this hotel.

Room Tip: It is not described in their website but this hotel has rooms with two double beds. So this is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyHyndman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

just got back from a 7 day stay at this hotel. although convenient to everything. For shopping you have prada, vuitton gucci , prada..any high end name you can think of its here. watch shops are also everywhere..any name any brand. Duty free shop across the street... near the harbor so a good view at night. food is everywhere too.
depending on what you want to do in hong kong... if shopping is what you want, this is the right hotel. situated inside the huge harbour city mall. the biggest in hong kong. Take the mtr( around 10 minute walk) and you can do anywhere. i suggest you take a trip to causeway bay... another place where you can shop till you drop. Huge SOGO department is here. Times Square shopping is 1o minute walk from mtr.
You can also take MTR to disneyland.
the rooms are quite spacious hong kong standard. rooms are clean but not 5 stars. Reception is friendy and exceptional service from concierge. i was given room 1612 which has a harbour view.

again it could be expensive during peak season.

going to the hotel you can take Airport express train to the Kowloon station and they have free shuttle to the hotel. if you are in a hurry... around 35 hong kong dollars by taxi.

fast food is inside the mall and also another fast food across the hotel for a quick bite. cheap and delicious

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solotraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
141 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel and first was last Summer where I thought the hotel was good for what I paid, the location is superb, the staff very helpful, I don't really like the breakfast room which is in the basement with no windows to the outside but this time there was something very upsetting when I called reception to inform my room was freezing and they announced that there was no heating, Oh my God it is January... so they kindly gave me a heater for my stay but I find this unacceptable from a 5 star hotel. In the summer is worth because it is cheaper than any of the neighbourhood hotels.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MafaldaPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed at the Gateway Hong Kong just before Christmas and loved every minute of our stay there. My husband booked us into a room on the 15th floor (The Continental Club) which didnt cost a lot more than a standard room. The service was impeccable, the staff were very friendly and helpful and treated us like royalty. The rooms were clean and spacious. The buffet breakfast was delicious and plentiful and of a high quality. The Continental Club also offered afternoon tea from 2.30-5.00pm and the food again was delicious and plentiful and I always made sure we were back at the hotel for this special treat that I definitely did not want to miss out on. They also served supper from ?5.30 till 8pm not exactly sure about those times, but again unreal food and plentiful. We hardly ate out at all because the food they served was always enough to fill us up. It was finger food but had variety and enough different dishes to satisfy. Even our fussy daughters were willing to try foods they have never eaten before because they looked so good. The hotel was also close to shops and the harbour if you want to go and see the nightly light show. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diamonds47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Very conveniently located but rooms quite old already. Though it seems they are improving it already since our rooms are so noisy as we can hear the sounds of construction during day time. Although our room was not available when we were reach the hotel, they upgrade our regular room to suite, so this compensates for the 3pm check in and the noise in their renovation.

Good thing about the location is it is located right in the middle of the shopping mall, so while we waited for our rooms to be availalbe, we got to eat first and go the supermarket right to get some water and buy some snacks for the kids.

Their room is quite big as compare to other hotels in Hongkong. All staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fivethreezero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This year I realised a dream I had harboured for over 35 years. Thanks to my wife having to go there on a business trip I was able to share the experience.

The hotel is right in the centre of the most fabulous place I have ever been, shops, restaurants,nightlife and a park to die for,

We were able to use the sister hotels swimming pool which IS actually heated, the hotel fronts the biggest shopping centre you are ever likely to see in your life and backs onto the harbour area.

accross the road is Kowloon park which actually has free wifi in it and an olympic sized swimming pool.

Everyone is so helpful and polite, a vivit to the buddha is a must, the cable car ride is something else and you will not be disappointed when you finally arrive at the destination.

Everything in the hotel room is replenished every day, even throw away tooth brushes.

Loved every minute of this place, the breakfast was amazing and the staff lovely and helpfull.

A great trip and a great experience.

Room Tip: they are all good rooms this is a top class hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
#40 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
#77 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hullett House
Hullett House
#9 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Property: Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.13 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising over Hong Kong's commercial and entertainment district of Kowloon is Gateway Hotel, a Marco Polo hotel. Housed in Harbour City - Hong Kong's largest shopping complex - Gateway Hotel, the ultimate in leisure accommodation and shopping experience. In September 2013, Gateway Hotel introduced a brand new 360-degree redesigned property that defined a totally innovative design concept. All 400 guestrooms and suites underwent the redesign, which won a Global Excellence award for Best Hotel by The International Interior Design Association in December 2012. The celebrated renovation also included the hotel's Continental Club Lounge and lobby, as well as the restaurant, Three on Canton and al fresco dining area, Be on Canton. The Continental Club is the epitome of sleek design, intuitive services and state-of-the-art amenities. Guests of The Continental Club can enjoy full access and exclusive benefits from the Continental Club Lounge, to include complimentary daily breakfast, afternoon refreshments and evening cocktails and butler service. Located in one of the world's culinary capitals, the hotel has created signature outlets such as Three on Canton which is the ultimate gourmet destination, with an impressively designed space of 20,000 square feet to dine, wine, lounge and network. Discover the most stylish al fresco dining terrace on Canton Road, dubbed 'Be on Canton'. Be part of a hip and happening venue that offers resort-style dining, cocktails and aperitifs served with delectable bites, or shake things up with an instant party. Wi-Fi is complimentary throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary mini-bar service in every room will be replenished daily. The essential refreshments vital to enjoying the dazzling energy of Hong Kong will be restocked daily in the free mini-bar. Enjoy your journey in Hong Kong to the fullest with a handy, a complimentary smartphone for travellers with the power to keep guests totally connected while exploring the city. Built-in benefits include unlimited 3G mobile internet, unlimited local calls, Wi-Fi hotspot and tethering, dining and city guide and exclusive ticketing offers. Fitness buffs have access to the nearby Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel for a swim at the outdoor swimming pool or work out at Prince Hotel's 24 hour gym. True to its promise of an unbeatable location, Gateway Hotel lies on the junction of Canton Road and Haiphong Road in Kowloon and is a short walk from the bus terminal, Star Ferry and MTR Subway Station. The Gateway Hotel is an approximately 35-minute drive from the airport, or an MTR journey that will take around 55 minutes. Guests can also take the hotel shuttle bus which takes about 40 minutes to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gateway Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway,Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing