We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marco Polo Gateway - Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #33 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Marco Polo Gateway - Perfect”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I travel often to HK and have stayed in many hotels over my past 25 years. However Marco Polo has stayed as my favourite and I do not want to go else where. Its worth a try as the staff make this hotel the wonderful place it is. Also in its rating category it is one of the better value. It truly is worth a visit to this hotel even if its just to meet the staff. Three on Canton is also great!

Room Tip: Don't just go cheapest. Look around for comfort and most of all great service, which you do get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetmiss69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    409
    94
    31
    13
See reviews for
441
190
43
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have been travelling to Hong Kong and staying at The Marco Polo" Gateway Hotel" for many years and every trip it amazes me how a hotel just seems to improve.
I am lucky enough to always stay on the Executive Floor and the welcome I get is overwhelming.
From then on the experience just seems to improve. The rooms have all been upgraded and are even more comfortable than before.
Everyone on the executive floor knows me by now and all my special needs are taken care of before I even check in.
I would like to thank the management and their staff for making this happen.
A very satisfied customer from Cape Town
Sidney Dickman

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty101CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I was at the MP in 2008 or 9 before they did the remodel. WOW! The place is sparkling and I have to say room service food is THE BEST I have had at any hotel. Congratulations to the chef team for making the experience so wonderful form a culinary perspective. Rooms are good size, everything works and the rooms are well appointed and quiet even in Kowloon.

did I mention the food? Super portions and tasty!

Nice job!

Room Tip: Order the Asian noodle dishes from room service
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This review is obviously overdue. Since I started browsing again for my family's next vacation, I realized that I put a lot of time looking at the reviews of hotels we intend to stay in. The reviews help a lot in deciding where to book next. Marco Polo Gateway then deserves this.
It's a great hotel because of its location, service and the newly renovated rooms. We immediately got an upgrade and since my family is big on space and comfort, not only did the staff at the reception give us 1-bedroom suite, he gave us the corner suite room at the 6th floor which was really spacious. My kids loved it! The bedroom was also big and so was the bathroom. The furniture was simple yet very tasteful, making the place more neat than it already was.
This hotel also has the best location. My husband and I stayed in other hotels in the Kowloon area and this hotel gave us the best experience & location so far. Of course, it's accessibility to great shopping and dining added to the hotel's plus qualities! With kids in tow, it helped a lot that we could retreat easily to our hotel room without having to take cab or bus.
We would definitely return to Marco Polo Gateway again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vville75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed at Marco Polo Hotel Hong Kong as one group hotel. This time I tried to stay at Gateway Hotel under same group.

According to information available in the internet, this hotel completed their renovation for equipment. Hence I could stay there with very comfort.

If possible, I would like to stay there again.

Room Tip: Membership for GHA after stays for several times
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buchi-tk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent four nights in the hotel. Staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. Room was always clean and restocked with toiletries etc
Continental club lounge and facilities excellent.

Great location for sight seeing.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

the locations is absolutely amazing. the mtr is in super short walking distance, star ferry right in front of the house and shopping malls all around the hotel.
the service is very nice, they try their very best and after a day or two, they even remember what you want for breakfast. if you have any other extra need, like hangers for the room or a heater, they love to help and make your stay even more comfortable.
the just renovated rooms are really great. they are super modern and spacious with an ipod/iphone station and a big tv with all channels of your desire. the beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms very clean and modern with a nice toiletry kid.

so i didn't have any complains at all and would recommend this great and perfectly located hotel, which is rated as four star but provides a service of five star hotel, to anyone at anytime!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladylerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
#40 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
#76 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hullett House
Hullett House
#11 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Property: Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.13 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising over Hong Kong's commercial and entertainment district of Kowloon is Gateway Hotel, a Marco Polo hotel. Housed in Harbour City - Hong Kong's largest shopping complex - Gateway Hotel, the ultimate in leisure accommodation and shopping experience. In September 2013, Gateway Hotel introduced a brand new 360-degree redesigned property that defined a totally innovative design concept. All 400 guestrooms and suites underwent the redesign, which won a Global Excellence award for Best Hotel by The International Interior Design Association in December 2012. The celebrated renovation also included the hotel's Continental Club Lounge and lobby, as well as the restaurant, Three on Canton and al fresco dining area, Be on Canton. The Continental Club is the epitome of sleek design, intuitive services and state-of-the-art amenities. Guests of The Continental Club can enjoy full access and exclusive benefits from the Continental Club Lounge, to include complimentary daily breakfast, afternoon refreshments and evening cocktails and butler service. Located in one of the world's culinary capitals, the hotel has created signature outlets such as Three on Canton which is the ultimate gourmet destination, with an impressively designed space of 20,000 square feet to dine, wine, lounge and network. Discover the most stylish al fresco dining terrace on Canton Road, dubbed 'Be on Canton'. Be part of a hip and happening venue that offers resort-style dining, cocktails and aperitifs served with delectable bites, or shake things up with an instant party. Wi-Fi is complimentary throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary mini-bar service in every room will be replenished daily. The essential refreshments vital to enjoying the dazzling energy of Hong Kong will be restocked daily in the free mini-bar. Enjoy your journey in Hong Kong to the fullest with a handy, a complimentary smartphone for travellers with the power to keep guests totally connected while exploring the city. Built-in benefits include unlimited 3G mobile internet, unlimited local calls, Wi-Fi hotspot and tethering, dining and city guide and exclusive ticketing offers. Fitness buffs have access to the nearby Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel for a swim at the outdoor swimming pool or work out at Prince Hotel's 24 hour gym. True to its promise of an unbeatable location, Gateway Hotel lies on the junction of Canton Road and Haiphong Road in Kowloon and is a short walk from the bus terminal, Star Ferry and MTR Subway Station. The Gateway Hotel is an approximately 35-minute drive from the airport, or an MTR journey that will take around 55 minutes. Guests can also take the hotel shuttle bus which takes about 40 minutes to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gateway Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway,Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing