We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New renovated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #37 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Mulhouse, France
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“New renovated hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Nice renovated hotel. Rooms are clean, full equiped, nice bathroom and in-room check-in.
Late check-out proposed immediatly for 4pm.
Top of the top a nespresso machine in the room......I appreciate.
Breakfast is nice and complete (as in many hotel in HK), but a little bit expensive (around 230 HK$).
Staff is very friendly, but some employes don't speak english.
Hev try to ask the first morning where is the breakfast level, but had to go downstair at reception to find somebody speaking english.
Good located in TST in a giant shopping mail, near all night and day activities.

Room Tip: Normal room are ok, for me no need to have a suite for only a sleeping place. Smoking rooms are ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian210662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    422
    99
    35
    14
See reviews for
464
201
43
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I book for standard room, together with my wife. Upon arrival i was ask if i like to top-up a little and get upgraded to a suite. Of cause i did and never regret, it was beautiful and the free usage of the executive lounge. Staffs are helpful and attentive.
Hotel just right above high end mail, you must try the pastries and chocolate or you will live your life with great remorse.

Is a great place to stay if you plan to:
- have street hawker food, just a 10 min walk away, right infront of the hotel.
- high end shopping especially for ladies, many branded labels are just around the corner.
- Victoria harbour just right behind, strolling along the harbour in the night give a a sense of romantic.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheelslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have just returned to Australia after a stopover in Hong Kong and staying at the gateway. It was a one night stay after a long flight from europe and I could not have been more happy with the service I received when myself and my husband needed it most. We had booked a club room and on arriving in the afternoon we were desperate for someone to just look after us and the staff at the gateway were wonderful. Everything was easy and accessible and the club rate provides everything and more for the tired, hungry and thirsty traveller. Having the shopping at your doorstep made the quick stopover at hong kong perfect. I have now stayed at 6 or so 4 or 5 star hotels in Hong kong and on our way over we stayed at a more elaborate hotel but if I return again to Hong Kong I will stay at the gateway because of the wonderful service, excellent club facilities and location which is 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for club rate. It's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo1891964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have done a few reviews on restaurants we enjoyed that were good enough to launch me into writing but none of the many hotels my wife and I have stayed in have inspired me into providing a review until we stayed at " The Gateway Marco Polo Hotel".

From an Early morning check in to a Late afternoon check out everything my wife and I experienced was "First Class". The Quality of the premises and particularly our Outstanding Room was unprecedented.

Don't miss out if you are offered the opportunity to upgrade to "The Continental Club" status.

The extra cost equal to £50 for 2 people provided an extensive Breakfast menu together with Afternoon Tea and Evening Buffets which more than satisfied our appetites and at £25 a head per day it is a steal.

Add this to the inclusion of an open bar with the Evening Buffet, we were really happy we took up the Receptionist's offer to enrol when we checked in.

The complete benefits of the Continental Club has been mentioned by other reviewers but I would just like to add that the Food presented is of Eastern and Western origin and cooked/presented beautifully.

But the best of the Hotel is without Question the Quality of the staff and the service they provided.

From Mark and Ray who orchestrated the Continental Club Team performance to the Oh so efficient room service staff, the concierge team who provided copy prints of our travel documents and whisked us off to the airport with unprecedented efficiency and the excellently helpful receptionists, all the staff provided an unparalleled standard of service.

If you go to Hong Kong we can highly recommend the Gateway Marco Polo Hotel.

Room Tip: Enrol for the Continental Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geordiesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

First time staying at a Marco Polo hotel and I was pleasantly surprised. The room was nicely appointed and the pictures did not do it justice. Very comfortable bed, and nice amenities. The rooms are very quiet. Loved the spacious bathroom (no tub). The staff were very polite and helpful. They always have answers to your questions, and if they don't, they will try to find out on the spot.

The location is unbeatable. If you come from the airport, just take the airport express train, and get off at Kowloon station, and the hotel is a very short cab ride (about 5-10 min depending on traffic, for about HK$30) It is in the middle of Tsim Sha Tsui with a gazillion restaurants and shops ranging from cheap to luxury. The hotel is attached to a shopping center, and it may be hard to find if it's your first time there. And there are three Marco Polo hotels on the same Canton Road in very close proximity so make sure you choose the right one. I like this one as it feels like a boutique hotel and the entrance was very inconspicous. The rate was not inexpensive, but was not super high like the W hotel or the Ritz. My rate included breakfast (which I didn't have because the bed was just too comfortable) and internet. I think no one should pay extra for internet at hotels nowadays. Take that, W hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilAndGabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

When traveling in Hong Kong, we devote most of our time to sightseeing and shopping and spending very little time in the room. The rooms at Gateway Hotel were great to come back to at the end of a long shopping day. The hotel seems to be new renovated and the shower facility after a long day was simply awesome. It is located about a 3 - 5 min walk from Nathan Street where all the action seems to be at. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Excellent location, excellent staff, excellent service! I'm very pleased with how my requests were handled. It's connected to a shopping mall with lots of places to eat and short walk to MTR. Even the housekeeping and bellboys are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
#43 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,157 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
#79 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,712 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Pacific Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Property: Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.13 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising over Hong Kong's commercial and entertainment district of Kowloon is Gateway Hotel, a Marco Polo hotel. Housed in Harbour City – Hong Kong's largest shopping complex – Gateway Hotel, the ultimate in leisure accommodation and shopping experience. In September 2013, Gateway Hotel introduced a brand new 360-degree redesigned property that defined a totally innovative design concept. All 400 guestrooms and suites underwent the redesign, which won a Global Excellence award for Best Hotel by The International Interior Design Association in December 2012. The celebrated renovation also included the hotel’s Continental Club Lounge and lobby, as well as the restaurant, Three on Canton and al fresco dining area, Be on Canton. The Continental Club is the epitome of sleek design, intuitive services and state-of-the-art amenities. Guests of The Continental Club can enjoy full access and exclusive benefits from the Continental Club Lounge, to include complimentary daily breakfast, afternoon refreshments and evening cocktails and butler service. Located in one of the world’s culinary capitals, the hotel has created signature outlets such as Three on Canton which is the ultimate gourmet destination, with an impressively designed space of 20,000 square feet to dine, wine, lounge and network. Discover the most stylish al fresco dining terrace on Canton Road, dubbed ‘Be on Canton’. Be part of a hip and happening venue that offers resort-style dining, cocktails and aperitifs served with delectable bites, or shake things up with an instant party. Wi-Fi is complimentary throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary mini-bar service in every room will be replenished daily. The essential refreshments vital to enjoying the dazzling energy of Hong Kong will be restocked daily in the free mini-bar. Enjoy your journey in Hong Kong to the fullest with a handy, a complimentary smartphone for travellers with the power to keep guests totally connected while exploring the city. Built-in benefits include unlimited 3G mobile internet, unlimited local and international calls (10 designated countries including Australia, China, Germany , Japan, Korea, Singapore, Taiwan, the Philippines, the UK and the USA), Wi-Fi hotspot and tethering, dining and city guide and exclusive ticketing offers. Fitness buffs have access to the nearby Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel for a swim at the outdoor swimming pool or work out at Prince Hotel‘s 24 hour gym. True to its promise of an unbeatable location, Gateway Hotel lies on the junction of Canton Road and Haiphong Road in Kowloon and is a short walk from the bus terminal, Star Ferry and MTR Subway Station. The Gateway Hotel is an approximately 35-minute drive from the airport, or an MTR journey that will take around 55 minutes. Guests can also take the hotel shuttle bus which takes about 40 minutes to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Gateway Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway,Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing