We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for a discriminating traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #36 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I am a frequent traveler to Hong Kong and have stayed at many different hotels, including the very popular Mira Hotel on Nathan Road. To my pleasant surprise, the Marco Polo Gateway has surpassed the Mira in location, room size, room decor, staff friendliness, and above all, restaurant quality, at almost half the cost! I saw many older reviews complaining about the dingy rooms, but that's no longer true because the hotel has been going through a renovation. My room is brand new, and very tastefully decorated in a modern style. I had a room with 2 twin beds. The room is so spacious that it rivals many American hotels. My friend got a room on the ocean side and had a great view. The location is also unbeatable: 5 minutes to the Star Ferry and 10 min walk to Tsim Sha Tsui East where all the popular museums are located. The breakfast is superb, with high quality dim sum and other food options from all over the world. The only potential downside is the lack on an onsite gym. But you can access the gym from the sister hotel Prince Hotel, which is located within the same complex. (You don't have to leave the building to get to the gym.)

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, facing the ocean side.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siyuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,253)
There are newer reviews for Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel in an excellent location. Close to shops and Nathan Road. Metro station a short walk away which will take you over to Hong Kong Island or Disneyland. Great service, helpful staff, a huge range of food for breakfast and well equipped rooms. Rooms are big enough for a family of 4 or 5. I'd definitely stay here again. Yes, there were renovations going on through the day during our stay, but the one day we did spend at the hotel, renovation noise was minimal.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chezzz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

After 10 days in Shanghai, we came to Hong Kong and stay at this wonderful hotel where I stayed twice before.

The hotel has been completely refurbished and it is a hotel for the 21st Century modern living.

The staff were extremely well trained, friendly and professional. They made us feel welcome and their language skills were just amazing.

We were lucky to have a suite this visit. All the rooms were beautifully designed and the light fittings were gorgeous.

We were delighted that there were 2 televisions in the suite. We were also delighted that there was a Nespresso machine for us to enjoy.

The bathroom was really somewhere to enjoy as there was a separate bath as well as a beautiful shower room.

Breakfast was served at 3rd floor with all the amazing food one could or not possible to imagine.

I shall return again as this was truly a home away from home!

Room Tip: Our suite has harbor views. A scenery that is great for people who loves the sea! Please speak wi...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I stayed for a few days in this hotel only this april 2013. i've been coming in and out of hongkong for the past 15 years, and have stayed in a number of hotels all over hong kong. i've stayed in a couple of 5-star hotels and marco polo gateway equals them, and surpasses them in taking care of their guests. the hotel staff are so good, they could anticipate your needs. the people of hong kong are not generally hospitable but the staff in this hotel are top notch. from the front desk, to the doormen, the housekeepers, the people at the business center, the concierge, and to those who assist you when you are about to depart. i love the room. my best stay ever!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

I am in Hongkong rather often and this is hands down, my favorite hotel! Location-wise it is idyllic for shopping, shopping, shopping and eating! What else does one go to HongKong for anyway. Still undergoing renovation, if you can get one of the new rooms, they are worth paying for. You never even have to leave the Harbor City complex to enjoy the best that HongKong has to offer. Hint: there's even an adjacent bridge way that will take you to Din Tai Fung in the Silvercord building in a few easy steps. It's the best!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ana5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last March. It's my second stay here and i enjoyed my stay more this time because the hotel has just been newly refurbished. I love the lobby and newly renovated superior room. The service and staff are excellent! The in-room wifi is very good too! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princesslorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel March 16-18 pre cruise.On arrival the staff were very friendly and courteous.Our room was quite large and very clean with a fruit bowl which was a nice touch.
Nice central location and front lobby opened into a large mall.We really enjoyed the extensive variety of food in the buffet restaurant and friendly efficient restaurant staff.The lobby was somewhat cold,no armchairs,just a couple of what appeared to be long slabs of wood to sit on and not very comfortable.It gave the impression you were not supposed to linger in the lobby.
This is a very minor gripe in what is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
#41 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,208 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
#78 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,769 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hullett House
Hullett House
#33 of 721 in Hong Kong
250 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Pacific Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.13 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £147 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising over Hong Kong's commercial and entertainment district of Kowloon is Gateway Hotel, a Marco Polo hotel. Housed in Harbour City – Hong Kong's largest shopping complex – Gateway Hotel, the ultimate in leisure accommodation and shopping experience. In September 2013, Gateway Hotel introduced a brand new 360-degree redesigned property that defined a totally innovative design concept. All 400 guestrooms and suites underwent the redesign, which won a Global Excellence award for Best Hotel by The International Interior Design Association in December 2012. Wi-Fi is complimentary throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary mini-bar service in every room will be replenished daily. The essential refreshments vital to enjoying the dazzling energy of Hong Kong will be restocked daily in the free mini-bar.Enjoy your journey in Hong Kong to the fullest with a handy, a complimentary smartphone for travellers with the power to keep guests totally connected while exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Gateway Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway,Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing