We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #40 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Excellent location, excellent staff, excellent service! I'm very pleased with how my requests were handled. It's connected to a shopping mall with lots of places to eat and short walk to MTR. Even the housekeeping and bellboys are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2nights. Booked 2 rooms for 5pax, include additional bed, without breakfast. Complimentary wifi and its fast speed.

You can to enjoy complimentary nespresso coffee.

Upon check-in, was told rooms are reserved for me, however 1 room was ready for me to early check-in, which Im very surprised. And was also being told its connecting room.

When I stepped into the room, aircon was already on and set at 21deg. Cool!!

A close distance to TST Mtr and to China ferry terminal. And a huge mall to shop till drop.

Overall, I paid for a worthy stay and folks are very pleased with it. I'll be back to stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ESuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We loved the rooms which were modern and spacious, our family had interconnecting ones. There was some noise from the music outside at the restaurant but not loud enough to affect sleep. Our rooms were not ready for us and we had to wait 11/2 hours after our arrival. To compensate we were given a late checkout and fresh fruit each day(5 days in total). Staff were very attentive. Location was brilliant for a family, we did shopping and ate at harbour city, and it was close enough to walk to train station and ferry. Couldn't have asked for better.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Merrilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I've stayed here now may be for ten years and it just gets better , what can I say that's negative apart from the fresh scones and cream in the afternoon don't come with strawberry Jam , and that in the excecutive lounge you now have to pour your own wine !!o and if any one in management is reading this can I get a upgrade next Sunday , travelling back from China see you at 4.30pm

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 645richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights here. Booked for 2 rooms for the family of 5. The receptionist promised for connecting room but lied. We complained but to no avail. It was difficult to manage three children under age of 10 at distanced rooms.

We are entitled for breakfast for 3 person but the receptionist only registered for 2 person. Hence, the other person was charged. We did not know this earlier since the waitress at the restaurant explained that it was all covered and insisted for us to sign the receipt after each breakfast. We complained during checkout but the person in-charged played dumb and was so incompetent.

Beware of this breakfast scam and make sure that the receptionist register all the occupants of the room.

Overpriced and so unworthy. Will not stay here again and have logged official complaint to the management.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have stayed in several hotels in Hong Kong during the past 2 decades, & Gateway is perfectly satisfactory for tourists who spend most of their day shopping, touring, ferrying & walking around HK. The room is nice, with plenty of bench space for putting everything & a nice bed & bathroom, with decent sized bathrobes supplied. However there is only a small window through which we have a view of the buildings on the island, but the two buildings either side of the hotel block out most of the light. So if you are like us, & tend to leave the room early to avoid the crowds & then return to the room in the afternoon to freshen up, lie down & read a book for a couple of hours, then this is not the hotel for you. It is so dark that we have to have all of the lights on to read,which is a definite negative to us. If you want a harbour view, you will need to pay more & stay elsewhere, although my personal view is that AUD$262 per night should be enough to get a harbour view, but apparently not. We're not a fan of the black mirrored walls as they seem cheap & seedy, but its a minor issue that we can ignore. The breakfast buffet is ok, but nothing special. As we are staying for 10 days, its getting pretty boring seeing the same food day in day out, although there was the surprise of strawberry jam instead of blackberry jam this morning, but as usual, no vegemite. The dinner buffet is expensive, but offers more food options than both the Holiday Inn & The Sheraton, so is better value for money than either of those. Being very familiar with HK, we chose this hotel because of the price & location, & the latter cannot be surpassed. It is attached to one of the best shopping centres, being the Ocean Terminal, & is within a shout of Nathan Road (to be avoided at all costs if you don't want to be harassed by hawkers touting tailors, handbags & watches) & heaps of great shops & restaurants. We definitely recommend this hotel for tourists who are out all day & night, who like shops & transport at their fingertips.

Room Tip: The rooms are quite small, so it is probably better to get a room with one king rather than a twin r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We just returned from a 9 day stay in HK and can't speak highly enough of the Marco Polo Gateway. Fast and friendly service, beautifully refurbished, clean rooms,and a fantastic breakfast with a great variety to choose from. The location was close to everything..ferry terminals, Nathan Rd, and lots of eating and shopping places. The hotel is situated in the Harbour City Shopping Complex, and a short walk to Ocean Terminal. Would highly recommend this place. We will definitely be back. Thank you!

Room Tip: The Suites are spacious and comfortable and our corner room had a view of The Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzy0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
#47 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,254 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
#80 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,861 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Luxe Manor
The Luxe Manor
#56 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,449 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Perkin Hotel
The Perkin Hotel
#41 of 726 in Hong Kong
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.13 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £155 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising over Hong Kong's commercial and entertainment district of Kowloon is Gateway Hotel, a Marco Polo hotel. Housed in Harbour City – Hong Kong's largest shopping complex – Gateway Hotel, the ultimate in leisure accommodation and shopping experience. In September 2013, Gateway Hotel introduced a brand new 360-degree redesigned property that defined a totally innovative design concept. All 400 guestrooms and suites underwent the redesign, which won a Global Excellence award for Best Hotel by The International Interior Design Association in December 2012. Wi-Fi is complimentary throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary mini-bar service in every room will be replenished daily. The essential refreshments vital to enjoying the dazzling energy of Hong Kong will be restocked daily in the free mini-bar.Enjoy your journey in Hong Kong to the fullest with a handy, a complimentary smartphone for travellers with the power to keep guests totally connected while exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Gateway Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway,Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing